1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Set motherboard on Anti-static bag or motherboard box?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by CDdude55, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    When i get a new CPU i need to take it out of the case(Intel). Should i put it on a Static bag or just lay it on the motherboards box?
     
  2. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    any will do, as long as its not carpet.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I ususally use the motherboard box with the static bag on it.I would'nt worry too much about handling it,i've never had a board die from static.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  4. CH33T03S New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    49 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I think it is a safe practice to use the anti static bag.
     
  5. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    i always just set it on the desk or my hardwood floor and continue lol, I also boot it up just to make sure it seems the CPU before i put it together, nothing more annoying than taking it apart to fix something
     
  6. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Wood, cardboard, paper or anti-static bag.

    Don't put it on anything else.
     
  7. EnglishLion

    EnglishLion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    461 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    Just don't spit on it, should be OK then!
     
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,864 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,716
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    box/bag no difference, just touch the metal cage of your case first.
     
  9. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    i never ground myself out, and never had a problem, after you disconnect the PSU, just press the power button to drain any power left in it
     
  10. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,489 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    i put the foam that the mobo was sitting on in the box on top of the box sit the static bag on top of that and then mount my hsf

    that keeps me from scratching off traces or pushing caps back out of the board if they have long feet
     
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,676 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,183
    Any reason why the mobo needs to come out of the case to replace the CPU????

    I just disconnect mine and lay the case on its side and do my work...stand it up and plug it back in....less romm for error.
     
  12. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Actually you should NOT put in on top of the antistatic bag, as the surface is conductive, so box is best :) (or that I've heard, should be easy to test with a multimeter, but I'm feeling lazy now :p)
     
  13. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Well, with Intel CPUs you pretty much have to. There HSF are very crap and need to support the underside of the mobo just to put it back on (or have somthing uder it). Thats one reason i love AMD HSF:rockout:.
     
  14. BullGod

    BullGod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    412 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Medias City
    I'm pretty sure you can install an Intel cooler without getting the board out. But whatever. Just use the box, you'll be fine...
     
  15. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Play safe, use a anti static bag every time!
     
  16. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Yeah. I do that. I go outside and ground myself and have a picnic with my computer on the grass. The food and drink? Isopropyl Alcohol and Arctic Silver 5... tasty.
     
  17. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    AC MX2 is better :p
     
  18. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I like the taste and price of AS5. MX2 came out after my computer was built... so I kinda just say screw it.
     
  19. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    You can quite easily, no need to take the board out. I do that....even though I lose most of the skin on my fingers when I do lol.
     
  20. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Thats because you are supposed to use a screwdriver. What i did with my cpu was get a piece of sheet metal, cut it out to be like a "double screwdriver" so i could push down with one force, and the cooler pops off like that.

    Edit: If not clear think of a "U" shape.
     
  21. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    So should i leave it in the case or take it out? It would be better not to but which do you think i should take it out?
     
  22. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Leave it in case, saves you a lot of trouble :)
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  23. snuif09

    snuif09 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    964 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    hoorn, Netherlands
    i just put it on my wooden desk;)
     
  24. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    But the HSF pins you need to push down on really hard. And even when you need to get the cpu lever down you need to push very hard.
     
  25. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Erm....not hard enough to break anything thats for sure.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page