1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

setting up raid

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by regan1985, Sep 3, 2006.

1. regan1985 New Member

Thanks Received:
    im looking into setting up a new hard drive setup, only problem is limited funds,i have never worked with anything other then ide but from what i have been told i shouldnt have a problem,

what i want to know is there much differance from a 10k setup to a 7200 setup plus would just one 10k sata be pritty much the same performance as 2 7200 setup as raid 0??

cheers:rolleyes:

2. Scotty New Member

Thanks Received:
    Now, I am no expert on this subject.
    (I am even running games off an external 7200rpm usb drive, therefore bottle necking performance)

If you just do the simple math, 7200 + 7200 = 14400 you should get more data bandwidth.
    More hard drives - more data flow!

Probably best you dont listen to someone who runs stuff off an external usb drive though...

3. Gorre

Gorre New Member

Thanks Received:
    With RAID, you get more than one data-reading arm, so instead of having one set of data flowing in, it's (theoretically) doubled, tripled, quadrupled etc.

Also, software RAID (fakeraid) is scoffed at by most IT professionals, and hardware raid cards cost a fortune (do a froogle for "3ware").

4. Scotty New Member

Thanks Received:
    I appologise for my comment, I was thinking that RAID was something else, confused with another type. Ignore my previouse statement...

5. regan1985 New Member

Thanks Received:
    yeh what im looking for is results people may have seen, ie seek times ect with there 10k sata and 7200 setup in raid 0

6. trog100 New Member

Thanks Received:
    a good set up from what i read is a single 10k raptor for the operating system and programes and a pair of cheaper 720s for the main storage assuming u need it..