1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Severe issues with newly installed GTX 670

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by ericfomley, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. ericfomley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hello, I just recieved my newest graphics card in the mail today its the Gigabyte Geforce GTX 670 Windforce 2 GB graphics card. I removed my old card and uninstalled all of its related drivers (it was an AMD 6870) and then proceeded to the nvidia website to install all of the newest drivers for my card. installation went smoothly and I immediately jumped into far cry 3 after all of my updating and restarting and such was complete. I found that I could only play for 5 minutes or less when it would freeze, sound picture and everything so I would have to do a forced shutdown my holding down my power button. I thought it was a freak incident then found it to continue happening. I went from running it on 1080p ultra dx11 to 720p low dx9 and the same duration would happen no matter how i edited the settings. I then went to borderlands 2 and planetside 2 and found the same issue happening there only i would be able to play for 20 minutes or so before the freezin and restarting. I then went in and removed all the driver information and installed older versions of the drivers and found the same issue was at hand. so i played around with installing different versions and always made sure they were clean installs. I am now again running the latest version and dont know what to do. I went through and it looks like all of my components are up to date, so whats up? Also, I made sure i had the latest version of direct x 11
    My specs:
    Windows 8 64 Bit
    10GB Ripjaws Ram
    Gigabyte GTX 670
    Sandy Bridge Intel core i3-2105
    ASUS P8H61-M motherboard
    850W PSU
    Please help!
     
  2. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,105 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,651
    Well it could be some left over ATI drivers that are causing the issue. I would uninstall EVERYTHING using this guide.
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52502

    Also check the event viewer and see what error it was throwing right before the kernel power error (hard restart). This MIGHT help us out.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  3. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,415 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,613
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    ^What TheMailMan78 said...^

    And, have you checked the temps (at idle and 100% usage) on the new card?

    And, just out of curiosity... What model/brand is the PSU?
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,359 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,644
    my advice would be to put the AMD card back in, and install its drivers and see if it still works. this would rule out any random hardware failure (for example - you could have damaged a stick of RAM, or forgotton to plug in a fan somewhere. if the old card has the same problems you KNOW its not the new card at fault)
     
  5. ericfomley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Heres the table from the event log

    Log Name: System
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-PnP
    Date: 1/29/2013 1:16:33 PM
    Event ID: 219
    Task Category: (212)
    Level: Warning
    Keywords:
    User: SYSTEM
    Computer: Bob
    Description:
    The driver \Driver\igfx failed to load for the device PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0112&SUBSYS_844D1043&REV_09\3&11583659&0&10.
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-PnP" Guid="{9C205A39-1250-487D-ABD7-E831C6290539}" />
    <EventID>219</EventID>
    <Version>0</Version>
    <Level>3</Level>
    <Task>212</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x8000000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2013-01-29T21:16:33.334129300Z" />
    <EventRecordID>1568</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="52" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>Bob</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name="DriverNameLength">60</Data>
    <Data Name="DriverName">PCI\VEN_8086&amp;DEV_0112&amp;SUBSYS_844D1043&amp;REV_09\3&amp;11583659&amp;0&amp;10</Data>
    <Data Name="Status">3221226092</Data>
    <Data Name="FailureNameLength">12</Data>
    <Data Name="FailureName">\Driver\igfx</Data>
    <Data Name="Version">0</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,785 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,165
    Go into your bios and turn off your iGPU.
     
    LDNL says thanks.
  7. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    465 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    Finland
    The intergrated graphics on the cpu maybe be the cause of the issue. Like Erocker said go into the bios and put primary video device on PCIE from IGP
     
  8. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    run 3dmark 11 and see if it passes, try 3dmark with high settings, and see if it passes. try other games, if all fails,
    check gpu temps by gpu-z,
    if possible, get another hdd and do a clean install which rules out any driver problems.
    only one card, so psu should be ok,
     
  9. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    I was going to say PSU at first because it sounds exactly like a power issue. Your log shows integrated GPU trying to work but errored out. Disable via bios and get back to us with the result. Maybe the AMD drivers doesn't want to recognize the NVIDIA cards lol.
     
  10. ericfomley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Still having issues

    Ok so I installed that program, removed any former onboard video drivers and amd drivers and did a clean install of the nvidia drivers. I noticed improvement in the boot up of the computer. (Before this i noticed that my monitor wouldnt turn in until log in). I went into the bios and disabled the integrated graphics and set the primary as the pci. I launched far cry 3 and its not getting past the initial load screen for some reason now so i reinstalled it and still cant get past it to test if the card is working. is this another problem due to my card?
     
  11. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,717 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    When you get into windows, downclock the GPU and memory by a significant amount, then try launching FC3 again. It's probably a bad card or poor OEM heasink installation job.
     
  12. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    test with 3dmark

    if 3dmark fails, it is ur card, mostly. but if game fails, it maybe driver, windows, etc.
     
  13. ericfomley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Did a test on Unigine

    Ok so i did unigine's Heaven dx11 benchmark and I averaged 80 fps with everything turned up to max so I think the card is working great
     
  14. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    gpuz

    get gup-z and load file to text, so you know what happen to your gpu when game is freezed.
     
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,105 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,651
    I assume you turned off the iGPU? If not what did you do different? I ask because a single bench proves nothing if you didn't change anything.
     
  16. ericfomley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I think so

    My bios does not have a direct on/off switch for the igpu i enable the pci to be used and disabled the igpu features and uninstalled the drivers, is there more that i'm missing? Also it does not have a clear way to allocate power to it. its a pci 3.0 capable card and my motherboard is 2.0 is there a need for me to mess with power, if so how? I have an 850W Ultra X3 Psu, thanks and sorry im so noob, my other video cardss were breeze to install
     
  17. ericfomley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    also

    also on the option of choosing primary boot graphics option i switched it from igpu to peg/igpu, it was the only other option in the bios, same results
     
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,105 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,651
    Play a game and see what happens. Do not mess with any power settings in the bios.
     
  19. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    I've never had to disable any integrated graphics, it had always done it by itself for for me when I install a graphics card. This is after over 20 PCs I've already built starting since the Athlon 1700+.
     
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,105 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,651
    If you don't use it then disable it. No point in it and every PC is different. If disabling it fixed his issue then guess what? It was the iGPU. If not then we will have to figure it out.
     
  21. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    try disabling it through device manager in windows
     
  22. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,105 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,651
    He said it was working now. But he needs to game for a few hours to confirm. Benches prove ZERO when it comes to stability. I wouldn't have him mess with anything yet.
     
  23. ericfomley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Still having issues

    So after all the tweaking today as of right now i still have the computer freeze issue in games. Though since the beginning of the day i am able to go longer its more of a 10 minutes before freeze instead of a 5 minutes before freeze, what next?
     
  24. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,791 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,627
    Just to be sure, did you plug in the two 6 pin PCI-E connectors on the top of the card?
     
  25. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,220
    Location:
    Washington, US
    ^ This and also check your temperatures with GPU-z.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page