1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sexy Hardware Close-Up Pic Clubhouse.

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by jbunch07, Sep 22, 2008.

  1. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,641 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    706
    Location:
    Portugal
    Mah boi!

    [​IMG]
    Maban says thanks.
  2. reeltape New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    15 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    my rampage iv
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  3. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,253 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    981
  4. reeltape New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    15 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Thanks! I am waiting on a 3930k, should be here this week. Looking forward to it....you have anything on the go that's not listed?
    I see you have the 3820, it took me about a month to decide on whether to go with that or not, I got the 3930k for 575 all in, so, I went with that. After what I read about Ivy, I was not too hopeful on the Ivy Extreme, as the original plan was to get 3820 and wait for Ivy E, but I can always cell the 3930k down the road if I feel the urge to upgrade. I also see you have a Pentium D 820 clocked nicely. How is that holding up?
    Last edited: May 6, 2012
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  5. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,253 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    981
    I'm not sure I understand the question here...
    If you're asking if there's anything on its way that's not listed, the answer is not yet, lol. I'm actually still waiting for my second 7970 to show up. After this hole in my wallet goes away, it'll reappear in the form of a water loop and a new monitor(or three).:laugh:
    Was debating on the 3930k or the 3820 like you, planning to upgrade to IVB-E when it comes out. Picked the 3820 because 8 cores will do me fine until then, it uses less power and creates less heat than the 3930k and 3960x, and even though it's the "low-end" SB-E this thing just dominates everything I throw at it. Even if IVB-E is as big of a disappointment as IVB was to SB owners, I'll still be able to pick up a 3930k or 3960x for cheaper than now, and there will probably be a new stepping by then.
    Even still, I haven't been able to completely stress this proc in anything but a stress-test, and there's still plenty of overclocking headroom.

    Can't wait to see what you can do with that 3930k!
    The Pentium D rig is holding up alright. It basically sits and wishes it was used more, lol.:roll:









    And in keeping on-topic, here's another pic of my R4E as the system was being assembled:
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: May 6, 2012
    Lionheart says thanks.
  6. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Just like a hooker!


    Should have nice shots of another 7950 block come tonight!
  7. reeltape New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    15 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Sorry I wasn't all that clear, that's what I was asking though: are you building anything that wasn't in your system specs/info as it's listed on your profile. So you read through my mumbo-jumbo just fine! I hear ya on the cost of these things. What was the deciding factor on why you went with the 7970? I'm using an older pair of gpus til the 680 or 7970 drops in price.
    Your thoughts on the 7970? You love it? What monitors would you buy if you could? I've got 3 mismatched Samsungs, looking to get 2 nice 27-30 inchers...a water loop would be cool. I'm going to see how the temps are without it...what is your 3820 at now OC'd under load?

    That's promising. Before I bought my 3930k I had a hard time finding anyone who could give it the kind of confident praise you do. I am glad you like it and it's doing the job for you. Do you do much video/photo editing or encoding etc? I'll definitely post back with how it works in my real-life work environment. I can't believe I typed 'cell' instead of 'sell' I must be exhausted....
    But, my reasoning on this logic was that I am only spending 200ish more to get what I want now and that I only build every few years, so if IVB-E is something special I'll buy it, but if not, 6 cores of SB-E will be sufficient for some time. I did get the C-2 stepping chip...

    - poor fellow! I'm sure it's got some use in store...maybe a HTPC?


    Looks really good, what fans did you throw in there? I got some Scythe's (slipstream, various and thermalright as well - exact models I can't recall, but I'm building a silent case setup - well as quiet as I can in a Corsair 550d (modded for EATX)
    Talk soon
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  8. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    658
    it decided it was cleaning time today, and i did patched up my cables some more on the back of my motherboard tray so i don't have a bush in there anymore xD

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  9. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,080 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    802
    My first graphics card... running at 1400Mhz core clock. Thanks MSI.

    [​IMG]

    Told you w1zz, you should have overvolt it and display the results...
  10. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,253 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    981
    7970: absolutely incredible. at stock it blows away my crossfire, overclocked 6850s. i'm starting to wonder why i'll need a second.:roll:

    Monitors: really intrigued by the Yamakasi Catleap q270se. thinking about picking up one(or three). check out this thread for more info on them.

    3820: temps are cool, even under linpack. highest i've seen is 68c, which is the main reason i haven't made the jump to water yet.
    mainly gaming, benching, and audio editing. the 3820 holds its own in all three of these tasks, even at stock. obviously in benching there would be a rather large performance boost for having 2c/4t more, but i couldn't justify the extra money for benching only(i know, blasphemy, lol).


    I've a few ideas for it. it definitely won't feel neglected for too much longer ;)



    Mainly using Cooler Master Excalibur fans, but for one exhaust fan and two of five intakes I'm using the fans that came with the case(SilverStone something, lol). Reasoning behind this was to try and keep a positive pressure in the case to help reduce dust/hair intake. The system runs relatively quiet(compared to my old system, three fans but one was a Scythe Ultra Kaze, LOUD!) even though there are five intake fans, two exhaust, and two on the CPU heatsink, not to mention the (silent) 140mm fan in my PSU, 70mm fan on the RIVE chipset(forced to full speed in BIOS) and the blow-dryer fan on the 7970(if you get one, do NOT turn the fan up above 60%. at 100% i can hear it from across the house, no joke!:laugh:)

    If you have any more questions, don't hesitate to shoot me a private message. at least that way we won't fill the thread with more off-topic posts from a two-person conversation.:toast:

    And to stay on-topic, expect some shots of my computer in its current state to be posted in a bit.

    EDIT: I know i'm not a great photographer, but at least there are a few pieces of sexy hardware in one shot ;)
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: May 6, 2012
    PopcornMachine says thanks.
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,394 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,465
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    a few:

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    • 003.jpg
      003.jpg
      File size:
      106.4 KB
      Views:
      538
    • 007.jpg
      007.jpg
      File size:
      77.7 KB
      Views:
      539
    • 011.jpg
      011.jpg
      File size:
      99 KB
      Views:
      545
    Cold Storm and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  12. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    come on dave power plugs arent sexy!!
  13. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,394 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,465
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    but...but...they go in an out...

    :confused:
    Sir B. Fannybottom and Lionheart say thanks.
  14. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    are they loose?
    Dj-ElectriC says thanks.
  15. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    They go in and out... lol.. I still gotta grab some Bitfenix cables... black can't keep in stock anywhere... GRRRRR...


    RM, just let me know when you wants pics.. I'm 30f a way. :roll:



    Now, for the goodies before tomorrow's photo shoot.




    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    Then my favorite one

    [​IMG]
    Lionheart, cadaveca, Norton and 5 others say thanks.
  16. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    wow! that looks stunning CS
    Random Murderer and Cold Storm say thanks.
  17. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,893 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    473
    Shiny:twitch: shiny :twitch:shiny:twitch: shiny:twitch: shiny can me has:p
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  18. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,253 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    981
    how about tonight?
    this is the third 79xx card i've seen with the "hinge" and "latch" silkscreens next to the core, anyone have any idea what that's about?:confused:
    i haven't taken the HSF off of my 7970 yet, so apologies if it's a dumb question.:p
  19. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth


    You know it. All I gotta do for the new loop is connect the power to the cards and board... leak test last night was a success.
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  20. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    i wonder if they were going to go with an Intel type setup?
  21. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,595 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,931
    Would be kewl if they had a socket and you could swap chips :pimp:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,893 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    473
    That would certainly make things interesting

    want a new gpu don't bother buying a whole new card just purchase a core replacement and drop it in and away you go
  23. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I think it should be done with all the lower end cards that keep on rehashing... It could happen once they set a standards for the Die size.. Instead of making it smaller and smaller each year..
  24. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,893 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    473
    I don't know about that CS I'd not want to sidegrade to an HD7770
  25. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,561 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    How about some pre-shader low-end hardware?

    ATi Radeon x300 SE, 64Mb. It's PCI-E! It's about to become the video card for my soon to be file server considering that is about all an x300 can do. :p It also will be running headless once it is setup so it doesn't matter too much once I get it all configured.

    I bought it as a backup card ~4 years ago iirc for 25 USD. I tried it once just to make sure it worked. Since then it has never needed to be used.

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page