1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sexy Hardware Close-Up Pic Clubhouse.

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by jbunch07, Sep 22, 2008.

  1. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,422 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,513
    Alright ~ I waited until I had time to completely clean my case as the rig has been crunching non-stop for about 2.5 months. Was really coated with dust:shadedshu
    [​IMG]

    Yeah ~ I know that is pretty bad. I just got caught-up messing around with my two other i7 rigs, and my recently sold Xeon 3220 rig. No excuse though..

    Anyways, the rad cleaned-up nicely as well as the six fans (just not in this pic):
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Sorry about the flash:(
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I hate this shot because I need an extension for my 8-pin. Won't even fit behind the little GPU:(
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    damn dude, I've been through that before. As a matter of fact that's how my H50 looks right now. Going to clean it out tomorrow.
  3. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,422 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,513
    Yeah I spent about 5 hours cleaning every little part (including 9 120mm fans and the big fan up top even though it wasn't too dusty). Way out of control:)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    The last time I did it I did it with an air compressor, took about 10 minutes :D Nothing will survive it :laugh:
  5. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,918 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA

    hmmm air compressor will take almost all the dust off?
    will it take some of the nasty caked on dust off too?
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah, it's powerful man. Nothing is left.
  7. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,422 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,513
    The shitty thing is that I was all excited to try out the Koolance CPU-360. So I took off the Apogee GTZ SE (and stripped one of the threads again) and put the Koolance 360 on. Got it all back together and fired her up and...
    Something is incredibly wrong:

    At stock w/out running WCG
    [​IMG]

    At stock trying to run WCG
    [​IMG]
    Temps were headed towards 100 before I shut WCG down.

    WTF
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    I cant understand how a rad can get that way so fast.....I haven't cleaned mine in 7~ months and I have barely any dust buildup and thats without any filters.

    A full loop clean/component clean is on the cards for me too soon. :)


    Either way, that Koolance block looks the shit. :rockout:
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    The stripped thread was on the apogee block right?

    You sure you have the block mounted correctly? Maybe you forgot a little something somewhere. Bubble in the loops? Shake the s**t out of the rad and see. TIM applied correctly?
  10. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,918 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA


    sweet ... gonna have to go hook up my compressor and go to town then :toast:
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    yeah man, I used to dust my whole case like that, 125PSI :D
  12. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,422 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,513
    Yeah the stripped thread is on the base plate for the Apogee (god that system sucks balls). It would be very difficult to strip the Koolance ones as they are heavy duty:)

    Yep block is mounted nicely with the "in" and "out" hooked-up correctly. No bubbles and she is moving the water through nicely. Used Arctic Silver 5 as always.
    Tried tightening the block as well as backing off a bit ~ no change.
    I am now taking her back apart and starting over again. I will see how the TIM looks on the block after being in contact with the cpu (curious).

    I am also going to rotate the block to see if that helps. I am using BP 1/2" barbs on the wb, don't think that has anything to do with it but it might. You wouldn't think that high water flow would be a bad thing...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    naw, I think you just might have forgot something on the install. Maybe backplate is not mounted correctly causing block to tighten down more on one side or something.
  14. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    HammerOn, you can tuck that 8-Pin CPU cable under the mobo between mounts and pop it out the other side. There's enough space, though you'll have to remove the board.
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I hope so. I just ordered my CPU-360 last night. lol. I eas tossing up between the HK and the 360. Picked the 360 because of it's more universal nature. Hope it performs close.
  16. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Tons of people have gotten great results. Unless his is defective or he mounted it wrong, I don't see how it can perform that bad.
  17. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,422 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,513
    Danm cable is too short for even that to work (tried). Thanks though:)

    Okay disassembled and backplate looked good. There is a bar on the back for the NB but I don't think it is interfering with anything:
    [​IMG]

    I noticed that the WB had crappy contact with the CPU:
    [​IMG]

    I cleaned the wb and rotated and then I noticed this:
    [​IMG]
    And that was the part of the wb that wasn't touching the CPU!!!
    [​IMG]

    So I am thinking of putting the Noctua NH-D14 on this board and trying the wb on my EVGA X58 mb. Man this sucks though! I am going to send pics to Koolance as their site states (visual only):
    [​IMG]
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,422 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,513
    I forgot to show some hardware pics that I took of my little X1650:
    [​IMG]

    And Rad:
    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    That's a very good observation. So it says it's compatible with your board, yet it ain't. :shadedshu @ Koolance.
  20. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    my first closeup pics

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    HammerON says thanks.
  21. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,422 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,513
    Nice pics AthlonX2:)

    And here are some pics of my new Titan FENRIR thanks to AthlonX2:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    that cooler looks nice man, how does it perform?

    got my memory today, now i just need the board and the cpu, should recieve the SLI LE within a few days and the cpu next week

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2010
  23. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    Awesome you got the Christmas edition :D

    ( no really, its what its same is on titans website! :laugh: ) looks awesome and very Christmas-y mind you :p



    Not sure if I've posted this one up before
    Asus Xonar DX, no longer have this got it from MK but had to sell it due to poor.
    [​IMG]
  24. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    HammerON says thanks.
  25. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    More pics I found on my photo bucket
    [​IMG]
    ( by the way, anyone got the nut that is infront of the cooler spare? I'm missing one)

    Over exposed but my old 3870/3850 crossfire set up
    [​IMG]

    Another picture of the CPU cooler I bought the other week
    [​IMG]

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page