1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Share your AIDA 64 cache and memory benchmark here

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by itsakjt, Jun 27, 2013.

  1. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,043 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,593
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I'll just leave this here. A mild overclock for my 3820. I don't feel like beating the crap out of my poor 3820 today. :p
    To get over 4.2Ghz I need to set my bclk strap to 125Mhz which I get pushed towards 2333Mhz memory and a minimum OC of 4.5Ghz without turbo. At 100Mhz with turbo, I can lower my core voltage offset while boosting my turbo offset so my machine idles lower and gets more juice under load for the OC. It has worked out great for power consumption but I can't go higher than 4.2Ghz to do it since the 3820 is a partially locked CPU, I would need to invest in a K-edition CPU. Not that I feel like I need it, the 3820 works fine for just about everything. Video transcoding could be better, but this is a quad core after all. :p
    mildoc.JPG

    That doesn't just looks like a 10c/20t CPU server, but it looks like a motherboard with two of them for 20c/40t. Am I right?
     
  2. Micro

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Here For Now, Somewhere Else Later
    Actually it's a dual 12c/24t, so 24c/48t.
    Hence the high latency with the quad channel and low memory speed.
    The memory speed can step up to 933(DDR31866) but would require new memory as what is installed won't go that high.
    It does it's work as a workstation during the day, but gets to play during it's time off :)
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  3. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,043 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,593
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That's a nice looking machine there. I would like to have just one of those in my machine. :p
    The added latency is also when memory is read from one CPU that is connected to the other. Some off the added latency is because of the occasional use of QPI to allow both CPUs to access each other's memory. It's a trade off but when you have this many cores the bandwidth is a bit more important when cache can do it's job effectively. If you're running registered DIMMs, that will add a little bit of latency too since it takes an extra clock cycle to buffer the dram signal coming from the memory controller.

    All in all, I'm curious what you use that kind of machine for. As for play, I'm curious how it holds up. I don't game nearly as much as I used to and I suspect when skt2011-3 comes out there will be a surplus of lower cost used Xeons for skt2011 on the market so I'm keeping my options open if a Xeon become a viable upgrade option as my board supports quite a few E5 Xeons with recent BIOS releases.
     
  4. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,530 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    508
    now with i7 4790K at 4800 Mhz, 1,3 v
    (not fully stable)
    Sin título.png
     
  5. Micro

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Here For Now, Somewhere Else Later
    sI found a way to tweak the memory to run @1866 so new results -

    cachemem2696-1866man.png
    The workstation is currently being used for GIS mapping of utilities and imposing aerial photos (after removing the earth's curvature from the photos) onto the mapping.
    Kinda neat to be able to tell someone in the field 10 miles from where you are - "you see that hose bibb on the side of the house, well the water line is 5 feet to the left of it and about 2 feet deep, be careful of the rose bushes" :)

    My only current gaming is Borderlands 2, so it and the dual 7970s are just a bit overkill.
    But you gotta use wat ya got, eh?
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  6. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,214 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    328
    Location:
    Germany
    AIDA64 Cache & Memory Benchmark.jpg
     
  7. D1RTYD1Z619

    D1RTYD1Z619

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    43 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Did you hit 5GHZ on air?
     
  8. PunchCLown

    PunchCLown New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well here is my POS system XD
    [​IMG]
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  9. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,730 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,043 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,593
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The max OC i've gotten with my 3820 is 4.92Ghz, which isn't too bad but it needs a lot of voltage to do it. Sandy Bridge does the overclocking thing pretty well, there are 2700k chips that will hit 5.4Ghz on air with the right motherboard.
     
  11. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,730 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    yea man, i wanted a 27 when i got the 6 but they wanted another £70 for them which wasn't worth the gamble imo for a slightly higher clock. i mean 250 for the 7 or 180 for the 6, it was not a hard choice in the end.

    i keep promising myself i will throw them both under my phase but i never do xD
     
  12. Pixrazor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    49 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    MADAGASCAR, Antananarivo
    hey there, just got a new stuff here fx 8320 it is
    turbo off and cpu at stock
    fx 8320 stock.png
     
    Athlonite says thanks.
  13. varand New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Avexir MSI Z77 Mpower Optimized 2666mhz 4x4GB cl 11-13-13-35-2T 1.65v MFR single side

    Write=47401mb/s Copy=40710mb/s

    3035mhz cl 11-15-13-35-2T

    [​IMG]

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    2854mhz cl 11-15-14-35 1T tRDRD=4 tWRWR=4

    Read=41921 mb/s

    [​IMG]

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    hyper pi 32m 3000mhz cl 12-15-14-35-2T 1.65v (Stable)

    [​IMG]
     
  14. varand New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Pixrazor says thanks.
  15. drifter93 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My mobo wouldn't let me use 4.3ghz and 2600 at the same time... Using tridentx 4*4 2600 c10... Still pretty awsome numbers...
     

    Attached Files:

  16. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,530 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    508
    4790K at 4800 Mhz
    aida.png
     
  17. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    491 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    610
    New platform to play with :)

    [​IMG]
     
  18. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    677 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Australia
    Capture.JPG
    The AMD system, Does this seem reasonable for this chip/platform.
    I can`t offer a logical explanation as to why i am so fond of this system.
    Should i thrash it some more? The system is stable and fast at these clocks.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2014
    springs113 says thanks.
  19. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    @Everyone - Very sorry, could not follow this thread for a long time until today. Table is updated. :)

    Can you re-run the bench another time? The memory copy speed seems ridiculously high. :p
     
  20. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Stock on the memory

    [​IMG]
     
    itsakjt says thanks.
  21. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Added. :)
     
  22. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,848 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    699
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Here is one for me.
    This is my everyday setup.
    Will do my bench setup later.
    [​IMG]
     
  23. The N

    The N

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    145 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Pakistan
    very good OCed and latency rate is also impressive at that clocks. which rams btw
     
    Asylum says thanks.
  24. The N

    The N

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    145 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Pakistan
    here you go. so far this is my Best

    [​IMG]
     
    springs113 says thanks.
  25. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Please use the latest version. Thanks. :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page