1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sharkoon Announces Four Port USB 3.0 Front-Panel Hub

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 17, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,410 (11.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,615
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The range of USB3.0 terminals is growing rapidly, but there are still newer PC systems barely equipped with suitable interfaces. Accessory specialist Sharkoon presents an internal USB3.0 hub, which provides easy access to four identical SuperSpeed ports on the front of the PC. The Sharkoon 4-Port USB3.0 Hub, with black front panel, is a separate 3.5" or 5.25" drive bay with the provided 5.25" mounting frame already pre-assembled.

    It is connected to an external USB3.0 port on the main board on the PC's backside. For orderly feed through a 120cm long USB3.0 cable is enclosed with a pre-installed backplate. Power is supplied to the attached USB3.0 devices through the integrated 4-pin power supply connection. All four USB3.0 ports are each equipped with a LED status indicator.

    [​IMG]

    The Sharkoon 4-Port USB3.0 Hub is downward compatible with older USB standards, supports the operating systems Windows XP, Vista and 7, measures 67 x 103 x 26 mm (L x W x H) and weighs 67 g.

    End customers can find the Sharkoon 4-Port USB3.0 Hub available immediately for the suggested retail price of 24.99 euros in authorized retailers.
  2. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    It's about damn time! :toast:
    Make one in mesh, please. :D

    EDIT: I'm so gonna replace those red/green LEDs with blue ones.
  3. djisas

    djisas

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,713 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Darkness
    Why is everyone focusing on getting usb3 feed from an external port when most usb3 bords should have internal conectors??
    I know i have one, so i would rather buy a device that connects internally instead of having a cable running all the way to outside the case...
    And more functionality, i dunno if anyone need 4 ports in the front of the case...
  4. Tory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    339 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    This. Exactly :confused:
  5. ironwolf

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    266 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Pensacola, FL, USA, Earth
    Not all USB 3.0 boards have internal pin-headers on the board, so this is the alternative. Not a big fan of hooking them up through the back connectors though.
  6. djisas

    djisas

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,713 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Darkness
    Alternately, they could go hybrid and for 5$ include swappable internal\external cables, how hard could that be??
  7. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    929 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Do keep in mind that the 120cm cable is cutting the length of all device cables by 120cm or more...
  8. arterius2

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    494 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2011
  9. Static~Charge

    Static~Charge

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    472 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Only 120cm? Sheez, I could wrap that cable around my tower case and still have enough slack to plug it in.... :rolleyes: I'm glad to see that it isn't permanently attached (at least, on one end) so I can use a shorter cable.
  10. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    :twitch:
    Wow. I didn't even notice that this didn't have an internal connector. I thought it had. :p
  11. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,876 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,666
    Location:
    US
    Although it does look like there might be a plan for a 8 port one going by that circuit board ( unless they tried that and it failed lol ).


    I know i would not buy it just because of the shady USB cable i am totally sick off seeing so many different versions as i have about loads of them here and this is just yet another. shame they could not of made a connector or another cable to attach on the mobo.
  12. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    534 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  13. extrasalty

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    176 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    One of the many reasons I avoid them.:toast:
  14. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Qwerty I was not aware of that. Is there an issue on AMDS A series boards that have the internal USB 3.0 header?
  15. Necrofire

    Necrofire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    586 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
  16. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
  17. Aether New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Not necessarily true

    This should only be true if the hub is passive. If it is active, then the hub should still support full length usb3.0 cabling.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page