1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Shattered Horizon pre-load borked - can't play

Discussion in 'Games' started by qubit, Nov 4, 2009.

  1. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    EDIT: I've written a mini review in post 9.

    EDIT: PROBLEM SOLVED. PLEASE SEE POSTS 2 & 3.

    I purchased it yesterday, got an email receipt from Steam and it pre-loaded. It's now been released.

    I've now got two entries in my games list: "Shattered Horizon" & ""ShatteredHorizon Beta". Clicking on Shattered Horizon tries to decrypt it, but gives a not compatible with 64-bit OS error - unsupported 16-bit application, which needs to be clicked on several times to make it go away. Also, there's no icon next to the title, unlike all the other games.

    [​IMG]

    The beta version just wants me to buy it!

    Looking at the store page, it doesn't specify 64-bit compatibility, but it's ridiculous that it won't be.

    Perhaps the cure is to flush the file cache, but I'd rather avoid that, if possible.

    Trying to delete the beta version reports that I don't have enough disc space, but I actually have 17GB free.

    Restarting Steam doesn't help.

    Anyone else seeing this? Anyone got a fix?
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2009
  2. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    658 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    I got the same issue with Left 4 Dead 2. Exit out of Steam, make sure it's really closed using Task Manager, then delete the two *.blob files from the Steam installation directory. Start Steam again. The entries should be fixed.
     
    qubit says thanks.
  3. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Thanks Cheeseball. I'd just tried deleting clientregistry.blob and it appears to be fixed. It's currently installing/starting up for the first time and I was waiting until I was sure it works. Keep ya posted! :)
     
  4. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Yay, she works! :toast:
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,666 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,059
    Let us know what you think of the game! I may pick this up this evening. :toast:
     
  6. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    658 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Yes, please let us know what you think of the game. I know it's multiplayer-only so I need something new aside from my contstant TF2ing. Hehe...
     
  7. Whilhelm

    Whilhelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    Barrie, Canada.
    I just played a round. It is so sweet with a full server.

    It is more or less the same as the final beta but it is a little more polished and plays smoother.

    It is a sweet deal for 20 bucks. The only thing that sucks is that there are only four maps right now.
     
  8. lemode New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,304 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    what are the load times like? my load times were awful on my new rig when i played before beta ended.
     
  9. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Qubit's mini review

    I've had a little go now and in a nutshell? It makes a good hardware performance demo.

    Overall: 6 / 10


    The good
    The idea is novel and derivatives should work well.
    Great, ultra modern sci-fi atmosphere.
    Interesting way to get around the map in zero G in all 3 axes. I like the rotation ability with the right mouse button.
    The smashed moon in one of the maps looks great.
    When killed, it gives you a short replay. Useful for demonstrating how you got nailed. :D
    Simple, clear user interface.
    Quick to connect to servers, stable, works quite smoothly & responsively and no obvious bugs (the pre-load one I reported excepted).
    Might make a decent benchmarker, if reasonably popular.


    The bad

    Low frame rates on my hardware - generally below 60fps at 1680x1050 and hence feels stuttery. Should do better?
    Once they start firing at you, you're a sitting duck. No way to dodge that I can see, which is frustrating
    Feels kinda samey whatever map and only one main weapon (does have bombs etc, but only one gun).
    You can hear the gunshots in the vacuum of space...
    No single player.
    Can't change username - seems to be hardwired to your Steam account. I wanted to change mine to the much more appropriate SittingDuck, for example...
    DX10 graphics not obviously better than good DX9.


    Comments
    It's DX10 only, which seems about time, given that Vista came out almost 3 years ago. Graphics look good, but don't seem that impressive for this requirement and framerate performance, though. I had the impression that the bottleneck was as much my CPU (E8500 @ 4.11GHz, note) as my GTX 285. My PC is quite fast, so I felt the game should have run better than it did. I had ambient occlusion (known to tank FPS) off, too and no AA.

    This game seems to be a first of its kind FPS in zero G and I reckon others will be made that do a much better job of this and will have much more compelling gameplay.
    During the game, a couple of gamers said they didn't think this game would be big.

    It costs 14.99 UK pounds on Steam, which seems reasonable for the gameplay offered. I'm curious how much it is in dollars?

    So, is it worth buying? Perhaps, for the novelty value. If you can play a demo first, I recommend you do so.
     
    wolf and erocker say thanks.
  10. Whilhelm

    Whilhelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    Barrie, Canada.
    Yeah it must be the dual core giving you low frame rates. What resolution and settings are you using? I am playing mine at maximum settings 1920x1080 8xMSAA and it runs flawlessly.

    And about load times, they seem fine to me, about the same as any other multiplayer game

    With regards to the sound in the game, the suit has an audio simulation system to justify the inclusion of sound. When in silent running mode all the sound is muted and all you can hear is your player breathing and your hearbeat, it is really cool.
     
  11. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    $20 Usd.
     
  12. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    The reason why you can hear gun shots in space, if you botherd to look at the trailers, and gameplay vids, you would see when he is booting up after getting raped you here "artificial sound system is operational" or something like that, its creats sound for you to hear, so your not deaf when bullets are flying. The creators were ready for people to complain about it + it looks like some people didn't watch previews anyways. :shadedshu:shadedshu:shadedshu
     
  13. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I did say in my mini review, that I'm playing at 1680x1050, which is only medium by today's standards. The load times were also ok for me. I ran it at 0xAA & 16xAF.

    Did you run Fraps to see accurately what framerates you were getting? I usually have it running in the top right corner.

    I hadn't realised what was meant by that sound simulation system, thanks for explaining this. :)
     
  14. Whilhelm

    Whilhelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    Barrie, Canada.
    Just tried it with fraps and it fluctuates between 30~50fps at 1920x1080 with 8xMSAA. With AA disabled the framerate is the same for some reason but I can tell AA is disabled. Its somewhat weird but I am running Crossfire. I guess that is not flawless but without seeing the fps in the corner it seems pretty smooth to me.
     
  15. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Yes, I agree that the rendering engine does a good job of minimising judder when the frame rate is low. I should point out that the "indoor" scenes tended to render well above 60fps though and looked great, but as soon as you saw a distance shot, or moved out a bit, it tanked, due to the extra detail on the screen.

    The reason why the frame rate doesn't rise much when you reduce the load on the graphics card is because it's bottlenecking at the CPU - even an E8500 overclocked to 4.11GHz like mine. Looks like that DX10 mode is taking quite a toll. My PC will normally blast through anything. :ohwell:

    Games with this characteristic aren't all that fun to play in terms of smoothness, but make good benchmarks for precisely this reason. As hardware gets more powerful, the performance rises measurably, unless you're using Crysis of course... :laugh:

    And finally, I see that a lot of people are reading this thread, but not commenting on the game. I thought it was quite hotly anticipated and expected my review to encourage conversation, so I was quite surprised at this. I can only think that this is due to a lack of interest in this game - just look at the threads for L4D2 or CoD MW2 for example.
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,666 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,059
    qubit, if you still have superfetch and readyboost disabled, I recommend you try enabling them and trying the game again. :) Getting the game now.
     
  17. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Ya, it's still off. Do you think frame rate would improve with them on? I must admit I'm skeptical, because everything will already be loaded from disc during play, but I'll try.

    Was my review helpful for you? It was your question that inspired it. :toast:
     
  18. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,542 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Excellent mini review qubit, a good read as always.

    i find this game a very novel idea, and quite a lot of fun but also very frustrating at times. With weaponry being so even it can come down to who gets the jump on who, and who needs to reload first, I just find more rage moments in this game than any other FPS i've played for a while now.

    Other than that the low FPS is annoying tbh, I run everything maxed except 4xAA not 8, and 1920x1200 no vsync, FPS is between 38 and 52, which - don't get me wrong - is pretty darn smooth in this game, but with a rig like mine (check specs) I'd have liked to see 60fps.
     
    qubit says thanks.
  19. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Thanks. :)

    That is a very good spec you have, especially the 5870. It's a shame to see the game CPU limited to such a low rate when you've got this card, too.

    I had that situation aplenty when I was using my old rig, an Athlon 3800X2 2GHz overclocked to 2.6GHz. It could in no way max put the 9800 GX2 I put in it at the time. :laugh: Hence my CPU upgrade.

    The game doesn't seem to be that complicated to render, so I wonder why the bottleneck? DX10 is supposed to increase framerate for the same rendering load, too.
     
    wolf says thanks.
  20. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,542 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Well so far according to mine its version 1.0.0.1 so maybe performance will increase over time?

    I have found this game to look VERY futuremark if you know what I mean, anyone who has ran the demo mode of 3dmark 05/06 will know this too.

    I'm going to do some testing without AA and AO and combination's thereof to see how it goes, will come back here with results.
     
  21. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    That's because it's made by Futuremark ;)
     
    wolf says thanks.
  22. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,542 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    noooooooooooo waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay :laugh::laugh::laugh:

    So AO made the biggest difference, turning AA from 4x to none made no noticeable difference, and it's ahrd to measure FPS accurately so I'd say maybe 1 or 2?

    AO is more like 5-10, with FPS hovering much more in the high 40's and mid 50's, sitting often at 55-60 now in tight spots and 45-50 odd when the action is intense.

    also I didn't notice any perceivable quality loss with AO off yet, but I may knock up some comparison screenies once the dedicated server files are available to us yobbos. I really don't want to drop any other settings, while the game isn't that impressive (visually) per say, it still looks great and has a very suitable atmosphere IMO.
     
  23. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Yeah, I beta tested it. They actually sent me a t-shirt and a few other goodies because I invited the most people to the beta :)
     
  24. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,542 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    it's the few other goodies I'm interested in :laugh:, care to share :rolleyes: how'd you get into the beta test anyway?
     
  25. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I applied for it, then I posted a thread here with instructions on how to get in. Sorry you missed it!

    I got a few full color pamphlets about the game, and a bunch of Shattered Horizon stickers!

    Edit: OH! And a signed thank you letter from all of the developers of the game :)
     
    wolf says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page