1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Shattered Horizon

Discussion in 'Games' started by RaPiDo987, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. RaPiDo987

    RaPiDo987 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    583 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Steam has it for $10... Is it any good?
  2. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    No, not really. That game has been a pet project at Futuremark for nearly a decade. One of the founders of that place got an idea for it a while back and you could see bits and pieces of it in products such as 3DMark2003. Of course, the benchmark side of software suffered since resources itself were being increasingly used in the production of the game, hence why production of 3DMark Vantage was actually outsourced to India in part (no joke), and in the end the game itself ended up being a mediocre shooter at best. Get it when it becomes free or drops to 1-dollar or something.

    Note: You can spend that $10 on various Amazon Marketplace or eBay powerseller stores and get some decent titles and I mean titles, as in plural. That Hoots-Loot powerseller had some great deals a while back, like retail boxed titles brand new and sealed for as low as 99 cents each, with combined shipping. Lot of them triple-AAA titles. Heck, even Steam can't beat those prices. You could get half a dozen titles like Prey or similar (if you are into shooters) delivered to your door for that cash.
    RaPiDo987 says thanks.
  3. Whilhelm

    Whilhelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    Barrie, Canada.
    Sorry but I disagree. I actually found the game to be a very refreshing challenge. It also just got a big update that adds four new maps and a bunch of other changes. For 10 dollars it is a pretty good deal and it is nice to play something a little different from time to time.
    RaPiDo987 says thanks.
  4. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I tried the beta. Played for 20 minutes. It had potential, but having only one gun and maybe a few semi populated servers really killed it. Also didn't like only being able to set my resolution to 1280x720, dunno if they fixed that. I was laggy as a result.
    RaPiDo987 says thanks.
  5. Whilhelm

    Whilhelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    Barrie, Canada.
    Oh and there is a free weekend going on at the moment so just download and play it for a day or so :)
    RaPiDo987 says thanks.
  6. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    I have no problems with this game, it has a fresh feel to it and it kicks ass.
    RaPiDo987 says thanks.
  7. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    Am I doing something wrong? Game won't launch for me :(

    [​IMG]
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,698 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,221
    i bought it, hate it.


    BP: update DX and reboot the machine. it is a DX10 only game, so its a little weird like that
  9. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    I'm already using the latest DX Feb 2010 release?
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,698 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,221
    not sure then. reboot might help, i guess.
  11. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    Nope.
    I also tried dl DirectX SDK - (February 2010) didn't solve problem either.
    I'll do some googling...

    Edit: Trying updating Microsoft Visual C++.....
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2010
  12. Phxprovost

    Phxprovost Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,214 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    might be a long shot but have you tried getting steam to check the files?
  13. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,096 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    the graphics for this game is quite amazing even though i don't use AA and medium-high settings.
  14. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    823 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    Well, lagged a little for me, but thats more than acceptable. Well, one weapon with two firing modes and grenade sucks imho, and it looks sucks too :/ Visuals are pretty good, but something lacks imo. Was fun, but game needs more features, its kinda bland.
  15. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    I validated the files, reinstalled game, rebooted....
    Still no go.

    I think I'll give up and uninstall the game! :laugh:
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,698 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,221
    good plan, its a pretty crap game
  17. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12,994 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,094
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Doubt it is your problem but just a heads up: The game will always CTD if it isn't started via Steam.

    All I can suggest other than that is to install the VC++ 2005 runtime, VC++ 2008 runtime, and the DirectX redistributable. If Steam failed to install any of those, the game may not run.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,789 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i bought it for 10 euro i liked the free trail
    realy somthing differend :) playing it on maxium settigns
    aa on 2x af 16x 45fps maxium still smooth and it looks so realistic :D
    and i own every one :D
  19. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,819 (4.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    You think 45fps is smooth?? No less than 60fps is smooth and it has to be locked to vsync with no dropped frames.

    Looking at your system specs, it can do much better than 45fps on this game.
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    Some games you have to run as an Admin. BC2 is like that for me. So is this one. Give that a try.
  21. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12,994 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,094
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I don't know if Steam would let you launch it as Administrator. :confused:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,789 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    for me its smooth, mybe not to you
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    Sure. Just go into the steam folder and the games launch app is in the common folder. You can play most Steam games without even lanuching steam. ;)

    It would look something like this.....

    C:/Program Files (x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/shattered_horizon/client_exe
  24. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12,994 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,094
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Sadly, not Shattered Horizon. Clicking on it launches Steam which in turn launches Shattered Horizon. It is unclear whether or not running as Administrator would have any impact. :(


    Dammit, 32 minute download for an update. :( I hate Steam.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,698 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,221
    you can oft run the .exes for steam games and have them run, but only if steam is already running.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page