1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should i add another HD7970

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by adiboy212, Oct 15, 2013.

  1. adiboy212 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello guys,
    I have a plan to upgrade my gaming PC.
    I saw that the prices of AMD cards dropped so i was thinking,should i buy another Ati Radeon HD7970.
    My current system:
    CPU-i7-3770 3.4 GHz
    GPU- Sapphire Dual-x HD 7970
    RAM-Patriot Viper 2133 MHz
    Motherboard- Gigabyte Z77-DS3H
    SSD-Samsung 840 Series 120 GB(boot drive)
    HDD-1 TB Western Digital Blue 64 MB
    CASE- Coolermaster HAF 922

    Also i was thinking about a CPU cooler. I was in my local computer shop and they said that i should get the Coolermaster Seidon 240, is it a good cpu cooler?
    Thanks.
     
  2. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    990 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    I have the Seidon 120M and it's great. I get 25-30 lower C on my CPU.

    What's your monitor situation? Are you finding games to be running sluggish to necessitate another 7970?
     
  3. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    what resolution do you use?

    do you have a 3770 or a 3770k CPU? If you only have a 3770, or have a 3770K but don't overclock, there is no need for the Seidon as your stock heat sink is enough for a 3770K at stock speeds.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. adiboy212 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well my current monitor is 22" 1680x1050, sometimes i game on my tv with my friends at 1080p.
    I dont see alot of fps problems, i can run BF3, BF4 at ultra with 60fps+
    Also its an i7-3770(non k).. When i ran prime i got up to 90 C on one core and on another it was 82C.. I think that is thermal paste problems..
     
  5. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,118 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,948
    I love my 7970 cfx but I wouldn't bother with it for a resolution of 1680.1050. Upgrade the monitor first to 2560.1440, then add another 7970 on the cheap, and you'll be in good shape! :)
     
    adiboy212 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. adiboy212 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well we got the GPU thing sorted out.. I might but one in a couple of months if i see that i need it..
    Now for the cpu Cooler. I heard that water colling even the single radiator fan is superior to air cooling. Is that right?
     
  7. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    If you don't have issues with lag in any games you play, you really don't have a need to buy the 2nd 7970 (let's not get the term "need" and "want" confused here). If you really are feeling the upgrade itch (want to upgrade), I suggest saving up for a R9 290 or 290X when they are released(speculation is release will be synced with BF4's release).

    90'c is hot, very hot in fact. But then again, Prime can push hardware harder than it normally runs at. Again, "need" and "want". There's no reason not to invest in a inexpensive aftermarket heat sink. Lower temps are always better. Personally, I'd suggest a AIO water cooling unit like my H60. It keeps my 2600k OC'ed to 4.5ghz running at full load on all 8 processing threads between 60-70'c, depending on the temp in my room (68-75'f).
     
    adiboy212 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. adiboy212 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well thanks dude. I sorted some things with this. :)
    I might get the cpu cooler if i feel the need.
    Thanks again :)
     
  9. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,746
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Since you have a non "K" CPU, then I wouldn't even bother with an AIO water cooler. It's just a waste of money for a CPU you can't overclock. I'd just get something cheap like this or nothing at all. :toast: Save the money for a better GPU down the road. :toast:

    EDIT: With those temps you probably don't have the Heatsink mounted correctly or you could try some better paste. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Cotton_Cup

    Cotton_Cup

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    378 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Rizal, Philippines
    actually I don't advice you to crossfire your 7970.

    normally when people build a system they think they will get this gpu and maybe crossfire down the road. this doesn't happen (Normally) when a new gpu after a few years later, people tend tgo just get the new one again and think they will crossfire/sli down the road.

    if you want to get a 7970 crossfire now just grab it. if not then skip this gen and go next get and get sli or crossfire so you won't have to worry about thinking should I xfire/sli down the road.

    whether you need it or want it. if you can afford it go buy it, and regret later.
     
  11. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Sure you should add another 7970...if you also decide to buy a 1440P or 1600P monitor. Otherwise, hell no. Really, past time to upgrade that display.
     
  12. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    369 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Just put that extra money into a nice monitor, 1440 p 27 incher. Make that 7970 work man!
    Its begging for high res! I think its kind of a waste to add a second. I have a 1600p monitor and my old 5870 used to do pretty darn good on that thing. Now my gtx660 is better and a 7970 would be sweet. It should rock a 1440 p monitor all day long. So ya I say monitor then buy some sweet games to rock that monitor and make that 7970 earn its keep! :)
     
  13. EpicShweetness

    EpicShweetness

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    307 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Ft Gordon
    I agree with this I have no problems with a 7870 at 1080p which is a higher resolution.
    Now as far as getting 1 more card, personally no. Not just because of your monitor, but the few multi GPU solutions I've done were less then stellar, and more then not frustrated me at points. Also your super driver dependent, I've gotten excellent FPS, updated my drivers , and problem's persist. Before you say I'm bias my AMD solution was 2 X1950 Pro's, and my NVIDIA solution was a 9800 GX2. Anyway that's my input.
     
  14. CheezusCrust

    CheezusCrust New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Greenland
    If your performance is fine with your current setup, there's honestly little point in upgrading.

    Save the money towards a new monitor. :)
     
  15. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    901 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Location:
    south korea
    This is the answer.....

    no point having another gpu for that resolution.... I have 1050p before and 1 7970 should be enough cause I have 7950. I dont even have to OC much my gpu before..... When I upgrade my monitor to 1600p, then I bought a 2nd gpu..... only mistake I had was I bought 7950 again :banghead::banghead::banghead: but they look like a "giant towers" in my case... lol....

    even if you play @ 60" 1080p, you wont notice much difference playing a 22" 1050p or 1080p monitor....

    If you upgrade your monitor to higher res like 1600p, you would see much difference....

    I will never go below 1600p again :rockout:

    If you are really itching for upgrade, you can buy another card now, somewhere down the road, upgrade your monitor... but prepare to upgrade your cpu as well to a K version... at some point your CPU will hold back your GPU's later after upgrading to 2 gpu's and higher res monitors....


    or save your money after a year of saving, you can build another rig :nutkick:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,746
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I would not suggest cfx with a non "K" series CPU either. You'll want to overclock your CPU to push both GPU's to get the best out of your cfx. So, even if you upgrade your monitor you'll still be held back by your CPU. I'm not saying your CPU is bad, but from my cfx experience the higher the CPU clocked the better. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,089 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    767
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Hell one 7970 is overkill with that monitor. 2 you might as well just light money on fire because youd be getting the same value
     
  18. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    901 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Location:
    south korea
    aw... of course he will gain something....

    A higher score on benchmarks :p

    plus good looks :p

    but performance? no..... :shadedshu
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page