1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should i buy a GTX 560 Ti or wait for the HD 7000 serie's

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Achilles1600, Nov 29, 2011.

  1. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    Why im saying this is because i wont have any cash for a couple of week's, and im looking at buying the msi gtx 560 ti hawk" or twin frozr, so should i wait for the hd 7000 serie's, also i would just be using this card till summer 2012, when the gtx 600 serie's drop's, and end up giving to my lil bro.
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,819 (4.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    I prefer nvidia for the control panel and general functionality, including 3D Vision, so I say get the nvidia card now. I'll be waiting for nvidia's next gen cards before upgrading my 580 and even then I might not if they're not good enough.

    However, it's not hard and fast what you should do, so only you can decide!
    Achilles1600 says thanks.
  3. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    And if you recomend the gtx 560 ti, what one should i get the hawk" or the twin frozr.?
  4. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,819 (4.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    I'm afraid I haven't got time to look into this now - I'm writing up a news article! :)

    I'm sure our resident horde of enthusiasts will have an answer. ;)
    Achilles1600 says thanks.
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,629 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,279
    whats your current card first off?
    Achilles1600 says thanks.
  6. John Doe Guest

    The Hawk is the most robust 560. It's built on a custom, longer PCB with triple overvoltage. But people over OCN were reporting the highest OC's on the Twin-Frozr 2, which is a reference board with a TF on top of it. Bit of a toss up. Can't go wrong with either one anyways.

    Personally, I'd shoot for the 2 GB one since extra vRAM might come in handy.

    MSI N560GTX-Ti Twin Frozr II 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 5...
  7. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    I dont have a current gpu, im in the mid's of building a rig.
  8. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    doe's nvidia's 3D vision work with bf3, and mmo's.?
  9. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,819 (4.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    Personally, I'd just get a 580 if you can afford it. It's superfast (it leaves the 560 in the dust) and "shop branded" ones are pure reference which is good and tend to be somewhat cheaper too, so they don't break the bank.
    Achilles1600 says thanks.
  10. John Doe Guest

    They don't sell those in the U.S though. The plain reference boards without stickers on them. :)

    If you can afford more, I say shoot for a reference 6970, which also would smoke a 560 Ti for cheaper, while smoking nVidia PCB quality with it's digital power.

    VisionTek 900353 Radeon HD 6970 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 ...
  11. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    the 560ti's with 448 shaders release tomarrow. those are looking pretty sweet.
    Achilles1600 says thanks.
  12. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    will they make a 448 shader's twin frozr
  13. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    Doe's nvidia 3d vision work with all game's.
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,819 (4.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    Pretty much, yes. Which ones are you thinking of? Just look them up on www.geforce.com
    Achilles1600 says thanks.
  15. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    I was thinking like, BF3, star war's the old republic, dow2.
  16. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,819 (4.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    Oh yeah, they will work for sure.

    Hang on! Just checked your system specs and seen that you already have a 560 ti. Why would you wanna get another one?! (I know you're not doing SLI). There isn't all that much difference in performance between the fastest and the slowest ones, so it's definitely a waste of money, regardless of how fancy it is. If you want significantly better performance and stay with nvidia, then the 580 is your only option to make the performance difference worthwhile. You'll need a PSU and case that will cope with it too, of course, which you seem to have.

    btw, "that news article" I mentioned was the latest nvidia 290.36 beta driver. ;) Visit the front page and take a look!
    Achilles1600 says thanks.
  17. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    895 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    I think that GTX 560 Ti's has a minor problems with the drivers... i say I THINK !!! I sell'd yesterday my 560Ti and got a 6970 instead (the price difference was little)...
    Achilles1600 says thanks.
  18. John Doe Guest

    You really should replace that unit man. I wouldn't run anything on it.

    http://www.overclock.net/t/782991/on-coolermaster-refresh#post10094089

    "eXtreme Power Plus 400W - 650W:
    These are garbage, ACBel's cheapest, shoddiest units, and they're everywhere. Not one of the EPP line can deliver more than 2/3s of its rated wattage. Even at their "real" ratings they're poor, barely keeping in spec in most cases. I place the eXtreme Power lineup only one tier above generic units from Leadman or Linkworld or Sun Pro. No one should buy these. However, they're one of CoolerMaster's best selling lineups, because they're so cheap and they're stacked a score high in every retail store in the country. I've been into a Microcenter that had a literal 5 foot pyramid of eXtreme Power Plus 500W units; a shame I didn't have my camera. Don't let the CoolerMaster brand name fool you, these are the types of power supplies that you hear horror stories about."
  19. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    No lol i dont have a 560 yet, i just stated that befor hand. :)
  20. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    will it last 2 week's ?
  21. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,819 (4.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    Eek, sorry. :eek: It's way past my bedtime again.

    John Doe is right about that PSU. Forget about buying a graphics card for now - get shot of that piece of junk first, then think about a graphics card. A shit PSU can kill your system when it blows up. Not worth it, ever.
    Achilles1600 says thanks.
  22. John Doe Guest

    Sure, 2 weeks, 2 months or even 2 years. Easy. But the thing is, IDK when and how it would blow up. And when it does, it'll take your parts together with it. It might also leave damage behind from bad VSB regulation and ripple. Slowly kill your parts in other words. But wouldn't hurt anything for just 2 weeks. ;)
  23. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,819 (4.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    Famous last words! lol :)
    Damn_Smooth and Achilles1600 say thanks.
  24. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    895 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    Just get a good/reliable PSU...
    Achilles1600 says thanks.
  25. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    So should it be fine for two week's.?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page