1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should I consider upgrading?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by warup89, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,124 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    FL
    Hey guys I came up with some extra money and I was wondering if I should even consider upgrading my current PC:

    * C2Q 9550 @ 3.98
    * GigaByte EP45-UD3P [ver 1.6]
    * Transcend 8.00 Gb PC 6400
    * ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2gb + 4870 512mb
    * Thermaltake toughpower 1200wtt

    I haven't noticed any lag on the my main games [BC2, TF2, CODmw, etc] but I havent been in the PC building business for a while and I was wondering if im just fine with what I have now.
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,876 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,666
    Location:
    US
    No, give it a year at least. And if your games are running no need for sure.
    Chewers and warup89 say thanks.
  3. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,038 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,147
    No, unless you by upgrade mean make the move to new platform. Your CPU, running that speed, will not bottleneck you. What you have is good stuff and unless Metro is you game or video rendering your new hobby then wait. If you want to do anything start with some water cooling. You can always take that to the next rig.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,898 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Like the others have said...NO
    warup89 says thanks.
  5. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    AZ
    honestly i wouldn't make a move from tri-fire 4870's until dx 11 became a bit more mainstream. The cpu should also be fine at 4GHZ so really there is no need to upgrade.

    at any rate any platform change will have to wait until sandybridge has it's availability back at the very least. you could also wait and see what lga2011 and bulldozer perform like.

    as for gpu only swap them out if you feel them starting to fail on you. dx11 won't be relevant for a little while and your performance is sowhere between that of a gtx 580 and my dual 480's.
    warup89 says thanks.
  6. warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,124 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    FL
    Thanks a lot, I never had a true water cooling set up, so I might shoot for that.

    Yeah, I havent used DX11 heavy games and I dont think there aren't any that are worth enough to buy a a new system. I was really considering sandy bridge a while ago but, seeing how my current CPU performs. I'm just going to hold on to it, until something really good comes out.
  7. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,824 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    No your computer is still great! but i have been feeling the upgrade itch too.
    warup89 says thanks.
  8. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,715 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,310
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    like other say your rig is pretty powerful unless you wanna run to dx11 you could run this spec for about a year until newer card with newer features is out and of course you gonna have more to choose and more affodable price
    warup89 says thanks.
  9. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,792 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    No way! a q9550 @ 3.8 ghz is no slouch! At the rates ports are being cranked out + the fact that programming is lagging so far behind hardware, you could chug that rig on for years!
    warup89 says thanks.
  10. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    My specs are pretty close to yours and I dont see the need to upgrade any time soon. Although I will build a new system after BF3 comes out. I want to see how BF3 works the CPU since BC2 needs more than a q9550 with my GPUs.
    warup89 says thanks.
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,547 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,060
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    wait until socket 2011 or bulldozer then decide.
    warup89 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    If you could find a cheap ddr3 mobo for that processor, and some good ddr3 that would be about it, but I wouldn't spend to much on a mobo for that at this point in time esp. you have a good ddr2 board.

    Like the others say no point in changing the g-cards. That psu is good for a long time into the future!
    warup89 says thanks.
  13. warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,124 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    FL
    I noticed that too, my q9550 takes a big hit when I run BC2, well mainly when it load maps and I do get the rare lag whenever there a lot of action going on. But I dont mind it since whenever that lag happens it means a nice intense match its taking place :p. Then again BF3 its on its way and man thats a way bigger game than BC2 and THAT might be the deal breaker for me.
  14. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    The only thing I would do would be to trade the 512MB 4870 for a 1gb variant. That is limiting your tri-fire 4870s to 512MB effective memory.
  15. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,556 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    512
    Location:
    Australia
    Thats a big fat NO, your system is fine for games, very similar to mine realy and i can play all games pretty well maxed out, and DX11 is not worth moving to just yet IMHO.

    If i was to upgrade it will be once Bulldozer is firmly into the market (lets say Christmas, early next yr) then that's when i might upgrade.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page