1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should I make a server?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by squelchy451, May 10, 2011.

  1. squelchy451 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    70 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi

    I just upgraded my desktop. My old one was a low power AMD ITX build. I was thinking about building a server. Who really needs a server and why would anybody need one?

    Also, if I were to build a server, would RAID be necessary?

    Thanks
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,599 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,988
    I guess the question is, do you need a server?
  3. squelchy451 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    70 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeah. At first I thought only businesses had servers for loading their database, websites, etc but right now with so much consumer-oriented servers, I'm trying to see if I would benefit from having one
  4. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,514 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,160
    Well you can build a home file server/streaming server. Store music, movies etc on that and you have access to it everywhere. Or you can use it as a firewall, a webserver (if you have a website), mailserver, printer server.. There are numerous options.

    In a server I would recommend RAID if you can afford the extra harddrives as you don't have to worry about your data as much then.
  5. squelchy451 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    70 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'm probably going to go with a home file server...do I need a domain provider? Also, should I get RAID with a home file server?
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,838 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,943
    No you don't need a domain provider. I would use RAID for redundancy.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page