1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should I make a server?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by squelchy451, May 10, 2011.

  1. squelchy451 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    70 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi

    I just upgraded my desktop. My old one was a low power AMD ITX build. I was thinking about building a server. Who really needs a server and why would anybody need one?

    Also, if I were to build a server, would RAID be necessary?

    Thanks
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,197 (11.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,389
    I guess the question is, do you need a server?
     
  3. squelchy451 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    70 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeah. At first I thought only businesses had servers for loading their database, websites, etc but right now with so much consumer-oriented servers, I'm trying to see if I would benefit from having one
     
  4. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    12,824 (3.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,897
    Well you can build a home file server/streaming server. Store music, movies etc on that and you have access to it everywhere. Or you can use it as a firewall, a webserver (if you have a website), mailserver, printer server.. There are numerous options.

    In a server I would recommend RAID if you can afford the extra harddrives as you don't have to worry about your data as much then.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. squelchy451 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    70 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'm probably going to go with a home file server...do I need a domain provider? Also, should I get RAID with a home file server?
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    22,692 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,604
    No you don't need a domain provider. I would use RAID for redundancy.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)