1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should i take 2x Asus HD6970 DCII 2GB or 1 Asus 6990 ?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Ati Addictive, Aug 2, 2011.

  1. Ati Addictive

    Ati Addictive New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    107 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Holland
  2. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    i would take the 2x 6970s get them with aftermarket cooling, Twin Frozr III, Windforce etc, if theyll fit then DIrect CU III but, Twin Frozr III still seems to be the best of the bunch, get 2 of them overclock the dog piss out of them and call it a day.
  3. Ati Addictive

    Ati Addictive New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    107 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Holland
    Yes that is what i was thinking the problem i wont have any space left for my brand new asus Xonar D2X
  4. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    then point of posting the question is.......... ?
    LordJummy says thanks.
  5. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Seconded. It sounds like you already know what you want to do. Weigh the pros and cons and buy whichever one suits you the best...

    (2 x 6970's has more headroom for power with OC'ing, 6990 saves space, power, etc.)
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,463 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,207
    IMO your CPU doesnt have the grunt to really drive both cards
    twicksisted says thanks.
  7. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    hes waiting on bulldozer freedom look closely at the mobo 990fx :roll:
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  8. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    +1 that dual core is going to stutter modern multithreaded games enough on its own to spend that kind of money on crossife 6970's.

    Get a single, modern gfx card like a 6950/6970 or gtx 570/580 and upgrade to an i5 or i7 and youll be more than happy... in todays terms go for socket 1155 sandybridge mobo and a K series chip ;)
  9. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    and again fail on the tpu members for not looking at the specs

    990FX Asus Crosshair V Formula, which is ment for Bulldozer,

    im guessing everyone forgot how to add 1 + 1 to get to 2, Athlon II 240 is cheap as dirt, pops in and works on 990fx of course, and oh yea its cheap as dirt, why buy a $140 - $200 phenom chip to pair with a board when the plan is bulldozer,

    i love how so few lack common sense in which to see what direction the OP is headed.

    so for those that dont get it yes im being a douchebag :roll: and im doing it in good fun

    cpu dosent matter since already been established it will be a bulldozer rig, i mean come on who buys $300 + motherboard and puts a $40 cpu in it unless there waiting on the badass chip to arrive really ppl come on ;)

    as for 6970 x2 or 6990 i still vote 6970 crossfire as far as i know just move the cards down a few slots

    aka leave the top PCIe open and move the other gpu down further to slots 2 and 3 for xfire, then you can use your sound card, see wasnt that hard just took some brain power

    heres a small diagram to show what i am talking about cause everyone loves pictures.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2011
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.
  10. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,223 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,450
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    That'd be pretty tight on a triple slot combo. The twin Frozr's are dual slots and would fit better where crazy's pretty lines are.

    I'd buy dual 6970's over a 6990 any day due to the acoustics but if he's able to he could water cool it?

    Anyway, if he's waiting on bulldozer, he may as well wait another month and see if AMD's next gfx trick emerges...
  11. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,823 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    2x 6970! more PWR!
  12. Ati Addictive

    Ati Addictive New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    107 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Holland
    That s correct it will be changed by the time the Bulldozer will apear.
  13. doltozard New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Just don't get the MSI version of them because they are bios locked at 950/1450. Seems to be impossible to flash them as well so I can increase the limit. Maybe it has something to do with 64 bit? anyways the msi version is wayyyy cheaper though (if you go with the reference design)
  14. Ati Addictive

    Ati Addictive New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    107 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Holland
    Because of a changed situation of income i decided to buy two times a 6990.
    And yes it is posiable to wait for the 7000 series but after they release i can wait for the 8000 series there is always something going on to not upgrade your system this heavy.
    Also yes the Bulldozer will love my socked :)
  15. Ati Addictive

    Ati Addictive New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    107 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Holland
    I agree with your totally no brainer people who speak before thinking :D :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:
  16. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    its why i recommended the twin frozr or gigabyte windforce if available there pretty much the most cost effective way to keep the cards cool'

    take it from me 6970 reference cards run hot, GTX 480 hot, and the 6990s are much the same but even worse, do to 2x gpus on 1 card add another and i hope you plan to go water cooling, because heat will become an issue.
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,463 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,207
    I can vouch for the heat....

    2 6970s also make a lot of noise too....
  18. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Get three 6970 lightning's instead. Uses the twin frozr cooler and all. It is win win
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,463 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,207
    too bad those 6970 lightnings arent widely available in the UK. the only variation we get is either Gigabyte or powercolour. everything else is just reference models
  20. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Sure 2X6970 , 2Gb more performance.
  21. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    What do you mean by 2GB more performance? That not makey much sensey
  22. doltozard New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Yeah but the problem is that they don't take into consideration that maybe I would upgragde the cooler someday? Spent 150$$ on coolers, turned out to be for nothing.
  23. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    for MSI twin frozr, gigabyte windforce, there is no reason to BUY aftermarket cooling

    Twin Frozr III tends to hit 75-77c max temps with default fan profiles at 1000 core, if you want better then that should go water.
  24. Ati Addictive

    Ati Addictive New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    107 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Holland
    He is from Baghdad not mush sence comming from that place anyway :p
  25. gottistar

    gottistar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    174 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    go CF...enough said..

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page