1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should I update my Intel Gigabyte UD3R?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by OmegaAI, Feb 13, 2009.

  1. OmegaAI

    OmegaAI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    369 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Stuff
    Here are my specs ATM


    e7300 @ 3.7 370x10 1.3625
    Sapphire HD4850 625/993 @ 690/1188
    Gigabyte EP45-UD3R BIOS version F5
    OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 800 @ 888 5-5-5-18 2.1v
    2 Seagate 250GB
    Antec 300
    HDT-S1283


    Should I update the bios on my mobo to F6? Right now everything is stable for the most part, other than random freezing sometimes when playing HL2 (but that is a game issue).

    Also, I have tried getting up to 3.8 and it my ram or processor doesn't like anything higher than 370 FSB for some reason. Would udpating the bios possibly help with this?
     
  2. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,500 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    I found with the UD3P that the latest releases were fine.

    Hey and welcome to TPU, sit back and enjoy the ride! :rockout:
     
  3. OmegaAI

    OmegaAI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    369 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Stuff
    That doesn't help much.... because the UD3P is on F7 I believe.
     
  4. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    You could always try updating the bios, probably wouldn't hurt anything if you did. You might be able to push your OC a little higher but it sounds like your CPU just needs more volts. Remember though, there is always a slight risk of bricking your board any time you do a bios update.
     
  5. OmegaAI

    OmegaAI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    369 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Stuff
    Yeah, thats what I thought.
     
  6. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    When a Motherboard gets a bad flash, it isn't bricked... It's flatbreaded.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page