1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should I upgrade? Advise please.

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by vosszaa, Mar 29, 2009.

  1. vosszaa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Im new here and this is my first post, im apologize for I done anything wrong. - -"

    This is the rig im using at the moment;

    CPU: Intel QX9650
    CPU Cooler: none (Factory CPU fan+case fans)
    Motherboard: Asus Maximus Extreme
    Memory: 2x2GB G.Skill DDR3 1600(OC)
    Graphics: Sapphire Radeon HD4870X2
    Storage: 1x74GB WD' Raptor, 2x750GB Samsung Spinpoint
    Sound: On Board
    Network: Integrated
    Case: Cooler Master Cosmos 1000
    Power: Thermaltake Tough Power 850W
    Optical: Ordinary DVD/CD Burner

    This rig hasnt been modded in any kind such as drilling or neon light because i prefer to keep it as simple as it is.

    And now i heard that Core i7 is really good and fast, if i upgrade to core i7, would it be worth it?

    This is what i have in mind;

    CPU: Intel Core i7 Extreme 965
    CPU Cooler: Cooler Master AquaGate Max
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58 Extreme
    Memory: 3x2GB Corsair DDR3 1600 Kit
    Graphics: Sapphire Radeon HD4870X2
    Storage: This one i have no idea what should i get.
    Sound: On Board
    Network: Integrated
    Case: Cooler Master Cosmos 1000
    Power: Thermaltake Tough Power 850W
    Optical: Ordinary DVD/CD Burner

    I dont want SLI cuz i dont play game much.
    I need lots of storage and a fast one for Vista 64 Bit OS. (Raid 0??)
    I really dont need an uber sound card, on board will do.
    About liquid cooling, what do u guys think?
    I think my case still do the job, is it??
    I think my psu still do the job, is it??
    I dont need Bluray drive as i already have PS3 along with 7.1 Home Theater plus 55" Sony 200mhz LCD TV.

    Thx in advance for all the comment.
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    If you're not playing games much, why upgrade? Even if you did, the i7's aren't that much faster than the C2Q or PII in gaming.
  3. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    I don't see why you need to upgrade because you don't play games much,
    I would only upgrade if there's a real need. But if you have money and you want to spend it, give it to charity... and damn shadow, you beat me again...:(
  4. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Get a better CPU cooler and a better soundcard. To me that's a better upgrade than going to i7 with a rig like that.
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,259 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,020
    Some overclocking will be like an upgrade as well. If you want/need more power that is.

    Edited a bunch of times. My brain has kapooied on me. :(
  6. GTX

    GTX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    109 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    if u need storage buy more hdd's :D
    and a cooler :)
  7. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    I dont think a cooler would be neccessary because I dont think he oced his proccessor
  8. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,095 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Kansas
    A QX that's not overclocked is a sad, sad CPU......:p

    It's built to overclock! Get a CPU cooler and unleash that beast! i7 is pointless beyond e-peen with a rig like that.
  9. vosszaa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What is PII and e-peen?? Is it the same thing? sorry for dumb question.
  10. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    PII is Phenom II AMD's latest chip.

    e-peen is essentially an internet version of your ego. (men equate stature to penis size, e-penis = electronic penis - e-peen is a different name for it).
  11. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,790 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    You gotta ask yourself for what you use your PC. If its just for browsing, watching movies and general stuff, there is no need to upgrade. Although I would recommend a new CPU cooler, do that QX something good.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. vosszaa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Take it in ^^

    PS: Oh and thx for enlighten me on e-peen. lolz
  13. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Yes that is weak rig. I don`t know what are you waiting :roll::roll::roll:
  14. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,025 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    Your rig is just find imo. I actually upgraded to something weaker than that during Christmas and it can do everything I throw at it. I would only upgrade to an i7 if you video encode daily
  15. vosszaa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Err.. weak? i dont think so.
  16. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,774 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,553
    he was being sarcastic.

    like the others are saying, you have a really strong system as it sits. A I7 would be faster, but would you benefit from the increased speed. Unless you do alot of video encoding or do alot of work with programs like autocad, probably not.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. vosszaa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Oh, ok. I was misunderstand. hehe ^^ So i guess ill stick with what i have now. Thx guys
  18. Attix

    Attix New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ellsworth, Maine
    No need to upgrade in my opinion, but if you can afford a better upgrade than the rig that you have - be my guest.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page