1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

should i upgrade my cpu+mobo+ram for better gaming performance?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Abir053, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. Abir053

    Abir053 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    I want to upgrade to the following:

    1. Intel core i5 750 2.66ghz
    2. Gigabyte p55a-ud3 (usb3.0 and sata 6gbps support)
    3. A-data ddr3 4gb(2*2gb) 1333mhz

    now i want to know that is it worth the upgrade or not.
    i'm already using a sapphire 5870:cool:
    what i'm thinking is my current setup is pretty old(except the 5870 ofcourse) and after upgrading the following my overall performance could gain a lot...

    what u guyz think???

    pls help me decide.....thanks.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2010
  2. Abir053

    Abir053 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    is my system bottlenecking my gpu??? coz i'm getting some occasional choppyness in AVP @1920*1200, very high, dx11
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2010
  3. Black Haru

    Black Haru

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,176 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    306
    Location:
    Indiana
    run a program to log your systems performance while you game and see what maxes out first. (I use GPU-Z, CPU-Z and realtemp) then run off that. I suspect that your CPU is bottle necking if you have a 5870...

    If I were you and I had the money I would upgrade. (but that's me)
     
  4. Abir053

    Abir053 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh

    i'm using sapphire 5870 1gb for the last three months....it's been great so far
    i think u r right, maybe my cpu bottlenecking my gpu
    but should i upgrade the cpu only or the cpu+mobo+ram?
     
  5. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Yeah CPU could be the bottle neck, tis a older gen one you got there.
     
  6. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Normally the core i5 you want to upgrade is the best cpu you can choose for the 5870, i mean for money and performance. I recommend buying first the cpu, than if you are not satisfied, upgrade the mobo and ram.
     
  7. Black Haru

    Black Haru

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,176 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    306
    Location:
    Indiana
    What's your cpu/mobo/ram specs? (sorry I can't access users system specs from the schools comp)

    if your system is fairly old, then a mobo replace would be first. then base your cpu and ram off of that.

    a simple cpu replacement would probably not be a good long term investment (since your mobo limits what cpu you can have)
     
  8. Abir053

    Abir053 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh

    if i upgrade the cpu only which one(quad core ofcourse) do you suggest?
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,464 (12.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,153
    Don't Upgrade

    Before upgrading anything, and since you will have to reinstall your operating system when you do upgrade your hardware. Get your processor to 3.6ghz, do a Windows resinstall. Check performance then. With your system and your CPU at 3.6ghz running at a higher resolution (1920x1080, etc.) there will be no "bottleneck".
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2010
  10. Abir053

    Abir053 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh

    core2 duo e6750 2.66ghz@ 3.41ghz, gigabyte p35c-ds3r, 4gb ddr2 800 @852mhz ........
     
  11. Abir053

    Abir053 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    i hate doing reinstall:mad: but i'll do it anyway with 64bit. btw my monitor res. is 1920*1200
     
  12. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Indeed that clock is WAY slow for that card, especially being it's a dual core.

    An i5 or if you can bounce it the i7-860 would make a huge difference.
    Even really going to like a q9550/q9650 that would be awesome and you wouldn't need much new stuff.
     
  13. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    The real question is do you have smooth gameplay as it is. There always be bottleneck. The amount of it is what matters. Who cares if the CPU is bottlenecking from 100 to 80 FPS.
     
    DRDNA says thanks.
  14. Abir053

    Abir053 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    in AVP with very high, dx11, 1920*1200 some areas in predator mode my fps sometimes drop to below 40:wtf: but most of the time it's well above 60. but it feels annoying and disturbing coz i already have the most powerful single gpu.

    and i'm facing similar choppyness in Avatar game at ultra setting with AA

    all other games run just fine with ultra setting like bioshock 2, mass effect 2, dirt2 etc...
     
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,464 (12.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,153
    Well, if you were going to upgrade your system you would have to do it anyways. From what you are explaining, I don't see a bottleneck issue. Why not try to save money, reinstall the O/S and who knows? Maybe things will be good. If not, at least you tried and you can then go ahead and upgrade with confidence. Just throwing money at new hardware is a lazy way to go about it. People love to give advice on buying new hardware.
     
  16. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Running such a powerful card with that processor and saying that there will be no bottleneck :wtf: :shadedshu
    Anyway in this forum at the time i wanted to upgrade to 5770, which is half of power of the 5870, the forum members suggested me at least a phenom X2 II 555, which is much better than the procesor he is running the 5870! In all forums i have seen till now, all tests, reviews, all people have said that the core i5 750 is the best buy for that card.
    What is more, is that an increment of 190mhz will not "stop" bottleneck.
    So with the cpu you have, lets say that the 5750 is the best buy. You cannot understand the bottleneck if you dont see the reviews and compare them with your rig. Normally myself recommends core i7 860, but most people say that the core i5 is better because of a lower price. Anyway it is really foolish to think that with core2duo E6750 processor you wont have bottleneck.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2010
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,464 (12.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,153
    No it's not foolish, it's logical. At higher resolutions the workload is placed on the GPU, not the CPU. Sorry to say, but your PII 555 isn't that much better than his Core2duo. I think you need to do your research before calling something foolish. Do your homework. Show me evidence that this "bottlenecking" will happen or that it is happening. :slap:

    Abir053, please open your task manager in the performance tab. Then run a game. How much of your CPU is being used? This will easily tell us all if you need to get a i5, which in itself is not what I would go for, for a gaming rig on a budget.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2010
  18. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    996 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    see if u can get ur hands on a used quad core , like q9550/q9650 ,,even q6600 .,ur mobo should support it no problem ,,maybe u could borrow it from someone for a few days and do some testing,,,, personally went from dual athlon2.8ghz to phenomII 3.0ghz and saw noticeable difference in games using ati 4850
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Ok, let's wait than for abir053 to show us the workload of his cpu...
     
  20. Abir053

    Abir053 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    my IQ says that i should upgrade right away if i wanna get the full potential of my gpu....but at the same time i don't wanna spend a lot of money for uprading those stuff. i'm so confused!!!


    Ok guyz i just checked my task manager when i'm in Avp @ highest setting and my cpu usage is 78% to 83%
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2010
  21. epicfail

    epicfail New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    496 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    Hey the more help you get on this the better the chance of doing the right choice,
     
  22. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Let's say this time i did the homework, cuz it reveals clearly that core i7 gives 3 times more fps (at least 1280x1024) in some cases. For the games that can run smoothly it does not mean that it is not bottlenecking.
    Anyway this review is "one" of houndreds reviews that show clearly the potential of what the cpu has to do. I have to say that if you dont do the homeworks, you will wait for others to do them
    http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/video/display/radeon-hd5870-cpu-scaling_4.html#sect1
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,464 (12.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,153
    If it were a bottleneck it would be pegged at 100%. Like I said, try putting a little more OC on your CPU if possible, and reinstall your O/S to get rid of the bloat.

    Of course! At a lower resolution, the workload is offloaded more to the CPU. Since 1920x1080 is being used, it doesn't matter.
     
  24. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,843 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Texas
    I have to agree with erocker here. A dual @ 3.4 might bottleneck your 5870 a little, but the only way you would notice is benchmarking it. I don't think you will notice "dramatic" gaming improvements from a new CPU/MB/Ram combo.

    If you are just looking to upgrade something, if I were you I would do like bravesoul recommended: Find a cheap used/new quad to slap in your board and you should be good.
     
  25. epicfail

    epicfail New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    496 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada

    from what you posted, theres not much difference at high res but at low res theres a bigger difference so i guess depends what he plays at.

    i know for a fact my system is bottle knecked but it works fine i have 50-70 fps on mostly high and some medium in bc2 so.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page