1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should I upgrade my system? If so where?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Sir B. Fannybottom, Jun 20, 2011.

  1. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,837 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    8 Gigs of 667 ram
    1x 7200rpm 750 gig HDD
    1x 7200rpm 150 gig HDD
    Hp AM3 motherboard (3 PCI-1x 1 PCI-16x 4 ram dimm slots)
    AMD phenom II 925 2.8ghz (quad core)
    ATI Radion HD 4650 (1 gig DDR3 I think)
    Thermaltake 480 Watt powersupply (Very old had to convert from 20 pin to 24 peaks at 550)
    Cheapo 6 heat pipe(tower) coolermaster heatsink
  2. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    What will you be using the computer for? If I had your set up I would start with the motherboard.
  3. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,837 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    I use it for gaming, BBC2, Dirt 2, Mass Effect 2, ect.
  4. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Upgrade your GPU, go get a AM3+ mobo, then upgrade to Bulldozer when they come out :)
  5. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Depend on your money u spend, upgrade is worth to u specially for games, so how much u spend for upgrade.
  6. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    New GPU would do the most bang for the buck. And PSU just to be sure. I don`t think that you have need to upgrade the cpu just overclockit.
  7. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,837 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    I was thinking of getting a MSI 870-g46 and then a 6 core and a H50 because if I get a AM3+ I can't get a very good processor...
  8. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    :confused: You can get just about every CPU that AMD has now if you go AM3+. They support all the Phenom II's and Athlon II's as well. 2/4/6 cores etc
  9. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,837 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    Yes, but isn't the cheapist one they have about $300? that MSI board is $75
  10. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    No you can get alot under $200 easy and that will be a decent mobo that will have all the bells and whistles that you need for good future proof.

    http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3894#ov

    Under $200^ and if you live in the USA maybe under $150
  11. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    You would not notice any performance gains in games. No game uses 6 cores. If you still want to upgrade wait for the new amd cpu generation if no more it should bring the prices down.
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  12. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,837 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    Hmm, thanks! I still am tempted to upgrade the video card though...
  13. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    This is very true, a higher clocked Quad will do better in most games then a 6 core will.

    Yes you realy need a new GPU, GTX560 TI or a 6870 would be good for your CPU.
  14. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,837 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    Do you think I should keep my 925 and get a MSI 870-g46 and OC it to about 3 GHZ do you think my DDR 667 ram would work in it? It says the lowest is DDR800 could I change the speed? Hmm I would like a 5770 but then I would need to upgrade my PSU too...
  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    IMO you need new mother board and definitely new RAM,
    get a new GPU too.

    CPU is still mroe than enough for games and apps.


    you will probably not need 8GB of RAM, 4 is enough.
  16. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Yea your 925 is still a good CPU, you can overclock it if you like to lets say 3.4GHz with out to much issues.

    Im guessing you don't have alot to spend this is why your looking at the MSI mobo?

    Yes you will need to get DDR800 or above.

    The 5770 is an OK upgrade.

    You realy need to tell us your budget.
  17. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,837 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    It isnt really limited I'm 15 and I live at home so all the money from my job can go to this but i still dont want to spend too much
  18. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Ahh righto, what country do you live in so i can run up a quick estimate and then you can say if thats to much or not :)
  19. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,837 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    Canada, I can go to the US easily though
  20. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  21. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  22. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,837 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
  23. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,837 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
  24. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,055 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Psu and gpu I'd say. The rest is fine.
  25. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    If you want immediate noticeable performance gains, in games go for the GPU and PSU.
    No doubt the HP motherboard will not allow you to run at anything but stock as well.

    If you want to have a go at overclocking, ram, PSU and motherboard come first.
    May notice some improvement in the snappiness of your system but frames will not go up as much as getting a new GPU.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page