1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should i upgrade to a Phanteks PH-TC14PE?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by gasolin, Aug 22, 2014.

  1. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    355 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    I have a Asrock Z77 extreme 6 mb with 2x4gb g skill trident x (slot 2 and 4) a i5 3570k and a thermalright true spirit 140http://www.thermalright.com/html/products/cpu_cooler/true_spirit_140_bw.html

    My cpu is oc'ed to 4.2 ghz offset at -0.55 and get max temperatures of 69 degress with prime 95,ibt, just over 60 degress when i game with my cpu used from 50% to just under 70% (cpu fan set to 1 or 2 and 45 degress, which is quiet).

    Komplett.dk has every week something what they call super weekend and they have this weekend a Phanteks PH-TC14PE with 43- 50% off the price (now same price for all colours. i think 40€ is a good price).

    So i am thinking, if i should buy this cpu cooler?

    I like my thermalright cpu cooler because it's a quiet cooler, the last few days i have tried to oc my cpu to se if it's stable beyond 4.2 ghz and to se how much faster my pc would run (most people can get a i5 3570k to 4.5ghz some even have much lover temps then i have at 4.2ghz), i feel my temps goes up a bit to much, in the 80's, i think that's a bit to much, some on the internet say not more then 67.4 degress some say under 70/75 degress and theres people who say 105 degress is it's max limited before it throttles/shut's down

    Here you can se hear how loud those 2 cpu coolers are (mabye the new phantek fans are a bit more quiet)

    http://www.hardwaremax.net/reviews/kuehler/488-test-thermalright-archon-sb-e.html?start=6

    They both are quiet at 700 rpm but at 12 volt the phanteks is about 10 db louder.


    At 700rpm the phanteks is as cool as the thermalright is at 12 volt/1200 rpm

    http://www.hardwaremax.net/reviews/kuehler/488-test-thermalright-archon-sb-e.html?showall=&start=7


    My thermalright is much more quiet in full load then the phantek cooler, in quiet mode they are both very quiet and phanteks are surpose to always be alot cooler then my thermalright, 6 and 7 c in quiet (700 rpm) and full power (1200rpm). Cpu fan in bios is set as fare as i remember to 45c, don't know if that would make a difference on the sound level and temps of the 2 coolers in everyday use (non gaming).



    My questions are:

    What is the temperature limited of my i5 3570k, what temperatur should i keep it under?

    Is it worth buying Phanteks PH-TC14PE, i won't be using it at high rpms(noise) but my thermalright cooler does get up til 1200 rpm (max rpm) doing games and only slow goes down to about 800rpm
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2014
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,220 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,390
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    You'll see a bigger difference delidding your chip than changing coolers.
     
  3. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    346 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    First temp has a big factor on what voltage you can run -055 doesn't tell us voltage your running @4.2 but anyway i would say just keep what you have unless you plan to try max OC .
    If you look at mid range to top end coolers , even AIO there only going to be maybe 5-8deg max lower , at least with the i5/i7 77TDP cpu's .
    Now if it was a E CPU with 125TDP then I could see it might be worth it as many mid range coolers can't keep up when OC or they will run 85+ under load .
     
  4. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    355 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Offset makes vcore lower or higher then stock aut voltage, according to what offset is set to (0.050).

    My cpu is atm +0.050volt over stock aut voltage when my cpu is at 4.4ghz (cpu-z say 4398.97mhz because multiplier isn't 100 it's 99.98)that's is 1.144-1.216 volt. llc is 5 or 4 i get 81 degress running ibt at very high,max (passed) havn't tried prime 95 yet, but i am gonna try it to se temps, very often i run prime95 and it's stable, but if i use ibt i quickly will found if my cpu i stable using max stress test
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2014
  5. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    346 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    ok, My point is there is no "stock" auto value , even when bios is all auto except multipier . each cpu can have a different VID .

    Anyway so your load voltage under IBT is 1.216 @81c , that is not bad ,your not going to see anywhere near that in normal app's .
    So if you got larger HS temps might go down 5c or so , depending how your cooler stand to the PH-TC14PE .

    PS: it normal for bus to read 99.98 that is just what CPU-Z says with CPU spectrum disable in bios .
     
  6. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    355 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    No my vcore is actually 1.144 - 1.168 using ibt (max i have seen is 1.216)and temps is no more then 81 when cpu fan runs at max rpm
     
  7. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    346 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    ok, and this is 4.4ghz ?

    Anyway to answer your org post, if you run 4.5+ even with a AIO water cooler your most likely going to see 80+ temps .
    I don't see anyone getting 70's , at least that not avg, it would need real good CPU (low voltage ).

    I would just leave it be , 80c in prime95 is like 70c in real apps .

    FWIW I run 4.3 @1.136 , prime95 is like 66-68c and in BF4 its around 59-60c .
    That is with 212evo , I could go faster but like to keep voltage low . even if I had better cooler I would keep or go for sweat point.

    Look here , here 120mm model of your HS

    http://www.hardocp.com/article/2013...md_intel_cpu_air_cooler_review/3#.U_i-gYZOio8

    Your 140mm would be closer to the NH-U14S
    here old comparison with 120 and 140mm

    http://www.hardocp.com/article/2011...e_spirit_cpu_air_cooler_review/4#.U_i_n4b51Q8
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2014
  8. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    355 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    yes it's at 4.4 ghz

    Look at these temps 4.6 ghz and under 1.2 vcore, only 2-3 degress hotter then mine is at 1.144-1.168 volt and 4.2ghz other picture is 4.5ghz at 1.344volt and temps are note more then 80 degress. I get 81 degress at 4.4 ghz and 1.144-1.168 volt max it showed (no test) is 1.216volt, dont know how they get these temps if they havn't delided there cpu and use only high performance air coolers like the best coolers from thermalright,
    noctua,phantek

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1251959/lightbox/post/17148614/id/858947

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1251959/lightbox/post/17155922/id/860207

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1251959/i5-3570k-4-5ghz-oc

    Both are about the same in temps and noise when the thermalright is at max rpms and phanteks is at low rpm,the phanteks just keeps going beyong the cooling capacity of my thermalright, where the thermalright has to run much faster then it's limited of 1200 rpm if it had to keep up with the phantek at max rpm, 1300 rpm

    I am a bit surpriced that the phantek with 2 fan's are not that noisy compared to the results from tweaktown http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/4453/phanteks_ph_tc14pe_cpu_cooler_review/index9.html

    If i could have max 70 degress at 4.4ghz and 4.5ghz under 75 degresse i would be happy (don't think 4.5ghz at max 70 degress is possible if i wan't it to be silent).

    Second fan on my therrmalright would that give me more the a 2-3 lower temps?

    Does 2 towers make a huge differnce with 2 fans compared to 1 tower?
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2014
  9. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    346 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    first one is old prime95, no AVX . but every chip is different even on same voltage . same thing on second link, depending on prime95 version you get different temps .
    what version of prime95 are you using .

    Single towers "generally" only drop a deg or two adding second fan , dual towers will have advantage there .

    If I use for example LinX 0.6.4 I get peaks of max temp of 70c , but if I look at graph it looks less than prime95 which shows max 66c (version 27.9 ) .
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2014
  10. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    355 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    v28.5 build 2

    I have bought the cooler, if i would like to return it (45 days) and get my money back i can do it with no extra charge except if it gets damaged on the way back to komplett.dk.

    Another option is to buy a second fan so i have 2 x thermalright i think it's ty 140 fans and use them on the phantek cooler they are really quiet and sell the phantek fans they almost cost as much as the whole cpu cooler does with the discount
     
  11. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    346 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    FWIW , prime95 28.5 takes longer on each FFT ,so compared to version 27.9 it like few c more for me .
    I like 27.9 for IB .
     
  12. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    355 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Both fans wont't start using the y splitter (asrock Z77 extreme 6) any one got an idea why?

    Not enough power to get both to start (1 fan to the 3 pin cpu header works)
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2014
  13. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    346 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    That sounds weird, do you have 2 cpu headers , many have 2 seperate fan headers .

    Also on Asus you need PWM fan or it will just go 100% ,

    Your MB has 2 CPU fan headers to right top of socket .
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2014
  14. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    355 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    yes 1x3pins and 1x4pins
     
  15. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,093 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,021
    Could always throw a more powerful fan or two on the True Spirit.
    Like a San Ace 109R1212H1011 or a Delta AFB1212VHE
    If you are keeping the Phanteks the 140mm fans that come with it are supposed to be some of the best 140mm fans that you can buy.
     
  16. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    346 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    so what happens when you plug each fan in each header .
    you know you can plug a 3 fan plug into a 4 pin header .
     
  17. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    355 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Both fans spin/run starts....... that's why i think the 3 pin cpu fan header (as well as the 4 pin cpu fan header) can't handle 2 fans, to low voltage so the fans won't start.

    The fan connected to the 4 pin header is always, even with the low noise 900 rpm adapter, spinning at max rpm, about 1200 rpm (theres no setting in the bios that will make 2 cpu fans connnected to at cpu fan header,to run at different speeds)
     
  18. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    355 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    The phantek starts where my thermalright reach it's cooling limited.

    Can't make to fan's connected to the cpu fan header spin at the samme time and at low rpm, don't want noisy cpu cooler
     
  19. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    346 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Thta is one bad thing with 3 pin fans for HS, many MB only support 4 pin PWM
     
  20. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,220 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,390
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    That is why you get a y cable adapter to connect multiple fans to one connector. Though its not recommended depending on how much power each fan pulls. Most fan headers can only handle about 18-20w, if that.
     
  21. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    355 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    What do i do?

    1 fan to each cpu fan header i have 1 fan that always spin at max rpm, the phantake is more then 5 degress cooler with 1 fan at 750 rpm then my thermaright is at 800 rpm with 1 fan (i don't want to imagine how cool my cpu would be at 4.2ghz that i have it oc'ed to when i game and both fans run at max rpm)
     
  22. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,220 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,390
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Screw both. Get an AIO. IMO I have no interest running traditional tower coolers anymore.
     
  23. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    355 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    To noisy (fans) have had a Corsair H100I and the pump wasn't silent either
     
  24. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,220 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,390
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Well the H100i isn't really a quiet AIO.
     
  25. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    355 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    i got a good deal on the phanteks cooler just want it to work at low rpm as well as high rpm, just not at the same time
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page