1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should I watercool my HD6850?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by SirKeldon, Jan 8, 2013.

1. SirKeldon

SirKeldon New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hi all,

I've been thinking these last days about watercooling my GPU, an ASUS EAH6850 DirectCU that i purchased one year ago, the stock cooler is great and for the most of games it runs at 50-60ºC top ... but when running Diablo III or CS:GO on "very high" settings @ 1920x1080 for example, is hitting 70-75ºC (on summer hit 78ºC) and as I'm planning to run more "exigent" games in the future such as BF3 or Assassin's Creed III, i'm in doubt if I should go watercooling this card or it isn't worth due to it's "limited" performance. Only thing i'll need is the block, i found an affordable one at 60 EUR (sending + taxes inc.)

I've been watercooling my CPU for more than 3 years but never did it with GPU, I just wanted to know your experience watercooling your own and the impact on temperatures ... and also when replacement time arrives, do you always go next with a new GFX + block or you wait to purchase a new waterblock when you see the temps of the new card at gaming? Any help with the decision will be appreciated

Thanks in advance :toast:

2. MxPhenom 216

MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

Thanks Received:
    SirKeldon says thanks.
  3. McSteel

McSteel

Thanks Received:
    While watercooling would bring the temps down, 75°C is actually fine. Up to 80°C is acceptable, unless it's 24/7, and since yours is a gaming setup, I doubt you're such a dedicated player. :p

The DirectCU is a pretty good cooling solution, and going for watercooling, you'd be better served by a reference design - there are more options available for such cards.