1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should we have a seperate "physx" section in our system specs?

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by hat, Sep 24, 2008.

?

Physx specs?

  1. sounds good

    12 vote(s)
    30.8%
  2. probably a waste of W1zzard's time and effort

    27 vote(s)
    69.2%
  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Now that a lot of us (even me, heh) are using physx technology, I thought it would be cool if we had a seperate space for physx in our system specs. For example look at my "video card" specs. I have both an 8600gts and an 8500gt listed, with the 8500gt being used for physx of course. I just think it would be cool if we had a spot where we could put our physx info. Thoughts?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Probably take a minute to add it, I think it would be kinda nice.
     
  3. iStink

    iStink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    They should make it so if you have physx, you click yes, then specify if it's by a second card or built into your video card, if it's second card you type it in.
     
  4. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    I think it would probably be fine just to put in your physx card in the same spot where you put your graphics card information.
     
  5. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,805 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,675
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    +1

    I don't really think PhysX is big enough to warrant extra specs...if you really need the extra space...you could probably also fit more info in the Bench Scores/Extra Info area.

    :toast:
     
  6. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    +1+1 to magibeg and Kursah. However, if W1zz wants to put it in, I wont complain.
     
  7. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,075 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Too few people use it.
     
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Like
    Video card: HD 4870X2 QuadFire
    PhysX Card: 8600GTS
    I think that would be cool :)
     
  9. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    I still don't understand why people won't just buy the Ageia card. It will work with ATi cards. Though, I love the challenge of trying to make it work. I just wish I had an 8xxx series card right now :nutkick:. Oh my god... the though has given me a joygasm.
     
  10. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    It's overpriced and doesn't have the power of even a x1300.....

    So namely why buy an Ageia when you can buy a 8800gs/gt or heck even for around the same price and get MASSIVELY more power.
     
  11. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I don't think it's necessary as it can be put in with the VC, but if a lot of people want it I have no qualms about it.
     
  12. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    That is true, but it's power doesn't need to surpass that level... yet. That card can render

    Sphere collision tests: 530 million per second
    Convex collision tests: 530,000 per second

    It is also mostly compatible, so there is no tinkering to see if it will work with this card or not. I do agree, though, that the card is way too expensive. If it weren't for the price, I would get me one. The power of an 8xxx series over this card is impressive, but it is ultimately based on if you can get it up running. Also, as you know, it's a dedicated PPU, so it shouldn't be compared to a GPU, even though it practically is one.
     
  13. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    From everything I have seen so far, its not too hard to get them up and running...
    But it is an easy way around it for the less technically or reading inclined :)
     
  14. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,673 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,505
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Agreed, but the point is, if your an NVidia card owner (8 series +), today you dont even need any 2nd card providing your main card is pretty powerful, yesterday (so to speak) you did so thats gotta be good.

    In GRAW2 I had a 6FPS difference (according to FRAPS) at 19xx between using just a heavily overclocked GTX260 and using the 260 with stock 8800GT, now I am thinking, considering the power draw etc, is it really worth it. Then....if you have a mid to low main card, why not just buy a 2nd and go SLi rather than buy a slightly cheaper 2nd and use it only for 5 games?....just my thoughts! :)
     
  15. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    @Tatty:

    See, that makes sense. If you have it, might as well use it right :)

    @niko084:

    Say that to the Vista users :banghead:

    All in all,(At the moment) I believe the Ageia card would be best (except for the price). The only thing is with the disappearance of the PCI bus it might become crapware too quickly.
     
  16. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Yeah, I know under Vista is a mess, that's what windows 7 is for :)

    Pre-Alpha FTW. :D
     
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,216 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,570
    Location:
    Florida
    becauser your omfg awsome 8800 will pull the same numbers as my agea card doesnt that make you sad :(
     
  18. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    It's physx, you don't buy one for a few fps increase, you buy them for the IQ....
     
  19. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,216 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,570
    Location:
    Florida
    sorry that came off kinda harsh didnt mean to be an ass but its true in the future the graphics cards can do more but as of right now spending $200 on a card ont get you a shred more performance physx cards just arent stressed enough
     
  20. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    If I had a physx card I would have voted yes, but I don't so... lol

    Hardly any games use Physix, the only 1 I can think of is UT3, so I think it's a bit too obscure to include in specs IMO.
     
  21. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    No stress :)

    But ya you are right, the performance difference is completely nill, but the IQ increase you get from an 8800 is far better than that of a standard physx correct?

    Lots do, but not enough.
     
  22. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,216 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,570
    Location:
    Florida

    if you mean IQ as in what it does in a game than ya i mean if you run sli which is the only way i can see it having a benefit and you use one of the 2 cards for physx than absolutely your game will do better because of the cards IQ ability but in situation when you are not running sli say a 9600 and a 8400 were the 8400 does nothing but physx and contributes nothing to the game other than that i don't see it doing much.
     
  23. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    Why not? Is going to get bigger and bigger anyway.
     
  24. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,216 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,570
    Location:
    Florida
    what?
     
  25. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    That's what I mean, an 8400 is more powerful, we know this much, so it should be able to do more physx processing in the same time, increasing your IQ..

    Obviously Crossfire or SLI would be the best setup...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page