1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Show me your external H20 setup!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by kyle2020, Jul 30, 2009.

  1. kyle2020 Guest

    Im in need of some inspiration and ideas as I have a Thermochill PA120.3 coming soon, and im going external.

    So, post pictures if you have any / links to worklogs please! Thanks!

    *edit*

    Ill also include a ghetto paint drawing of what I have in mind :)
     
  2. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i use 2 hwlabs 560gtx rads(140x4 each)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  3. kyle2020 Guest

    That looks great, its such a good thing to be able to mount under desks etc. Takes all the mess away. Nice job.
     
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i'll help you keep this alive....

    here's my loop dismantled...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  5. kyle2020 Guest

    Thanks fits - do I spy some copper piping used there?

    Fits cannot be the only one using an external loop - please post if you do.
     
  6. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    I'll get some pictures up soon of my setup in the Lian Li.

    Only the CPU is under water now as the XFX cards I have are in for RMA and my HIS is the stand in replacement for now so its got stock air.
     
  7. kyle2020 Guest

    Well, my PA120.3 arrived today and my god. its fucking huge.
     
  8. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Not exactly a fully "external" loop as the pump is inside, nor a very good picture but you get the idea.

    [​IMG]


    More/better on request. :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2009
  9. kyle2020 Guest

    consider this a request :)
     
  10. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Glad you got the rad ok :)

    And it is huge,enjoy finding somewere to put it. :p
     
  11. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Kyle, I posted these the other day in the YourPCATM thread. Love the rad box! :D

    [​IMG]
    Bout time for some spring cleaning though. And some new fans!

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    my rad is mounted to the back of the case, does that qualify for this thread?
     
  13. kyle2020 Guest

    @ Tigger: It has some meat to it. Its almost as long as my Fortress :eek:

    @ mlee: Id love to do something similar however its a triple rad and I think it would look strange with the rad poking over the top - it suits CP's system but im unsure.

    @ CP: Yes pl0x :D
     
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    ok, so here it is :D


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  15. kyle2020 Guest

    I have the disadvantage of my cases tube holes being above the fan or else id do what CP's done :(
     
  16. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    yes, I love how they are placed perfectly!
     
  17. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    My Lian Li's case holes are too small for my tube. :roll:


    I'll edit this later with pictures.
     
  18. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    I already showed you the custom top for this Lian Li so you will be able to see how it all fits together.

    Swiftech (Laing) MCP-355 + XSPC Restop:
    [​IMG]

    Koolance CPU-355 and a sexy powder coated fan guard (thanks to CD!):
    [​IMG]


    Need more, ask. :)
     
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    good going acid :D like the setup
     
  20. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    I made my rig look so messy when I have to remove the 4870's for the RMA...just wasn't in the mood to spend another 2 hours to make it perfect to have to rip it apart again anyway.
     
  21. kyle2020 Guest

    Alright, so im gathering ideas and so far I have moved some things around on my top shelf to make room for the Thermochill, and tbh I think it would make a nice centerpiece :D

    Here it is:

    [​IMG]

    Heres my train of thought - place my rad on one of those TJ-07 stands on that shelf in that position, then run the tubes down where you can see the cables and then through the back of my case - then it will be hooked up to an Apogee Drive 350 (for cost / space saving). I may incoorporate one of those EK multioption reservoirs near the radiator on display as sort of a 'look at me' piece with some acid green fluid.

    All in the works mind.

    Criticism / suggestions / more pictures hugely appreciated fellas :toast:
     
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    You'll lose a lot of flow doing that. That's a lot of head for a stock 350 to push against.

    I had a similar setup with my mcr-320, where the tubing was about the same length, but it was not pushing that far up hill, and I lost a good bit of performance with the stock 350.
     
  23. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Mounted on top is the best way in my view...good flow and it looks very clean when you can enter the top of the case with the tubing.

    I don't much like rads mounted on the back, they block some stuff and make it more fiddly to plug stuff in...plus, I'd sooner have the case a little taller than longer.
     
  24. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    You can mod the 350 to a 355 simply.
    [​IMG]

    I did mine,which was a apogee drive,and its been fine for over a year.
     
  25. kyle2020 Guest

    I assume I can modify it in this way, re assemble it and it will be fine?

    Anyone else think that scope of climb will be too much for the pump to handle?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page