1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Show off your WCG farm

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by [Ion], Dec 5, 2009.

  1. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,946 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yeah, it's a Win7 machine. We originally tried 8 on it but QuickBooks Pro 2012 was incompatible to say the least. Intuit sucks. :roll:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,787 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,399
    Location:
    Mexico
    Took the steps to give my crunchers a more permanent installation:

    [​IMG]

    :toast:
     
    15th Warlock, [Ion], jgunning and 6 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,769 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    I want to do something like that one day. I just need a spot to put it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,787 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,399
    Location:
    Mexico
    I was looking for something smaller and in fact I found the perfect shelf for this...but it costs x5 than the cheapo walmart one I got at the end.

    I had to cut down the tubes, it would be about 60cms higher if I didn't. It's surprisingly sturdy once loaded.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Clever! I had a wood shelf I used for three of mine--then they took up less space and all got fresh air from the window :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,946 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Those plastic tube shelves really aren't bad. My parents have used them in their offices for well over a decade (not for putting computers on, of course).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,787 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,399
    Location:
    Mexico
    Latests addition: 1055t + GA-880GM-USB3. This board is godly, 250 FSB (3.5Ghz) :eek:

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    That's a real fleet you're starting to have there! :toast:

    Quite a lot of power on one shelf! :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,420 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,262
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    So, after finally getting a connection in my storage room, my [almost] dedicated cruncher got a case today and moved to a new home!
    'tis an old case. Very old. To give a better idea - it's back from the turn of the century, it still has one of those ancient Turbo leds [but no Turbo button LOL] and the computer which was housed in it before I ripped it out today was using an S3 graphics cards with ZOMD! 3D acceleration. :laugh:
    I know, I know - I'm cheap. I know that without being told. :ohwell:

    That's how it looked after I jammed it into the case:
    [​IMG]


    That's how the case looks from the front:
    [​IMG]

    Right now, it lives like this. Yes, that's mold in the corner. And yes, that's a two-ethernet-cables-in-one hax.
    There's an opening to a ventilation shaft right behind it. The PSU is directed to blow straight into it. We made a paper tube from a shoe box direct that hot air directly into the opening. We are going to improve the cooling tomorrow, as it's running a bit hot - 48°C there vs. 40°C when it was completely "naked" on my shelf w/ fans positioned around.
    [​IMG]
     
    15th Warlock, Daimus, james888 and 6 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Creative! It seems that 48c isn't really that hot--but I suppose it is an AMD CPU. This is the FX8120, right?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,420 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,262
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    Yes, it's a FX-8120.
    I ripped the front panel off, so now the fan in the front (see the 1st photo) is no longer blocked. With that, I'm down to 44°C :)

    P.S. That computer was generating A LOT of EMI/RFI. Not that it's out of my room, I can again enjoy clean sound on my radio YAY! :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Definitely a resourceful solution! And yes, computers do put off a good deal of EM radiation--hence why cases are useful ;)

    I'm surprised that you've managed to get an OC on a 125w CPU on the stock cooler--not bad!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,769 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    It must be cold down there. I had a friend who had trouble cooling his 2600k at stock with a hyper 212 evo. The computer was in an old case like that. He eventually cut a 120mm hole in the bottom front and put a fan there. Dropped his temps to what one of us would consider normal.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,420 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,262
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    Up there. :laugh: I live on the 5th floor [which is also the top floor]

    Did some more minor[1] cooling tweaks after my previous post in this thread and it's down to a stable 42°C :) There is still a lot of room for improvement. Especially since I've got virtually unlimited noise budget there AND a sweet-ass ventilation shaft at my disposal :toast:

    I should note that despite the chip is overclocked, it is undervoltaged quite a bit. On this voltage, I should be able to get at the very least 100MHz more. But I am too lazy to fetch a graphics card for it again to fiddle with the BIOS. Too bad I can't tweak BIOS setting remotely :(

    [1] cooling tweaks I call "minor" are the ones that can be readily done without bringing the system down.
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,769 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    Oops. I somehow got the idea that was a storage room/basement something or another.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Yes, that does help. I suppose then you can "afford" to put a 8,000 RPM fan on it. I assume you're still liable for power, even in the storage room?

    And you run that system without even a video card in it??
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,420 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,262
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    1. Don't have a spare PCI-E card
    2. extra power draw and heat
    3. nothing to connect it to
    4. absolutely no use for it other than fiddling with the BIOS
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Interesting. I've usually found that with no GPU, many systems refuse to POST.

    If you decide you want one, I can help work out something. I have plenty of GPUs floating around (seven G92 cards, a few GT520s, etc)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,420 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,262
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    I set it to halt on "no errors" in the BIOS. Otherwise yes - it would halt on POST. (In all the BIOSes I've seen, the default is to ignore lack of a keyboard but halt on all other errors.)

    That would be swell, but I'll have to turn this offer down.
    Here we have a PCI-E card shortage so bad, that if I'd get another one it'd be a [very short] matter of time 'til my pops would borrow it for some much more important use than to sit in that box for the sake of accessing BIOS. Which would leave me in the same situation again. :ohwell:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,303 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,852
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    by "Here", do you mean within your household? Or, are talking about Lithuania?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,420 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,262
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    Yeah, I should have been more clear.
    Household. Though, "household" extends quite a lot outside the actual household in this case.
     
    Chevalr1c, Norton and Arjai say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,303 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,852
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Whew! I was dreaming up some sort of global initiative to get Lithuania gaming with a GPU drive funded by the Canadian and Pakistani governments.


    Thank God I don't have to do that! :toast:
     
    Vinska says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,420 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,262
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    You gave me a Good Laugh™, Sir! :laugh:
    I will make sure this gets incorporated into some larger comedy piece. I mean, this is pure comedy Gold! :roll:

    Cheers, mate! :toast:
     
    Arjai says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    A terrible picture, but this is what I call my "OEM Farm":
    [​IMG]
    On the left and right are HP DC6200s, each with 2 or 4GB DDR3 RAM and an i3 2100 running W7 Pro. On top of the monitor is another i3-2100 HP DC6200. Behind the monitor is a fourth i3 2100 and a Core 2 Quad-based Xeon X3330 (4 cores, 2.66GHz)

    I have another i3 to get running when I have the time. These systems come and go on a regular basis, as they constitute the bulk of my "sales systems" but in the mean time I put them to work.
     
    Chevalr1c, laptop-hpc, Vinska and 2 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,131 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,799
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    My updated farm:

    Blue one is the 1090T rig and Black one on the floor is the 1055t Linux rig:

    [​IMG]

    Black one on right is Selene (Fx 8350) blue on the left is an empty case for now but no long. I have the parts I replaced from Selene that need a new home. :toast:

    [​IMG]

    970BE rig:

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page