1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Shut off valves for watercooling loop?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by shevanel, Oct 3, 2009.

  1. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I'm curious about placing a couple valves on my loop before I install it in a new case (maybe a CM haf 932)

    I was thinking since I have to detach hoses from the radiator to feed though the factory in/out ports coolermaster includes on their cases that I should add some type of shut off valves to be put on the line so if I ever have to uninstall the loop it would make it much easier on me than having to have gravity and a 7 foot man assist me.

    I would prefer something small and not so bulky.


    Can someone provide some of the best suggestions on hardware to use or where to look?

    thanks :toast:
     
  2. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    How about quick disconnects ?
     
  3. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    i second quick connects, they're convienent and easy to find, valves seem a bit to messy, and if not messy, perhaps a bit to bulky, i have 2 on my pup and 2 on the rad so i can pull whatever parts off i need to, also gives me flexiblity for additions later on.
     
  4. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I just want to make it to where I don't have to get water everywhere or drain the loop each time I need to swap something out or change anything, ya know?

    To have it setup to where things can be taken/added wheneve rI want and without making a mess or draining would be awesome.

    Does a quick disconnect stop water flow?
     
  5. BazookaJoe

    BazookaJoe

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    869 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    235
    Yes they do - similar to how an outboard boat motors extra "carry - on" fuel tank connects to the motor on smaller boats.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    is this what i need?

    i want to put in on the end of about a 4-6" hose coming from the radiator into the case.. then while the QD is inside the case, connect it to the loop.
     
  7. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    you also need the male side
     
  8. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    ahh okay I understand now. One for each side of the disconected tubing? pricey but worth it in the long run i suppose
     
  9. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    yup
     
  10. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    ty for the hlp
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page