1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Shuttle Updates X27 Barebone with Dual-Core Atom 330

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 3, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,573
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Barebone and nettop specialist Shuttle, has introduced a new version of the X27 nettop barebone, featuring dual-core Intel Atom 330 processor, running at 1.60 GHz. The X27D measures 250 (L) x 185 (W) x 70 (H) mm, and houses an Intel 945GC-based ITX motherboard featuring Intel GMA 950 graphics.

    The motherboard feautures one DDR2 memory slot that has to be populated with a DDR2-533/667 MHz memory module, with up to 2 GB in capacity. It offers an IDE connector and two SATA II ports for connecting hard drives. Peripheral options include DVI and D-Sub connectors for video output, six-channel audio, and gigabit ethernet. The company marks this product as Windows Vista ready. It has started selling in Europe for €215.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
    lemonadesoda says thanks.
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Why is intel going minmalist on the atom boards? need onboard wifi ftw
  3. insider Guest

    The Atom board with the dual core chip costs only £65, a cheap mini mATX case with PSU included only costs £30, what a rip off.
  4. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
  5. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    or for the price you can buy a mac mini and install windows on it?
  6. Swansen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    182 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    I always wonder why these little boxes don't have a TV out on them or something, or a HDMI out.
  7. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    I think you'll find a mac mini a little more expensive.
  8. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    +1

    I'd love a /really really/ tiny box for media.
    but then, this is the sort of thing I could use just as well for a download box if it had onboard wifi :(
  9. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,369 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    may be a dumb question but what use does it have? i mean are the dvd drive n hard drives built in? it dont look big enough? it aint got much for gaming. Is the proccessor any fast?
  10. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Exavier says thanks.
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,944 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,365
    DVI is HDMI compatible, except for the audio (ATI cards are the exception)

    Atom CPU's arent powerful enough for HD media, so its hardly worth giving them the outputs for them to just fail when people try and use them as media PC's.
  12. insider Guest

    An updated IGP can provide the required hardware HD decoding assist so 1080P can work pretty well even for low performance CPU but that current out of date Intel chipset sucks.
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,944 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,365
    intels highest chip, the GMA X3100 (its in my lan rig on its rare G35 board) still sucks terribly for HD video. The only way to get a HD media PC without a decoder video card, is a CPU that averages around 1 minute in superpi 1m - and the atoms average around 1m 30s
  14. insider Guest

    Dang didn't know Intel IGP's sucks so much (never mind gaming) even with HD decoding lol, any low end budget third party IGP could do it but knowing Intel they probably would rather ship those boards with their own suckass mobo IGP chips.
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,944 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,365
    Intel chipset = intel GPU.

    ell, Nvidia chipset = Nv GPU, and same with ATI i guess.
    the problem is that video card acceleration is dodgy to get working, so you're better off with a powerful enough CPU... a 2.4GHz P4 can do it, so its not like you need a monster. its just that atom sucks.
  16. insider Guest

    Wasn't there reports Intel were going with a third party mobile chip (SIS?) for HD decoding for their next power efficient mobile platform?

    Hardware HD decoding actually works pretty well with any current low end ATI graphics, you could downclock the CPU right down and it'll still play 1080P content without a single frame dropped, shame they don't still have a power efficient Atom killer on the market yet.
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,944 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,365
    hardware decoding only works on the actual disks (blu ray/HD-DVD) when it comes to files (H264/x264) its got about a 20% success rate, and even then its very... poor. theres jittering, seeking is slow, and so on.

    Trust me, i've been working on it for months now and its very difficult to get hardware acceleration working. (Nvidia and ATI)
  18. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
  19. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    The zotac is a lovely little board. If you find a supplier (at reasonable/fair pricing) in UK/Europe, then let us all know. Seems like it's not available here (or not yet!).
  20. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Just some quick feedback on this product, since I bought one.

    1./ Very neat. Looks nice. Room for only ONE 2.5" drive and ONE slim CD drive and ONE stick of DDR2 RAM. No room for anything else.

    2./ The mainboard was a location and tape-out for a PCI slot, however NOT PCI slot was soldered on. Shame, since there ARE some ultralowprofile cards out there, AND because if you decide to move the mainboard to a bigger case, it is handicapped without any slots.

    3./ It is quiet but not silent. It sounds similar to a laptop with the fan at full blast. I have certainly built more silent systems that this using Pentium M.

    4./ It actually gets quite hot. But it is the chipset not the CPU that is getting hot.

    5./ The performance of the machine is excellent. It is better than expected; beating most other mini-ITX format boards. Only a specialist Core 2 or high Clocked Pentium M would be faster. But then it would be more power and more heat.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page