1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SilverStone Launches SST Clear CMOS Button for Everyone

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Oct 15, 2008.

  1. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i'd easily find it if you gave me another angle.. its almost 1/2 of the bios battery visible, and with another angle, i could find that jumper, which is on top of the battery, and a little to the right.
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    About jumper placement, my ECS KA3-MVP had terrible jumper placement. If I had my audio card installed, I had to use a pair of needle nosed pliers to get to it. Wish I would've thought of this back then.
  3. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    wow, this makes my biostar feel very good :D
  4. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    291
    this deserves an award, its about time you can buy these as i have broke 2 i made.

    :toast:
  5. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    Very good idea! I more than likely will be investing in one of those. :)
  6. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,466 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Depends on where the jumper is at and how much crap is in the way. Id rather flip a switch on the back of my computer than dig inside my case 300+ times while going OC crazy.
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,120 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,457
    Pity so many boards these days have a simple 2 pin CMOS clear....

    oh well, a handy tool nonetheless :)
  8. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    720 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Scrizz says thanks.
  9. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Someone shouldve thought about this several years ago..
  10. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    It works in those too. Center pin is always connected it just switches the side one. So the connected side is hanging in the air while the other 2 are connected to the clear CMOS.

    edit: doh, it's already designed for 2 pin use too :D Might just be that you have to connect the white and yellow wires and not the red/white part if you want the normal to be normal and not clear position. (or just change the wire positions, very easy)
    [​IMG]

    In fact this would be more useful to those 2pin mobos like mine, as there is no jumper to begin with and shorting it with something metal is ghetto :) Although I didn't have any use for clearing CMOS is my previous motherboard and this one knows how to start after unsuccessful OC too. And for bios update load optimized defaults works fine.
  11. ArkanHell New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    96 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Paraguay
    OMG! I can belive howsimple is this artifact, the ugly Clear C-MOS had been there like forever, why no boy ever came with this idea!

    I want one, and stop droping the jumper when y try to put it back so i wont be shacking my case upside down to bring it down.
  12. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Assuming the other method is having more intake or equal amounts of both, you are wrong.
    There is no pro to having more air coming into the case, heating up and having no place to go. There is also no pro to having just as much air coming into the case as getting out, because cold air will get sucked into the case from any tiny spec of a hole.
    Thus, the only method worthy is to have more exhaust than intake. Hopefully now you understand ;)
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,120 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,457
    That method causes excessive dust build up, and ruins airFLOW.

    A properly setup case with airflow, does not suffer dust problems and gets the air in and out, passing over the needed areas and leaving.

    Your method could well suck air in from the sides, ruin the flow and have it totally bypass hot components in the case.
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    lol. I find it amusing that you think you have the answer to this locked up. Then tell me, why, in my Stacker 830, did having more intake air coming in than leaving, did I get better temps on my chipsets and gfx cards (to the order of 2-3C under load), all at the same ambient temperature?

    All those little holes that can let air enter in a negative pressure case, can also let air exit in a positive pressure case. ;)

    Using negative pressure is by no means the best for everyone in all situations. Both have pros and cons, and both methods vary depending upon your case setup. There have been many threads about this around here comparing both methods. Neither is better in all situations.

    Seriously, start doing research on things before you come into threads trying to state claims as fact.
  15. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i beg to differ. you get bad airflow because the exhaust fans have to create a crappy vaccumm, and the fans in the back of your case have to suck in air from the front of your case.. this causes dust buildup and horrible horrible airflow. its better to have a balanced flow, where the case is plentiful of air from the intake fans, which throw cool air on the hot components, and the exhaust fans blow out the hot air. if you must pick one, pick intake, because atleast you'll have cool air thats filling the case and cooling the components, the hot air will escape through the vents automatically.
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,211 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    probably fabricate one for way less.
  17. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    just to put my 2p, into the exhaust/intake discussion. On my last case, I had 2x120mm intakes and 1x120mm exhaust. I got loads of dust was damn annoying. On this case, I have 2x120mm intake on 6v, and one 140mm intake on 12v, then 2x140mm exhausts on 12v, and a 120mm exhaust on 12v. (from what I worked out, I have more air pulling out than in), and I get virtually no dust now! :D
    I think, case design, fan design, fan location, hardware location plays an important role, but probably the best method is to experiment, and see whats best for you.
    Oh yeah, and with my gfx card in my new case and fan setup, gave me a 5-10*C drop in GPU temps :rockout:
  18. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    it is cool , but almost new mobo's now have reset switch
  19. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Just the top of the spec ones. Not in any mainstream or cheap boards.
  20. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,466 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    And its still on the motherboard where you have to take the side panel off anyway. This switch makes it so that you dont have to do that.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page