1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sim City 4/Rome: Total War FPS Spikes

Discussion in 'Games' started by MTL, Sep 10, 2006.

  1. MTL New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    132 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am having this problem with both Rome: Total War and Simcity 4.

    The problem I am having is that the frames per second in the game spike every 1/2 second so the traffic in Simcity 4 or the units in Rome jumps forward and the scrolling goes absolutely nuts. The thing I noticed is that when I take a video of it with FRAPS, since the speed is capped at 30fps this doesn't happen. I get spikes up to 90fps which is usually great (in most games) but not here. Whenever the fps spikes, the units / game time jumps ahead.

    I took a video of it with my digicam:

    http://video.google.ca/videoplay?docid=5361157914833039330

    Can anyone tell me what the heck is happening????
     
  2. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    If this is a game problem post it under Games...or you can't differentiate software and hardware...?
     
  3. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    it isn't a game problem i think, i have both and none of them happen that, check if v-sinc is enabled, it has caused me problems n the past
     
  4. MTL New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    132 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My v-sync is enabled and fixed at 75hz.
     
  5. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,769 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,557
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Try disabling it, that may well do the trick.
     
  6. Slater Guest

    Dude, next time make a better thread title.

    read the thread title guidelines
     
  7. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
  8. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I changed the title a little bit, if it's ok w/ you Thermo. You can change it back if you want, if you don't feel it's right.
     
  9. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Fine with me ;) .
     
  10. MTL New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    132 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I disabled V-Sync but it didn't help. I downloaded the NGO Drivers and that didn't help either.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page