1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Simple Quick Question

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by apheX?, Jan 21, 2009.

  1. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    Jump Start PSU / Fan Controller

    Hey,

    Am i able to plug my fans and fan controller into my power supply to test/fiddle with them? So basically can i turn my psu on with only 2 fans and a fan controller on without anything else attached?

    Cheers:eek:
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2009
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    You can, but its best to have a little more than that. Say couple of dvd/dvd drives, as many fans as poss,etc.

    Then google:

    Jump start PSU.

    Do so at your own risk tho. ;)
    apheX? says thanks.
  3. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    now im worried haha. I have 2 DVD drives i can plug in.

    But yh hmm u think it could damage?
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    You have to use a paper clip between two connections on the 24 pin cable. I personally wouldnt do it unless I had no other option.

    Can be done tho, is all I was saying.
  5. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    and all what your saying is getting me worried whether to do it or not. :p I see no warnings on the guides to jump starting a PSU however and that people do it and run it 12/24 hours to test water cooling systems.
  6. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Just something I'm not confident about, I just know the only warnings are not underpower it, lol.
  7. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    ok done it all. Works all good. Cept i think i might have the wrong fans....

    The fan controllers can read what speed their going at but cant change them. And i noticed the 3 pin connectors that came attached to the fans only have 1 wire so in affect only 1 pin is being used. Im guessing this is why? anyway i can fix/mod these fans or do i have to get special new ones?

    EDIT: i just found 4 pin molex to 3pin cable. As the fan has 2x 4 pin molex (male and female) can i connect say the power to the male and the female to this cable which will then go to the fan controller?
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2009
  8. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Just so you know, I have jumpered the pins together before without any issues. If you do it right, without the potential of grounding the jumper cable, you will be fine.
  9. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    yeah i already done it. Problem with the fan controller though... anyone know??

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page