1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Single CPU on Asus Z9PE-D8

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Chaitanya, Apr 25, 2012.

  1. Chaitanya

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    417 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Pune
    a friend of mine who has selected the following configuration for his work station

    GPU: 1GB PNY Nvidia Quadro 600

    HDD: 1TB Western Digital 3.5" HDD

    RAM: 8GB (4x2GB) Corsair DDR3 Vengeance PC3-12800 (1600)

    PSU: 1000W PSU, Silverstone Tech. Strider ST1000-P

    CASE: Silverstone Raven ST-RV03B

    MOTHERBOARD: Asus Z9PE-D8 WS

    MONITOR: 24" Dell U2412M IPS LED Monitor

    2X CPU Intel Xeon E5-2603, S2011, Sandy Bridge, Quad Core, 1.8GHz, 10MB Cache, 80W, OEM

    My question is whether the above asus motherboard can run on a single CPU as in that case he can go for a faster CPU and then add 2nd CPu at a later date. He is going to be mainly using photo editing and movie editing softwares on this rig. Also if this motherboard supports single CPU he is planning to invest in 120GB Intel 520 series SSD. Thanks in Advance.
     
  2. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,468 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    783
  3. Chaitanya

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    417 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Pune
    I found this other thread: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/309813-30-asus-z9pe
    and they said it works with a single CPU, also we went through the manual twice and there is mention of single CPU configuration anywhere. Hence the confusion. this board is right for the use and not very expensive. Also friend has decided to buy 2nd CPU after 6 months as right now its getting out of the allocated budget.
     
  4. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,652 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    KieX says thanks.
  5. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,468 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    783
    well u can ask on rog.asus.com under NON-ROG Intel Motherboards see if anyone can help u there if u wanna be sure.
     
  6. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,455 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I'd be really surprised if it didn't support a single CPU. Aside some rare and unique systems, it's usually a given. Though there's no harm in double-checking :D


    Now I don't know your friends situation beyond what's given (photo+video), but for the cost going into this he could be rocking an X79 system with a 6-core, 16GB, and SSD (or more 1TB). Just a thought.
     
  7. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,652 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    For those that could not find it on the manual, here is what it says:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2012
    Jizzler says thanks.
  8. Chaitanya

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    417 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Pune
    that was my original recommendation, but he insisted on getting the best performing machine that he can use for next couple of years. Also for him its an investment out of which he is going to earn money. Thanks for the reply everyone just wanted to double check.
     
  9. Chaitanya

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    417 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Pune
    We have decided to go with Intel Xeon E5 2630 right now due to budget constraints will be getting first CPU and then adding second CPU in couple of months.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page