1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB][US] Single rail PSU 400-600 watts. cheap

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by Fitseries3, Aug 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i need a cheap 400-600 watt PSU for a project i have. doesn't need to be anything special but i dont want some POS no name PSU. this ABSOLUTELY has to be able to support a 360watt load all the time on a single cable.

    i'll be modding the PSU so that only 1 10 gauge wire pair and a switch will be left.(thats why it needs to be single rail)

    i prefer to pay little or nothing for it but better brands will get more of my money.

    let me know if you have anything.
  2. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    Does Okia count as no-name? I've got a 450 watt that would cost little to nothing.:)
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    pics.. i've never heard of it though..... lol!
  4. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    ygpm
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  5. ascstinger

    ascstinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    544 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    In a house
    this for the phase-change unit you were building?
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    no.



    but im still working on the phase. gonna update that thread tomorrow when i get my parts in.
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Actually, Okia is not a "no-name" generic, their quality is a little under Sparkle (which is based off FSP's units). Also, here's just something that may interest you.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817255010

    I personally own one of these as a backup but ran a 3870 on one for about a month or 2, no instability issues at all.

    PS: Don't let the name brand scare you and don't laugh at me. :)
    DonInKansas and Fitseries3 say thanks.
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    getting better. still no cigar. im kinda hoping for like an older corsair, enermax, antec, etc. or similar.
  9. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,881 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Location:
    Florida, US
    there's nothing wrong with okia.. ;)
    I'd offer you my backup, but then I wouldn't have a backup :p
  10. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    best i have is 350 antec
  11. blTb

    blTb New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    252 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Littleton,CO
    Dynapower is not so bad . I'm using one almost 2 years(550W). Had no stability issues + right now i'm running HD2900XT on it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page