1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Six-Core Server Processor !!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by trickson, Jun 15, 2009.

  1. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I just stumbled upon this at newegg . I am not sure if any one has posted this before but MAN 6 cores !!! This is a MONSTER CPU ! so now when is AMD going to respond to this and look at it is is a 45NM CPU as well . Seems to me like the core wars are on and Intel is taking a huge leap forward ! I never though it would cost so much though think they will ever bring that price down ? $2,399.00 !! That is sure a ton of cash !

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117176
     
  2. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    SOCKET 604???? Never heard of it. Otherwise, nice find.
     
  3. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah I know me too . But MAN 6 CORES !! When is this going to hit the desktop segment is what I would like to know .
     
  4. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    This is just 3 dual cores put together on one chip LOL
     
  5. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    OK so what ? it is still a six cored CPU ! That is like saying that the Q6600 is just 2 cores glued together But what you fail to realize is that they still have 4 cores run like a quad core and perform like any quad core now this is a 6 core CPU and it is really fast . Same thing though it IS A 6 CORE CPU no matter how you may look at it and what is even more Intel is the first one to get one out to the market so well they have the first 6 core CPU just like they had the first Quad core CPU .
     
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    :shadedshu

    1066 FSB=bandwidth killer


    http://www.provantage.com/amd-os8435wjs6dgn~7AAMD28Y.htm

    true 6 core design and beats the above XEON and is 75watts
     
  7. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    I also noticed that it has a very low tdp, just 90w. Hell, that is almost like a phenom II with half the cores.
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    So get your $2400 bucks out of the bank and get one already...
     
  9. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
  10. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    old find, been up there for almost 2 1/2 weeks.
     
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    how about the true 6 core design from amd for $1400 less

    http://www.pcsforeveryone.com/Product/AMD/OS2435WJS6DGNWOF

    not to mention this is 75w not 90w 6x2.6ghz with a higher bandwidth link and larger cash and has been out for the entire month of june the dunnington model chips were an oh shit movement from intel trying to combat these 6 core chips from AMD
     
  12. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    WOW nice find !!
    Why doesn't newegg have them though ?
     
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    newegg is normally slow to get AMD server chips
     
  14. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    OH ok . But from this then I can assume that the core war's are now officially on ? And this is no longer who has the faster MHz CPU but whom has the most cores right ?
     
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    lol maybe


    i wish they had oc'ing boards for both of these i want to see if it is like a Q6600 vs phenom II :laugh:
     
  16. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah now that would really be fun to see . :rockout:
     
  17. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    Old socket with continuing support. It's a good job by Intel. Server market isn't as "cutting-edge" as we are. We don't swap parts, unless we have to.
     
  18. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,964 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,803
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Dunnington isn't MCM. It has been out for many months already.

    Socket 604 is found in a lot of servers around the world and the Dunnington processors allow them to increase performance as much as 12 fold with limited extra costs beyond the processor itself.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. DreamSeller Guest

    why is it so cheap :wtf:
     
  20. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Six core from AMD, wow I've been living under a rock. I need to research more:D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    For DP it's old yes. Has been replaced by 771 and now by 1366. However, for MP servers it has been the standard all this time. If it was really an "old" socket they wouldn't release a 6 core CPU for it. The fact that it's for MP servers also is the reason for the price.
    Either way, this CPU was released a while ago, nothing new, there has been a news article about it on TPU.
     
  22. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    Intel Xeon E7450 Dunnington is a "true" six-core design. Xeon 7400 CPUs fit in the same Caneland platforms as older quad-core/four-socket Xeon 7300s, so they're little more than drop-in upgrades in some cases. Server makers should be able to fit as many as 16 Xeons 7400s in a single system, for a total of 96 processing cores with as much as 256GB of memory.

    [​IMG]

    It is also at least half-year old, so AMD is very late to the party with their Istambuls.
     
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    look at the pic you posted it has 3 banks of 45nm cores now go look at the AMD design

    www.nordichardware.com/news,7725.html

    istanbul is a true 6 core design while the intel version is a bunch of dual cores grouped together that talk accross the FSB. the size and number of cores possible in the system dont really matter to what i said so i do not know why you brought it up... and the 8 series istanbul chips will allow the same thing from AMD.
     
  24. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Sigh.
     
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    and yes dan i know that makes no difference whatsoever
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page