1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Size Check - 2900PRO 1GB DDR4

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Mediocre, Sep 29, 2007.

  1. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    UM, ok, so I ordered:
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 2900PRO 1GB 512-bit GDDR4

    The pics show a 9" hsf...

    But i'm looking around and most places are saying it has the 12" hsf:

    [​IMG]


    Cuz now i'm :twitch::twitch:

    ain't NO WAY that thing is fitting in my case :cry:


    Any insight?
     
  2. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    You need an "Extended ATX" capable case. Few of em out there. Thermaltake has few.
     
  3. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    I haven't seen any customers complaining that the card is larger though. One review I found that on was 2900xt 1gb, and the other just said 2900pro with 12" hsf kinda in passing, so I'm not convinced it has 12" hsf

    It doesn't even say that on the sapphire or newegg pages...you'd think they'd mention that
     
  4. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Well I found this http://tipidpc.com/viewtopic.php?tid=87044

    "The second card in the HD 2900 PRO series features 1GB GDDR4 and is available with two different sizes of fansinks. One version of the card has a 9-inch fansink and another version has a 12-inch fansink."

    and this http://www.dailytech.com/AMD Announces ATI Radeon HD 2900 PRO Graphics Cards/article9050.htm

    "The second card in the HD 2900 PRO series features 1GB GDDR4 and is available with two different sizes of fansinks. One version of the card has a 9-inch fansink and another version has a 12-inch fansink."

    I still really don't know.
     
    Mediocre says thanks.
  5. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    lol who's close to CA and ordered newegg on friday? LOL feel free to lemmie know
     
  6. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Well I asked for Second Day Shipping so Hopefully seeing as they don't deliver on weekends I'll get it Monday. So if I do get before you or any1 else I will gladly share the news.
     
  7. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    i didn't get my order in time :( It's still at step 3

    post some benchies too...although I'm more interested in turning up my settings in the frontlines beta :p

    Oh and grab a dremel :laugh:

    :toast:
     
  8. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,096 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,755
    Location:
    US
    The one at Newegg is 9" long. The other is OEM ONLY i do be leave.

    Even with the 9" long one ou MAY need to move a HDD higher \ Lower in the case.
     
    Mediocre says thanks.
  9. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    lol... it will be the same size, my 1gb xt is the same as the 512mb version
     
    Mediocre says thanks.
  10. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Good news at last, man I just can't wait to get it I have been waiting sooooooooo long , I am so ready to get rid of the ancient X1300 lol.
     
  11. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    LOL and I thought my 7800GT was bad :laugh:

    post some benchies/OC clocks monday afternoon!
     
  12. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,096 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,755
    Location:
    US

    hehe and there was me on 2900XT release date bitching my 7900GT OC SC lol.

    Hope your power supply can handle it my XT takes up to 76 amps accordeing to Riva Tuner and trips the PSU :p lol.
     
  13. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    You could always have the best "size friendly" graphics....Onboard video!! :roll:
     
  14. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,222 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,686
    where does rivatuner show the amps a card is pulling?
     
  15. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    729 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Overseas
    Holy crap, that 12" HSF is a freakin' monster! Hopefully something that big gets you temps at least 5C or more cooler than the 9". It's kinda funny how big that thing is. . .
     
  16. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Indubitably.
     
  17. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    729 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Overseas
    Brings to mind the uproar when GPU coolers first when dual slot. Oh the out rage.
     
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    The 2900 doesn't pull 76A. That's impossible. That's 912 watts.
     
    AthlonX2 says thanks.
  19. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    I wonder if the temperature drop it "Should" bring is worth it.
     
  20. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Well it really just depends on the cercemstances, for instance some people say if you have the room for why not go 12''.
     
  21. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,096 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,755
    Location:
    US
    I never said it was possible. I just said what River Tuner says which is up to about 76-78 amps.

    Idle it says 33 amps underload as high as i said. BUT system shuts down a lot as my power supply cannot handle it. Be last time i buy Coolmax hehe.

    By the power supply it's 19 amps x 2 so how much is being down though the PCI-e connecter if it yet another 19 amps it would explain the shut downs on a 2 ish year old PSU..
     
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, that's not a very good psu. (No offense intended, btw). With 2 19A rails, it likely maxes out around 32-35A on the 12v rails combined (have to factor in some losses, etc.). As a point of reference, my psu, which is only rated 20w higher than yours, does 50A combined on the 12v rails.

    Got any moneys for an upgrade?
     
  23. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Its only 9 inches guys... 12 inch one = something the general consumer will be never able to purchase. (its got a beasty cooler tho... copper heatpipe bonanza through the whole length of the card).
     
  24. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,782 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    I'd be happy to get the 12" version and get rid of the stock HSF because the OEM version has a different, more compact pcb making it 1.25" shorter than a "normal HD2900XT/Pro".
     
  25. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    If I ever get that card, the cooler is coming off immediately. Not that length would be an issue. I do have an EATX case, well two of em actually. (Tt WinGo series) In my experience ATI cooling solutions, while massive, are usually loud and not that effective. I would slap my water block on it and some Thermaltake copper VRAMsinks and I bet I would get better results vs. that red monstrosity.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page