1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Skype is so screwed up!

Discussion in 'General Software' started by trickson, Oct 14, 2013.

  1. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Why is it on every computer I have skype is acting like this? WTF is going on with them? Any way to fix this shit? GOD Nothing I do is fixing this. I have this error every time updating skype and it is pissing me off on BOTH Machines?! WTF???
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Scatler

    Scatler

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    101 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Have you tried using offline installers instead of online ones?
     
    trickson says thanks.
  3. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Not sure what you mean. I Down loaded the program yes then installed it then it tells me there is this update I try to get it and this is what has happened on both my computers. so??? :banghead:

    I just uninstalled it from the main rig reinstalled it and the same fing thing JUST CAME UP!
     
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I just upgraded from 6.6.73.106 to 6.9.73.106 without any problem (Win 8).
    Something else causing problem? AV, firewall, etc.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  5. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Well looks like I may just have to go windows 8 after all then?
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,671 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,066
    You shouldn't. I'm using 7 and installed Skype over the weekend... Then I uninstalled it when I was done using it. I hate Skype.
     
    Loosenut and trickson say thanks.
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    LOL. yeah it does suck! Wish there was a better way to talk and video chat for real and for FREE unlimited in the amount of people you can video chat with too! This place is filled with tech heads and young minds and no one has thought of fixing this shit and making it really work?! Come on you people are far smarter than I am and no one has thought to fix up some thing that can really work? NO ONE! I just find this hard to believe!

    Still having the issue! God I would like to NOT have to use skype but every one HAS TOO!
     
  8. Scatler

    Scatler

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    101 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    trickson says thanks.
  9. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,625 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,239
    Don't run the update then?
     
  10. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
  11. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,642 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,487
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Try ooVoo as an alternative, I have not used it but some at work do, I am sure they said it was free. personally I use none of them, mainly because I am an ugly Bar Steward :)
     
    trickson says thanks.
  12. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah no go on the full installer came up same error. WTH? Man this is just really weird even the main is doing it .I will give that a shot too thanks tatty_one. Oh come on I bet you are a good looking guy!
     
  13. SKBARON

    SKBARON

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    183 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Chisinau, Moldova
    I'm still using skype 3.2 and have zero issues :D
     
  14. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,422 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,240
    why would anyone use a program that monitors the people using it? your error is probably an NSA delivered bug.
     
  15. Scatler

    Scatler

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    101 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    At this point the only logical thing to do would be uninstalling skype, then deleting every remnant that was left behind it and then try and install it using an offline installer.
    The other option is to use other p2p voice over software.
     
  16. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,375 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,582
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  17. IggSter

    IggSter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    BY-S36
  18. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,536 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Google talk isn't that bad either. Pretty simple to use.

    Sorry I can't help you with your problem though.
     
  19. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,898 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,176
    It's great that you're all suggesting other programs to use, but skype is a major chat client. Everyone I know uses skype, and very little would install and use something almost unknown like ooVoo. The link that Viper posted does indeed work. I was having the same errors as you on my laptop and it fixed it.
     
  20. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,564 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,503
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Pidgin. Your Live account will work with Pidgin which can communicate with Skype clients. Pidgin just doesn't do video/voice. Pidgin also supports XMPP (Google Talk) and many other protocols.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,642 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,487
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Almost unknown? I assume you make that statement because you don't know it.... even an old crusty git like me has heard of it, also apparently 2.5 million users in Europe have as well. Sometimes it pays to try other things, if only to confirm that it's crap and you are not missing out on anything!
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2013
  22. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,368 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    760
    if u haven't tried or have disabled "run as administrator" then try run skype install as administrator see what that leaves u...
     
  23. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,983 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,016
    Location:
    Oregon
    Google + Works well
     
  24. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    622 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
    Location:
    Canada
    The more it goes the more Microsoft sucks. They started by removing the Microsoft Comic Chat back then to leave it on a crappy Mirc lifeless shit. After it's that. The more it goes the less they are doing. They did not want to keep going on with MSN messenger because A- They were tired to work on something that did not bring them money. B- They sold their rights to Skype for a sustainable amount of money or C- It was easier for the NSA to watch over Skype instead of MSN messenger and the NSA convinced both of Microsoft and Skype to help them in their "Application of democraty". :mad:
    On my side the French Canadian homepage of Microsoft it's still written BETA on upper left corner of the page. The websites and videos are now made in France not in Quebec anymore. Finally some of the news posted as recent on their webpage are dated from back 2010.
     
  25. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,308 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    GMT +2
    i use trillian.
    can connect to skype icq and ofc trillian accounts and works simultaneously with all. if i remember well can also use msn messenger too + some other chat programs i dont remember.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page