1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Skype offering free PC to land-line calls in US and Canada

Discussion in 'News' started by Darksaber, May 15, 2006.

  1. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,633 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    801
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    Skype is massivly promoting their PC to land-line calling service. The feature usually costs the caller money, but Skype wants to penetrate the market more and get people used to VoIP phone calls. The calls to any US or Canadian based land-line number will be free until the end of the year. So if you have not used skype until now, better get to it, as it may save you a lot of money. On the other hand, there is a saying: "Habits die hard" and that is exacly what Skype wants. Get used to calling now and you will be more likely to pay up next year.

    Source: TG Daily
     
  2. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    saweeet...free call for 7months...
     
  3. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    I already get free calls the the USA and (i think) Canada on landlines from my phone + net package... still good for other people though.
     
  4. Sandman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    140 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This is awesome. I just tried it out and I works really well. It's a great idea.
     
  5. Tory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    339 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yeah, works for me too. Thanks skype!
     
  6. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Hmmm but can people call me from a landline? ::update:: Nope. That costs money. Oh well, free calls are nice.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2006
  7. rh535 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    161 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Before i download anything. Do you have to use a credit card to register?
     
  8. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Woot freeness, now I have a 4th phone line!
     
  9. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Yay!! Except the voice of the other person fades any time they pronounce "O's" as in "Oh" or Helloooooo>

    But yes, free calls to my gf! yay!

    and no, it doesnt require a credit card, only e-mail and a name.
     
  10. 5150 Joker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davis, California USA

    So how much did you have to pay that girl to be your gf? I KID I KID! :laugh:
     
  11. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    ooohh, im down for giving this a try.
     
  12. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Me too, I want to try... but I can't even afford something that's free (that's how ghetto I am)
     
  13. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio

    Yeah, I do too with roadrunners phone, but now if you're at a hotel or something, free calls anywhere. less cell phone minutes used up aswell. :D


    The mac version works great... especially when you consider the fact almost all macs have a built in mic :D
     
  14. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Isn't skype the company that limited the number of people you could have a conversation with at one time on AMD CPUs because of an agreement with intel?
     
  15. Sandman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    140 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The very same. Bastards.
     
  16. rh535 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    161 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I downloaded skype but to make pc to land-line phone calls it says i have to pay. I thought it was free until the end of the year. Am i doing something wrong?
     
  17. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    It says you have to pay, but it doesnt make you. Just dial the number.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page