1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Slackware will not boot under VMWare

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by 3870x2, Oct 8, 2012.

  1. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Slackware version 14.0, VMWare 5.0.0

    Just installed Slackware (for the second time) and am not able to boot, all I get is 'operating system not found'. It seems like it is not setting up the boot record, or atleast not one that is compatible with VMWare. I wonder if they expect that you are going to install LILO or GRUB.

    This VM is being ran on an XP workstation.
     
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,012 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,879
    You cant boot Linux without a bootloader (GRUB). The normal installaiton should take care of it though
     
  3. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    VMWare usually takes care of booting just fine.

    I have CentOS, Fedora, and Ubuntu running right now. They all booted up fine.

    I know traditionally you require a bootloader, though I have never ran into that problem with VMWare.

    This is the first Linux installation that was not automatically detected under VMWare.
     
  4. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    No real experience with this stuff as yet, though coincidentally I am just about to start for professional education/training purposes (once I get a new main rig and can dedicate my present one to a "home lab"). But if those other flavors of Linux boot fine this is definitely strange.

    Oh and here's a subreddit you will probably dig:

    reddit.com/r/homelab
     
  5. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Ill check out that reddit.

    Slackware is a pretty oldschool kind of linux that fancies the hard, old way of doing things, and I think that is what is getting in the way of my install. I did quite a bit of googling the issue with no resolve.
     
  6. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah...though is this the new SW 14 that just came out? Maybe not, I'm thinking...

    Another good subreddit:

    /r/sysadmin
     
  7. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,840 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    I found these:

    [yt]-w4i9t6W4ds[/yt]

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
    3870x2 says thanks.
  8. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Thanks for the help. I found the problem I believe but still no resolution.

    The users install is going smooth. Mine threw some errors about mkpkg and some input/output errors, but continued as if the job was complete. There might be something wrong with my slackware
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page