1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SLI 680 + what Fermi? Anyone mix matching cards?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by newconroer, May 2, 2013.

  1. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,219 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    SLI 680 + what Kepler? Anyone mix matching cards?

    I'm looking for a little extra mmmph to add another (if only) five or so frames to most of my programs/games.

    With the modded driver option, and a similar series/core card, what are my options to couple with a 680?

    Anyone using 680 + a lesser model such as a 650?
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2013
  2. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,457 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    You can't combine different architectures. You could theoretically pair a 680 with a 670 or 660 Ti though.
     
  3. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,219 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Edited to 650 and changed title as meant to read "Kepler"
     
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,128 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,319
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Not possible. Cant SLI mixed GPUs or Architectures with Nvidia.

    You can use the lesser card as a PhysX processing units for games that benefit from PhysX though. Take the PhysX load off your 680 or CPU and have it all dedicated to the 650.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2013
  5. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,457 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    I'm in the same boat as you. I bought my 680 near when they first came out. I was expecting a decent price cut, but it still hasn't come yet (was hoping for <$400). I'm considering getting a 670 to go with my 680. If they don't work with DifferentSLI, there's a chance the 680 could be flashed to a 670. Or just trade+cash.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=158907
     
  6. Dillon

    Dillon

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    colorado

    yea ... thies cards are keeping there price very well . I have been waiting for a while now for them to come down with no luck .

    so i found a coupple used ones , thru a form . got 2 evga 680 ftw 4 gb for 844 total shipped . grannet there is no warranty , but as long as u dont do stupid things with ur hardware , it lasts .. so on that note i was good with that . and now my rig is screaming again .. for 1/2 the price it retailed for .. now the money i saved bought me 2 very nice ek water blocks ..
    something to consider . it worked out for me well .
    :rockout:
     
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,128 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,319
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    You can do that but id rather not mess with modded drivers.
     
  8. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    That thread has been up for some time now and made many people happy :D
    No one really complained about any damage or anything. The worst that can happen is it not working.
     
  9. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,219 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Thanks for the responses guys, though disappointed no one has read this and done just that with a 680.

    I'm thinking maybe an easier option (though will pay a bit more now), is scrap the 680 and get two 660TIs.
     
  10. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,219 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Close to making a decision.

    Two 660ti SLI
    or 680 + 660ti modded SLI
    or wait on 780

    ?
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page