1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[SLI] GTX 670 Windforce or DCU II ?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by crush56, Jun 16, 2012.

  1. crush56 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,
    I will soon change my 4890 vapor-x and make a sli system with two gtx 670.
    But it's so hard to choose beetwin the Windforce and DCU Ii models.

    What cards would you take ?
    Thanks :)

    Ps : Sorry for my english i'm french :D
     
  2. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,036 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    820
    Location:
    Italy
    crush56 says thanks.
  3. crush56 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  4. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,106 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,440
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. crush56 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  6. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,636 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    850
    yap they r the same card the DCU2 and DCU2 Top card same pcb, same cooler just highere clocks if i am not wrong ^^
     
  7. crush56 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay thanks :D
    I just bought it:toast:
     
  8. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,106 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,440
    Make sure to tell us about it
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. crush56 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'll do ;)
     
  10. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7,337 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,818
    I've read several reports of the dc II top cards having problems and having to be RMA'd due to instability at high default clocks, while the dc II didn't have the issues, supposedly because of lower clocks. Has any one heard and/or confirmed this?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,727 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,027
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    You ought to link that sort of stuff.
     
  12. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7,337 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,818
    Why? I'm asking if anyone has come across this or confirmed this themselves. I read a few threads about this a bit ago, and I just thought of it while reading this thread. But anyway, off I go to find the threads I was talking about. ..

    Here we are:
    People say it in this thread, which is not the thread I originally read
    http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1698555

    And several reports under Newegg's reviews
    ASUS GTX670-DC2T-2GD5 GeForce GTX 670 2GB 256-bit ...
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012
    the54thvoid says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,106 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,440
    They are discussing it here too.
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=165758&page=8
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,727 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,027
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    That's a shocking number of unsatisfied consumers and what looks like a very poorly binned chip for the OC purpose of the TOP card.

    There was a mention on another site by it's owner (can't remember where :eek:) that suggested there was a rumour going around reviewer sites that the review samples of the GK104 chips were all cherry picked.

    It ties in with the continuing poor availability of a decent supply of GTX 680 cards which in itself is linked to an issue with it's design. Don't get me wrong, you'll have no problem buying a 680 now but the plethora of models is still greatly out of stock.

    Makes you think, is there a problem with GK104?
     
  15. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,036 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    820
    Location:
    Italy
    As far as I know EVGA and MSI are cherry picking their GK104 chips for the Classified and Lightnining respectively, I have read that some of the best chips can do 1400Mhz with unlocked voltage that will be given with these 2 samples.

    I think that they got loads of substandard GK104 chips that are going into locked voltage SKUs.

    Anyway the worst case scenario is that you get a leaky chip on a voltage locked VGA, that'd be terrible.

    1400+ MHz on air is SICK, bring on the voltage control :)

    source http://kingpincooling.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1832
     
  16. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,566 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I have a ppair of Windforce cards, and I love them. They overclock well, however you do need to be weary of the built in turbo mode. Meaning if your goal is 1200mhz, turbo does like...80mhz so you OC to 1120, and let turbo do the rest. Here are my benchmarks so far..

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=135908
     
  17. crush56 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My two cards are now installed, everything work but there is a problem with performances.
    The sli is activated and skyrim turn arnoud 30/40 fps :eek:
    Battlefield 3, 45/80 average fps in multiplyaererin gulf of oman.
    It's a little bit low for these types of card, no ?
     
  18. timma New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    86 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    buy gigabyte GTX 670 OC windforce +1
     
  19. silapakorn

    silapakorn

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    233 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Try the new beta driver.
     
  20. crush56 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have the lastest drivers :)
     
  21. chrislue New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I have the same question and I bought both of the card asus and gigabyte to see which is better,
    but I still do not have decision yet.

    So far, this is what I've seen. I roughly use Heaven DX11 Benchmark 3.0 to test card stability, although asus factory clock is higher, but seems both can not adjust to 1200 boost, the benchmark will just crash. So I just run them at 1150, but the actual boost clock which can be seen in software, asus is higher, about 1280, gigabyte about 1200.

    About temperature, gigabyte is much better in heavy load like Heaven Benchmark. I get about highest 72c. Asus goes up to 87c. In idle, them do not have much difference, around 30c. The fan noise gigabyte is a bit louder and have some special sound like "didididi" but if you control the fan speed below 35%, you can barely hear it, at the same time control temperature well.
     
  22. mypg0306

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    271 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Go for Gigabyte GTX670 OC Windforce
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page