1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SLI prob?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Solaris17, Apr 23, 2008.

  1. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,077 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    if i were you, just take the card back and get your money back aswell, wait till nvidia's GT200 series or maybe ATI HD4800 series, shouldnt be too long, time flys by, well for me I guess
     
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,417 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,716
    Location:
    Florida
    the cards cant be bad iv been through 6 making sure :( it works in XP just not vista...their awsome cards and id love to keep them...besids id rather not wait for the new series..im going 9800GX2 next 2 of them infact...i dont want to be an early adopter anymore because if the drivers suck so bad on a seasoned card like the 9600GT than i sure as hell am not going to try something as new as the upcoming series.
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,957 (12.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,383
    Well, it has to be a problem with Vista 64bit and your combination of hardware. There is nothing else I can think of, especially since it works with XP.
     
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,417 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,716
    Location:
    Florida
    well thats the thing 3 mobo's 3 diff procs 2 diff sets of ram 2 diff PSU's 2 diff bridges i think iv narrowed it down to vista x64 because iv tested on multiple platforms.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,957 (12.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,383
    Have you searched for every hotfix possible?
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,417 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,716
    Location:
    Florida
    yup even re downloaded all of them though SP1 must have taken care of it as each and everyone says it "doesnt apply to my system"
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,556 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,828
    how about this: try another copy of vista. you are using vista x64, but is it business, home premium, etc.

    Its possible the version you're on doesnt like SLI, or you even have a bad disk (Vlited, bad slipstream etc)
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,417 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,716
    Location:
    Florida
    ultimate x64 retail copy no slip stream :(
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,556 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,828
    is it possible theres bios options in the way? i know that many mobos even today, default to "PnP OS: no" in the bios settings.

    Go through every menu and have a look - there could be a setting that XP ignores yet vista doesnt.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  10. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    Its been a good month in a half since I put this thing together, but I do remember I couldn't boot with both cards in. I had to boot with one card in, load driver, reboot for stability, shutdown, install second card, boot windows again second card enabled, enable sli,reboot and it was there. If it doesn't work try whole procedure over with the other card.:p Seriously.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  11. warhammer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    204 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,417 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,716
    Location:
    Florida
    ill look again but i set that stuff manually every time i reset the cmos..and i have a save bios feature that i restore after im done.
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,556 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,828
    try it on defaults then, in case one of the settings is what breaks it.

    All i can really keep thinking is that its an OS/software problem. My test (sounds like you've done this a million times already) would be

    Install vista
    install SP1
    Install DX9c (latest)
    Install video drivers
    test

    Under no circumstances should you install any antivirus or drivers for other apps (such as your modded creative drivers) while testing this out.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  14. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,417 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,716
    Location:
    Florida
    ya no anti virus or firewall installed amt..because i reformat so frequently to test this out..and i dont install my modded sound card drivers..it seems like a waste of time to set up and customize an installation i wont stick with for more than 2 days.

    ill try stock settings i suppose. ill load the fail safe defaults and try your list for about the 50th time...hopefully i can figure this out :(
     
  15. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    Have you tried both cards by themselves? What are your 3dmark06 scores? Single card and sli?
     
  16. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,417 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,716
    Location:
    Florida
    in vista 10k 1 card 16k 2 and yes tried both cards by themselves
     
  17. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    If your getting 16k with 2 cards your sli dude.
     
  18. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,417 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,716
    Location:
    Florida
    no no im not anymore i was just giving you the scores..im at like 9k atm..because im not running OC'd
     
  19. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    But both cards are working and your getting a higher score with 2 cards. I don't understand I guess.:confused:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page