1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SLI Question 7950 GT and 7950 GT OC

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Elohssa, Jun 25, 2007.

  1. Elohssa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    question...

    Can I SLI these 2 cards ??
    Original card is a BFG 7950 GT 512mb
    I just got a new card but Fry's sent me the BFG 7950 GT OC model

    My Motherboard is a ASUS M2N-SLI DELUXE ACPI BIOS Revision 0609

    Will the different clock speeds hurt ??

    Thanks for any information yall can give
  2. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    I don't think that it is going to be a problem. If it is, the only problem that will be caused will be no display on the screen. But I STRONGLY beleive that there won't be any problems at all
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,914 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,016
    There shouldn't be any problem at all, the faster card will just downclock to match the slower card.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. Elohssa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Kewl Thanks...



    Now if i can find the *&@%!!*&%^@ SLI bridge......

    i gotta change the profile... still shows the Old PC
  5. demonbrawn

    demonbrawn New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,006 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Hey, I have an extra one I could sell you for cheap!
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    If the clocks on the slower caed aren't too far from the OC card, you can flash the BIOS to meet the clocks of the OC card. Just make sure it's stabke before you SLI.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,914 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,016
    A better option would be let the higher one match the slower one then just overclock both of them as high as you can.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  8. Elohssa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I havent changed anything...
    But when i install the second card ( I found the bridge ) i get no video.
    I forgot to mention the second card does have power

    I couldnt find anything to change in the bios settings....

    any ideas ??
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,914 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,016
    No video at all, or no video out of the second card?
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. Elohssa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no video at all....
    im kinda new to this ( Obviously )
    so im thinking im doing something wrong
  11. Elohssa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    either card will work fine if installed alone...

    But if i install both my PC wont even post



    HELLLLLPPPPPPPPPPP !!!!
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,914 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,016
    Your power supply is good enough to support both at the same time, right?
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  13. Elohssa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeppers
    700W Sli Ready...
  14. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Watts does not mean much for a PSU.
    These are the things that matter

    1. PSU Manufacturer (Quality Manufacturer or not mean the quality of the PSU)
    2. OEM or parts used in the PSU
    3. Amps available on the 12V rail(s)
    4. Safeties on the PSU (overvoltage, undervoltage, etc.)
  15. Elohssa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Im at work so not 100% certain

    But im pretty sure its a
    Thermalake 700W W0105RU SLI Ready

    It does have 2X 6pin PCI-e connectors
  16. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
  17. Elohssa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I was able to track down my original order
    power supply : FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN ATX12V
    MoBo : Asus M2N-Sli Deluxe
  18. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    yeah, no problem sli ing these too cards. It will just clocked down for the slower. Then, you can oc b oth of em.
  19. Elohssa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry about the re-post I keep getting logged out of the forums But...

    I was able to track down my original order
    power supply : FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN ATX12V
    MoBo : Asus M2N-Sli Deluxe
    Original Video is : Bfg tech bfgr7950512gtoce

    The new one is a BFG 7950 GT OC

    ( I thought the original one was just the GT model )

    I even downloaded the latest Nvidia driver and reloaded it

    Nothing in the Bios or Nvidia driver shows any set-up for SLI mode

    I cant understand what my problem is...
  20. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    There is no 7950 vanilla card.
    There is only a 7950GT which is the 2 cards that you have.
    And yes they will work in SLI so you shouldnt have any issues there.
    Just please note that NOT all games support SLI/Crossfire.

    A FSP 700W PSU is much better than a Thermaltake PSU.
    FSP is a quality company who uses a good OEM.

    Now on with the problem.
    Do you have the latest Nvidia drivers?
    Also, make sure your board has the latest bios and that the board is on SLI mode.
  21. Elohssa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK Im home and here is what ive done..
    Newest Bios 0903
    Newest Nvidia driver 94.24

    Tested each card in PCI-E slot 1 ... both work fine.
    Metered voltage with both cards in... 12.39VDC

    If i put either card in PCI-e slot 2 ( the black one on this mobo )
    the PC wont post.

    I checked the PDF on the mobo and the Bios and i cant find any specific settings to run in SLI

    If im not mistakes with only 1 card installed in slot 2 the PC should still post and boot up.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page