1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SLI with different cards

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by anatolymik, Jan 18, 2012.

  1. Tirenz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The problem with the X7200 is that it is a notebook - and the BIOS doesn´t support any other cards than the ones they sold with the notebook.
    And Hyper SLI alone just does not do it, SLI can´t be enabled, the button just doesn´t show up, although it DOES nvidia SLI with the cards supported...
    So it´s a just a whole different thing with laptops, I guess.
  2. Yimmeryams New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Ohio, US
    I'm not surprised HyperSLI didn't work on its own. The laptop already has an SLI-certified motherboard.

    EDIT: The "problem" is not the laptop being different. While the laptop situation is a different situation than normal, the "problem" was caused because of incorrect and incomplete information.

    New idea based on me getting better info:
    Try using "SLI with different cards" and not using HyperSLI and see if that works. If it does not work, try both. If both work, then in that unique situation Nathil will need both.

    EDIT2: I added some clarification to my post on the page previous. It should hopefully clear up any misunderstandings. Let me know if it doesn't and I will do my best to further explain what I mean.
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2012
  3. Tirenz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes, the different SLI Hack does work... problem is that the driver didn´t know the GTX 680m yet... so we had to "trick" the driver to think the cards are GTX 580m... that way it works... and because of that we hope to get a new driver soon that supports "offically" the GTX 680m... :)
  4. ThorAxe New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    99 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Bummer...I suspected as much. :ohwell:
  5. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    817
    new driver is out. need test. link in first message
    stinger608 and Tirenz say thanks.
  6. Tirenz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    First of all, the Mod seems to work!
    "Seems to work" because at one reboot, my screen stayed black. But after that, all boots worked well.
    Now the card with a modded inf is recognized as "680m" as it should be! No more "GTX 580m" trick .
    Run 3DMark11 - result nearly the same as before, but that was good before, too.
    Run 3DMark Vantage, GPU score rises from 32000 to 34000 points...

    Will do a lot more testing ...
  7. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,020 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    489
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    how is it scaling using these drivers?
  8. Tirenz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So far the drivers are very stable!
    Not one problem since the one black screen boot - and since then, I booted about 10 times without problems, so it seems to be ok.

    Played some games and did some Benches. While some are about the same, there are improvements in Unigine Heaven 3.0, the Lost Planet 2 Benchmarks, Far Cry 2, Dirt Showdown...
    Scaling to me seems ok. Something special you need to know?

    Great job, Anatolymik and big thanks to you! You are the best! :rockout:
  9. ezomniix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey ,

    Was following this thread anxiously since last month waiting on a update and finally got it , but i might have a problem.

    I have a ASUS 660 , and a ZOTAC 660 ti , im trying to sli them. My motherboard is gigabyte z77x-ud5h(sli compatible). With the latest modded driver when i enable SLI , the screen goes black for about 3 seconds and the PC restarts automatically , i have followed the steps carefully and i don't think I've done any mistakes.

    Any help would be much appreciated!

    Image of my control panel after restart now:

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2012
  10. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    817
    Those who have problems and have no SLI-compatible motherboard should use HyperSLI patch
  11. MicroUnC

    MicroUnC New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    250 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Israel
    Asus gtx580 + Asus gtx670???
  12. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    371 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    As stated before, different cores, so probably won't work (Fermi vs. Kepler)
  13. ezomniix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Any help with my situation would be very helpful...
  14. ezomniix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    blue screen code : 116 with latest driver.
  15. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,338 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    988
    It's not likely to work since they are different cores (GK106 & GK104). You could try switching them, putting the 660 as the primary, but again, I'm very doubtful it will work.
  16. kscott190 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I've tried doing Tri-SLI with 2 570s and one 470 and no go, tried with just one 570 and 470 still no go
  17. cblpop New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    660+280 = 0x0000007E :(
  18. kscott190 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    It's been said several times in this thread that card of 2 different architectures won't work and besides why would you want to pair 2 cards so far apart in generations
  19. biomecanoid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nvidia 460 + Nvidia 640 will these 2 work in sli

    Hi,


    I currently have an Nvidia 460GTX on my gaming pc and my motherboard has onboard an Nvidia 9400, the motherboard supports Hybrid sli but Microsoft decided not to support it in windows7. Now i have been given an Nvidia 640. Do i have any chance of making any of these these cards work together.

    I was thinking of 460+640 in sli and 9400 for physx. Are the 460 and 640 too far apart in generations to be used for SLI ?

    As far as i know the Nvidia 460 uses the GF104 GPU the 640 uses GK107 and the 9400 uses G96b, i guess i fall in the Kepler vs Fermi category and i will get a blue screen right ?

    I will post more details about my setup when i get home.


    Thanks
    Chris
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2012
  20. cblpop New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Always better to check out by urself ^_^
  21. biomecanoid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok i guess i have to put the computer on the operating table :p
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,457 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,004
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Kepler and Fermi will not work together. YOU NEED THE SAME GPU ARCH TO WORK!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. biomecanoid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok thanks i wont bother trying then
  24. unashamed New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  25. kscott190 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Your answer is 2 post above yours

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)

Share This Page