1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SLI with different cards

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by anatolymik, Jan 18, 2012.

  1. SeeJ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Tried to install the mod on the new 310.70 drivers, but when I reboot I get a low resolution display, as if no drivers are installed at all.

    Gfx cards are:
    1x GeForce 560Ti - GF110
    1x MSI Twin Frozer II 560Ti OC - GF114

    When I install the mod this is displayed:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Any ideas? The MSI (OC, more powerful) is in slot 2. I tried with it in slot 1 originally and the same happened. I'll try older drivers, but i would really like to get the newest ones working....
    Using Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R 2.0 motherboard
     
  2. tweaked New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    @SeeJ,

    I have a MSI GTX ENGTX560 TI DCII/2DI/1GD5 and MSI GTX ENGTX560 DCII OC/2DI/1GD5 in SLI. They always worked with all geforce drivers I used including the new 310.70 drivers. The thing is, I always make sure I am running the newest motherboard bios and drivers.

    The thing I note about your boards is the chip set is different (GF110 VS GF114). That is strange?? Should'nt they be the same GPU's?? Mine have the same chip sets GF114 even tho one is not a TI.

    I must say that with the new drivers my boards perform about 17% better than before. I am surprised because my Dell XPS 630i has the 16x pciE locked at 8x but the gaming is still great.
     
  3. christer6788 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How do you run Install.cmd on the modded driver?
     
  4. christer6788 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Please Help me!!

    I have 2 GTX 560 TIs, one is 2 gb and the other 1gb, I ran the modded 310.70 driver and it enabled SLI, I was thrilled! However my computer turned to a heap of garbage after that, not only can I run NO games as they all crash before the splash screen but my computer became so glitchy that the GPU driver would crash randomly, even while in idle. I noticed that my second card was running at 100 % all the time even with the cards defaulted to factory clocks and not synced! I finally performed a System Restore just to post on this forum, What can I do?
     
  5. SeeJ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It is strange, I can only imagine they revised the 560Ti somewhere down the line. Maybe to cut costs?

    Surely these 2 cards should work together though? I have used Driver Sweeper and tried again from scratch, but the same thing still happens...

    Would anatolymik care to comment? Or someone with better knowledge of this than me?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  6. MonsterMix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks...Can't wait to test this out!

    Excellent work. Thanks for posting/sharing.

    I have a spare 250 GTX and 8800 Ultra to test this with.

    One question, are there any plans for a 32-bit driver mod; or is it not even feasible?
     
  7. lxlbluesteellxl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Windows 8

    Anyone tried this in Windows 8?
     
  8. JRdragon52 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    MSI GTX460 1GB with GTX470 successful!

    I bought two MSI 460GTX Hawk Talon Attacks (HTA) for my rig. Unfortunately, one of them was bugged so I sent it for an RMA. MSI was nice enough to return not a 460GTX HTA, but a 470GTX upgrade. Score!..... I mean crap....... can't SLI now.

    Until I found this site! Followed the instructions with the latest 310.70 drivers and no issues so far. What an awesome work anatolymik! Thanks! :respect:

    Here's the pic showing the successful SLI:

    [​IMG]

    I Ran Unigine Heaven's Benchmark on heavy settings and got almost double FPS, indicating that SLI is doin its job. Spectacular!

    Solo MSI GTX470 stats:
    [​IMG]

    MSI GTX470 + MSI GTX460 HTA SLI stats:
    [​IMG]

    Something I noticed that I had to look into was that once you use anatolymik's MOD and reboot, you'll get the Test Mode, Windows 7, Build 7601 watermark on the lower right corner of your screen. I don't know of an easy fix to making that go away for aesthetic reasons. There's a hotfix that Microsoft made to make it go away using the command: bcdedit.exe -set TESTSIGNING OFF, but it messes up the driver.

    Thanks again! SUCH A GODLY FIX!!!
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2013
  9. GirlyMan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    GTX 580 + GTX 570 + anatolymik = :rockout:
    570 is no longer gathering dust thank you, amazing cant imagine why nvidia doesnt do this by default.... oh wait yes i can.
    :toast: anatolymik.


    [​IMG][/IMG]
     
  10. JulioCesarSF New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Can i do 680 + 460?
     
  11. gloed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello, please, is that it works with Windows 8 ?

    Does that also work between 670 and 660ti

    Thanks
     
  12. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    No, as stated previously numerous times in this thread, different core architectures will not work together (in this case, Kepler vs. Fermi respectively).

    Should be a yes on both accounts. Others have this working on Windows 8, and others have had success with 670/660Ti.
     
  13. irnehhenri New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    But would a GTS 450 and GTX 560 ti work together, as they both use the Fermi architecture?
    Also, would there be an actual benefit to doing so :)?

    Thanks!
     
  14. mrMagister New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    gtx680 + gtx690 (1xkepler + 2xkepler) = no effect :(
     
  15. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,321 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yes, it should work fine, if you look at the first post, the video of the author shows it working with a GTX560 and a GTX460 ;) And gains seem to be good, looking at least 90% faster than GTS450. But this isn't a guarantee, people have reported it working fine, YMMV :rockout:

    Good Luck
     
  16. gloed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tried.

    It does not work

    when I enable sli, it crash

    I also tried changing the card, same result
     
  17. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    That should work anyway without this mod I believe.
     
  18. Eagleizer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    gtx680 + gtx690 or gtx690 + gtx680 :p

    I was thinking about doing the same setup. Have you
    tried to switch the cards around? Other have fixed
    problems by doing that with other cards...

    If you get it to work, please tell what card you have
    on top.
     
  19. castics New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    GeForce 460 SLI 460 V2

    I am trying to SLI 2 460 cards one is a v1 and the other is a v2. I follow the steps and i get the option to use SLI, but whenever i try to start a game it stops working almost instantly saying the graphics driver has stopped working....

    Can any one help me out?

    My specs are:
    ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 Sandy Bridge, Motherboard.
    2 x Kingston 4GB DDR3 1333MHz.
    Intel Core i5 2500K Sandy Bridge.
    And i 650W power supply from corsair.
    Gainward GeForce GTX 460 GS.
    Palit GeForce GTX 460 v2.
     
  20. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    :slap:I actually just read an article on some old net forum about hybrid crossfirex and it was suggesting an advance towards sli/crossfire hybrid (amd and NVidia cards), when I searched AMD rebranded to 'dual graphics' and NVidia started calling it hybrid sli... but using on and off board gpu.... goes to show its all about the software....:slap:
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2013
  21. jeffj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So i have installed this and have been able to enable SLI with my 450GTS and my 460GTX, Only question is, i do not have a "SLI" board its actually a crossfire, I did not install HyperSLI, but yet i am able to turn it on after installing this driver mod. Do i need HyperSLI still, would there be any advantage to installing it?

    Thanks
     
  22. rodrigoeana New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ASUS EN9800GT Ultimate + 9800GTX or 8800GT

    will it work in the following settings?

    ASUS EN9800GT Ultimate + 9800GTX
    ASUS EN9800GT Ultimate + 9800GTX+
    ASUS EN9800GT Ultimate + 8800GT
    ASUS EN9800GT Ultimate + 8800GTS

    Grateful to those who can help.
     
  23. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    prime example of software controlling components! we need some tech writers on our side to save money lol:toast:
     
  24. jeffj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I still wouldn't mind the OP's input on this though.
     
  25. jeffj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, I decided to install HyperSLI, all it did was lock my machine on any 3d.

    Answered my own question, I don't need it.

    With these modded drivers and a P5Q3 Crossfire board i am able to achieve SLI, better yet SLI with a 450 GTS and a 460 GTX.

    Just posting my results for others. SLI is working as expected, i can see both cards being used when in 3d, on a app that is SLI profiled.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 6 (0 members and 6 guests)

Share This Page