1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SLI with different cards

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by anatolymik, Jan 18, 2012.

  1. jp New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    before trying HyperSLI I was using driver version 327.23 on the single 760 card...

    since the modded drivers were only up to 320.18 i tried those with no luck.

    the only way the 760 could be used was to load the 660 first then swap cards around to get the 760 in the 16x slot. but no go .

    then I tried the 327.23 drivers again with the modded drivers installed . still same results as the 320.18 ugly wise

    but the 327.23 drivers allowed me to load them up with the 760 in the 16x slot and no floppin around.
     
  2. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,218 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Any chance you can get a hold of a similar socket motherboard that has SLI support -maybe from a friend? I get the impression that the HyperSLI might be conflicting.
     
  3. jp New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1

    sorry to say , no . but my board is an Asrock A770DE+
     
  4. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,218 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Oh, Crossfire specific board. Hmm, do not remember reading in this thread or the HyperSLI page whether or not anyone got the SLI working on a Crossfire based motherboard.
     
  5. jp New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I thought this was the intent of HyperSLI - to trick a crossfire board into thinking it was SLI able ?

    well anyways....
    here is every step I took with the cards...

    1) win7 x64 327.23 drivers - either card works fine in 16x slot
    2) 760 in 16x slot
    660 in 4x sli bridge connected
    both cards seen in NCP , gpuz etc... no sli option yet.
    3) installed HyperSLI all reboots good
    4) installed modded 327.43 drivers
    5) on reboot SLI option available testmode watermark on screen
    6) after enabling sli ,the reboot came on ugly can't read text etc.

    removed HyperSLI ... then doing same as above but this time ran SLIpatch 1.5
    upon activation of sli option this time, the screen came back perfect to read etc... BUT
    the NCP was white , busy spinner ... then a notice pop up ...
    NCP app 7.4.760.0 has stopped working ...

    when i closed that and right clicked to get to nvidia control panel its option is gone.
    had to reinstall drivers .... 327.43 failed ...then ran 331.40 beta , they installed and control panel came back .
    Lastly I reinstalled the 327.23 drivers .. just to get back to them , for no other reason.

    hope any or all of this helps , if not me , then others
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2013
  6. Nathil New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    17 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Installed this driver yesterday and it works like a charm :toast:.
    Thank you for sharing this :).
     
    Jobine says thanks.
  7. cowie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    127 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    new jersey usa
    I still am trying titan and 780 since I seen the 327.23 jobine posted but nope it does not want to keep the driver after I enable sli in nvcp.
    Switched around both cards but nah it just wont work.
    Any one else try this combo?.... I know you could not get it to work lol but same issues as mine when enabled?
     
  8. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,218 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    I am starting to wonder if there's something inherently different about the 700 cards despite sharing the same device ID.
     
  9. jp New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    dunno , but i was looking at the sli thread , exact location i forget but a few pages in it did say to have the lesser card in so it is listed first in the NCP...
    i had the 760 in the top slot and the 660 in the lower 4x ...
    tonight i will try it the other way around and see what happens.

    ok tried it with 660 in 16x slot and 760 in 4x... in NCP 660 was listed first...all the steps same as above method...applied sli ...black screen .

    660sc going up for sale so I get some sleep !
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2013
  10. Ember

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Messages:
    67 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Hello guys, it's Ember from Notebook Review that did the patched drivers that Jobine posted.

    Thanks for the reports that they work.

    I've came up with a less invasive patch that does not require me to add a new code section. I made a generic patcher so that all patches are automated. I've patched v320.18 and v327.23 successfully. I have not tested these patched drivers on a live system.

    I am making a full package that allows you to patch your driver, sign it for TESTSIGNING, and load it just as anatolymik's original package did, but this time (for now) all versions are supported now and in the future. Hopefully this keeps the patch alive without someone having to support it.

    Will post the full package soon :toast:
     
    newconroer and Jobine say thanks.
  11. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,347 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    long time and no answer but : a 590 is basically a SLI'ed pair of 580 so 580+590 shall be considered as a Tri-SLI and not a different card SLI

    Quad SLI capable motherboard with 2 x16 slot mean, for exemple, 2 590 SLI

    in CFX a 6970/50+6990 is a trifire unless Nvidia do it the oposite way 580+590 should be same
    (as long as the 590 has 3gb (ie: 2x1.5gb) and the 580 1.5gb or 590 6gb(i dont think it exist :wtf:) and 580 3gb)
     
  12. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,218 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Hi Ember, thanks for heading on over and trying to keep this boat from sinking.
    We'll be here and ready to test when you are done with the package.
     
  13. justast New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Some one has mentioned why I have to use different sli trick when I have two 550ti's. well one is a superclocked version, that one has different device id and is treated as incompatible. since the driver update has been experiencing some weird issues with the dvi-d and video performance. there is something like 5fps drop on the actual performance. so i am a little disappointed plus the fact that some flickering started to screw things up. but nothing to do with the fix for different cards.
     
  14. justast New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    New Nvidia Drivers 331.58 out yesterday, love to see your patch to try out on these new drivers.
     
  15. Ember

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Messages:
    67 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    It's all ready supported by my generic patch. I just want to wrap up the whole thing.
     
  16. NiBlade New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    570 with 680

    i have a Zotac AMP! 570 and an EVGA GTX 680, can i sli?
     
  17. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,218 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Hello, no these will not work together
     
  18. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=3003682&postcount=1996

    I see there are people here who can do things well.
    Unfortunately i haven't time at all to support it.

    Also, DifferentSLI never would be excellent solution to SLI any cards without reverse engineering of driver core. After that the driver should be altered for patching and additional code writing like it was for HyperSLI.
    But HyperSLI patches windows kernel not driver. My DifferentSLI just disables any checks for cards compatibility.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2013
    Geironimo, Ember and newconroer say thanks.
  19. Geironimo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hamar, Norway
    I must be stupid cause even with this i can't be able to team up two gtx560ti cards with different vram :)
     
  20. FabioMC New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a 780GTX in my sytem. Will it be possible to use it with the upcoming 780ti in SLI with DIFFERENTSLI ? Tks.
     
  21. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,218 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Ember, how is that patch coming?



    Geironimo, it does happen though what is the specific symptom you get?


    Fabio, I'm told the device IDs for the 780 series are the same as the 600 Fermis however I do not own one to test. Theoretically, as long as the drivers natively support the 780 and share teh same DEV_ID then they will work.
     
    FabioMC says thanks.
  22. Ember

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Messages:
    67 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    I will PM you the full package so you can test it before I post it publicly here.
     
  23. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,218 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350

    Tested and confirmed.

    [​IMG]
     
  24. Ember

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Messages:
    67 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    DifferentSLIAuto Release v1.0
    Download: http://www.mediafire.com/download/okk55up9b452o34/DifferentSLIAuto1.0.zip

    Please let me know if you have any problems.

    Code:
    DifferentSLI Auto NVIDIA Driver Patcher and Signer by Ember
    
    What it is?
    ------------
    This patcher will automatically patch and sign "nvlddmkm.sys" for NVIDIA drivers for 64-bit systems to enable SLI with different cards.
    
    To use:
    --------
    1) Install original NVIDIA drivers
    2) Put cards together you want to SLI
    3) Reboot
    4) Copy original "nvlddmkm.sys" from "C:\Windows\System32\drivers\" and put it in the same folder as the patcher.
    5) Run "DifferentSLIAuto.exe" and press patch, if everything went well it will say that patching was successful, if not contact Ember on techPowerUp! and do not continue.
    6) Log in as Administrator
    7) UAC must be disabled
    8) run Install.cmd
    9) Reboot
    
    History
    --------
    version 1.0 01/11/13 Initial Release
    
    Thanks
    -------
    anatolymik @ techPowerUp! for the original patch
    Shub-Nigurrath [ARTeam] for CheckSum Fixer
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2013
  25. morevilek New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sli

    Hello, i have question. Can i connect gxt 285 with gtx 260? because i use latest drivers with latest different sli and when i enable sli in nvidia control panel i have black screen and flash sometimes and that is all. Please reply. Thank you for answer.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)

Share This Page