1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Slow computer boot!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Link108, May 4, 2013.

  1. Link108

    Link108

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi, Sometimes when I boot up my computer, POST will be very slow and so will windows. Furthermore, when I get into windows the screen, the monitor will dim in and out very slowly, when entering and exiting windows. After, I restart once or twice, then everything works fine again. I have pushed my Intel I5 2500 from 3.3GHz to 4.0GHz, with a 105.3 BCLK and 41X multiplier. However, I don't remember if I had this problem before or after the oc. It would pass IntelBurnTest on Extreme at 10 times and only hit 77C without BSOD, Freeze or anything. I don't know what is going on. Ever sense I got my mobo replaced, I have only oced with the multiplier at 41X, which is 3.8 and I still have the same issue. I have tried almost everything I can think of, replaced mobo, different keyboard, new psu, new case, flashing to different BIOS versions. Also, my cousin used my video card without issues, so it is fine. Two of my ram stick stop working and caused my computer to power loop or BSOD. My sound card, died on me. I have run Intel Processor Diag Tool without issue, HD test without issue, I may have a problem with the ram I have because it's not in the memory compatibility list for mobo or memory manufacture. Moreover, I think it may be my optical drive, processor, ram or something else. I am tempted to RMA my cpu, to see if that is the issue. I am waiting for my ram to get back from Patriot that is on my mobo compatibility list. Any help or advice would be welcomed, thanks. :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
    Last edited: May 4, 2013
  2. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rochester area
    don't screw with the backclock leave it alone
    messing with the backclock will destroy the hardware
    reset the backclock to the defaults
    Link108 says thanks.
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,653 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    You can adjust the BCLK, but since it is linked with the PCI-E clock and SATA controller clock you can only adjust it about. 5-10% before things get unstable. You won't damage anything by adjusting it, it will just cause instability.

    However I would return the BCLK to 100 to rule it out as causing instability.

    Also your numbers don't make sense. 105×41 would be 4.3GHz, not 4.0GHz. And 100×41 would be 4.1GHz. My guess is your over clock isn't stable, I've seen slow booting as a symptom. 10 runs of IBT is not really a good stability test, IBT is more for testing heat not stability. Grab OCCT and run the Linpack test for at least 12 hours to test for stability.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. Link108

    Link108

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I've heard, there is a 5% tolerance on the BCLK, though. People have been getting five to ten MHz out of it. Also, why does Intel Processor Diag tool pass? Because of the unprecedented level of integration on Sandy Bridge (ie: just about everything is now on CPU itself), including the clock generator that used to be on the motherboard, there is very little headroom when it comes to the BCLK. Right now it appears that 104-106Mhz is likely the average, with a few chips being able to hit 109Mhz, if not slightly above. It just depends on the quality of the silicon. As a result, the bulk of the overclocking will have to be done via the CPU multiplier. Regular locked, or 'limited unlocked' as Intel is calling them, Sandy Bridge chips come with up to 4 additional performance bins, but only when combined with a P67 motherboard (there's really no CPU overclocking at all on H67). These are bins that are above the usual Turbo Boost bins, so there is a fair bit of extra performance to extract even if you don't buy an unlocked K-series chip. My cpu isn't overclocked right now, does it even when it isn't oced.
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,653 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    There is a tolerance with the BCLK, it varies not only from CPU to CPU, but from system to system. But you gain so little from changing it, it doesn't make any sense to use it to overclock. Especially when 1MHz can make the difference between a totally stable system and an unstable system with a corrupt hard drive.

    Have you tried a re-install of Windows? From the sounds of it you've swapped out a lot of hardware, including the entire motherboard, so a Windows Re-Install is probably necessary at this point.
    Link108 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. Link108

    Link108

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I haven't formatted yet, going to though. Thanks, I will try that.
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rochester area
    or frying the sata controller or pciE devices ...
    the slow boot is probably from the bios trying to figure out what the hell is going on
    windows 7 rarely needs a re-install even after a major hardware swap
  8. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Philippines
    argh big wall of text, next time use lines :laugh:

    If you can, Remove everything except for CPU mobo psu ram monitor gpu and a keyboard, see if it will still POST slow

    if yes then it might be the HDD
    if not then it might be cpu/mobo/ram, but you changed mobo so maybe cpu/ram
  9. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    reset bios and check if it is still there.

    turn on POST, so you know exactly at which device the bios is taking time to load. i suspect the sata devices since you increased your BCLK.

    this is often related to HDD related problems.
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,653 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    It needing a re-install and a re-install being a good idea are two different things. Yeah, if simply booting is all you require, then a re-install isn't needed. But not re-installing can lead to problems like this, especially after a motherboard change. So you should always re-install after changing the motherboard, other swaps aren't necessary, but there is so much integrated stuff on the motherboard that re-installing Windows is always a good idea to keep things running smoothly.

    And raising the BCLK won't fry anything.
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,887 (6.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I second that. However if you're using RAID on the PCH, the SATA errors can cause your RAID to drop to degraded or worse. X79 is the same way, 5-8Mhz outside the CPU strap is the best you're going to get on SB-E, so same deal. DMI is tied to the bclk so all you'll do it cause your machine to become unstable. You're not going to hurt it, but you might be putting data at risk of corruption if it hiccups while it's writing to your drive.
  12. Link108

    Link108

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I got my Asrock Z77 Extreme 3 mobo replaced, I haven't touched the BCLK, only the multiplier 41X, which will only go as high as 3.8. However, I decided to leave it at stock speed for formating. The last board I had before I replaced it, I did touch the BCLK to 105.5. I wrote zeros to both drives that were in a raid, using Sea Tools. Now, I am formatting windows. In effect, I will have to wait to see what happens. I have had my HD's for quite some time now, at least three to five years. So, maybe they are just going bad.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page