1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Slow Gigabit Network

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by error_f0rce, Nov 14, 2010.

  1. error_f0rce

    error_f0rce New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    942 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    I just upgraded my whole network from 10/100 to gigabit. I'm running a Linksys E3000 router, a Netgear Prosafe switch, and a D-Link DNS-321 NAS. I'm aware that there is about a 125MB/s theoretical ceiling (less with real-life overhead, etc.), but I'm only seeing 11-14MB/s transfer speeds from the NAS to my PC.

    Here's what I've tried so far, with no effect:
    1.) Switching all devices to gigabit only mode.
    2.) Disabling anti-virus/defender.
    3.) Increasing MTU sizes across the NICs.

    The NAS is running RAID-1 with x2 Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm 500GB SATA 3.0Gb/s, and my PC is running SSD's in RAID-0 (see specs), so I don't believe drive speed is the issue here.

    Looking for any suggestions or possible solutions here.
    Thanks!
     
  2. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,541 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,381
    hrm, i am also on an all gigabit network and my NAS transfer speeds max out at 19MBps. i always assumed it was because the NAS is kinda crappy.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    I recently did the same thing, but my router is 100Mbps, so everything goes to the switch, and then the router also gets connected to the switch. I have no NAS, but transfers between both machines in my place run as fast as the mechanical hard drives will allow.

    I'd say the problem might be in the NAS.

    I just googled up your NAS model:
    Specifications
    Standards
    • IEEE 802.3 10Base-T Ethernet
    • IEEE 802.3u 100Base-TX Fast Ethernet

    Support Hard Drive Type
    • SATA*
    Ports
    • 1 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet Port

    Compare this to the DNS-323:
    Specifications
    Standards
    • IEEE 802.3 10 Base-T Ethernet
    • IEEE 802.3u 100Base-TX Fast Ethernet
    • IEEE 802.3ab 1000Base-T Gigabit

    In other words, it seems like your NAS is simply not capable of 1Gbps speeds, despite it listing a 1Gbps port - It doesn't list the 1000Base-T as a supported standard. This might be due to a lack of processing power inside the box.
     
    error_f0rce and Easy Rhino say thanks.
  4. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,541 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,381
    wow, this actually explains the same issue with my NAS. well i guess you get what you pay for :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,508 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    There really needs to be some better legal repercussions for false and misleading advertising.
     
  6. error_f0rce

    error_f0rce New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    942 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    Thanks, that really does explain it. I have to say, it does seem rather disingenuous to advertise a gigabit port when the device itself doesn't support the same speed of throughput. :(
     
  7. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,541 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,381
    i agree, that is pretty lousy of them. my gigabit NAS is a QNAP. i won't be buying anything from them again.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    are there any difference between reading from the NAS and writing to it?



    my gigabit network does max out at 90-110MBytesps transfering from PC to PC
     
  9. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,541 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,381
    for me it is the exact same.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. error_f0rce

    error_f0rce New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    942 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    Just tried, nope same. One funny thing I did notice when boosting the MTU sizes was that I saw spikes of up to 34-80MB/s, and the data bar mirrored the claim, but they only lasted seconds. I wonder if the NAS RAID controller just isn't built to handle it.
     
  11. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    I think the controller simply dies. The actual Eth port might be 1Gbps, but the NAS controller simply cannot handle this data rate - Thus it is not listed. It will also explain the short bursts of speed - They last before it runs out of receive buffer.
     
    error_f0rce says thanks.
  12. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,541 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,381
    this is just depressing.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. IggSter

    IggSter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    BY-S36
    The problem certainly lies with the NAS device - more specifically Rumba.

    Rumba is part of the software on the NAS that allows windows PCs to access the *nix file system on the NAS - typically ext2 or 3.

    I have a QNAP 809pro and with Ext2 was getting 36MB/s. After I migrated the NAS to Ext3 the rate increased to 58MB/s.
     
    error_f0rce says thanks.
  14. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,541 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,381
    how did you migrate to the new file system?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,228 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,269
    This is why I always tell people don't waste money on NAS devices. A full blown file server will be so much better for only a marginally higher price.

    Most of the time these NAS devices use a software RAID controller with a processor that can't handle the load.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  16. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    If you have a spare computer laying around turn it into an unraid server. Mine works fantastic. They even have free software using 3 drives, 2 data and a parity drive.

    http://lime-technology.com/forum/index.php
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page