1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

slow map loading

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by WldKatZ{MEOW}, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. WldKatZ{MEOW}

    WldKatZ{MEOW} New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi, i just bought a new GTX 460 1GB VC.(upgraded from a 9800gt 512mb) i've noticed my map load times in BF:BC2 are longer then they used to be,and it is maddening. any idea's what might cause the slower load time?

    amd phenomII X3 705e
    4GB corsair memory
    Win7 32bit OS
    MSI MB
  2. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    My only guess would be that if you upped the graphical settings (as you most certainly did) then it may be caching larger textures. I dunno though.

    I'm just waiting for someone to pop in and go "TEXTURES DO NOT WORK THAT WAY" in a Morbo voice.
  3. WldKatZ{MEOW}

    WldKatZ{MEOW} New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    no i havent tweaked any setting's yet,just been testing it with the currant setting's.i'm thinking it may be lack of system memory + running a 32bit OS + using a 1 GB VC. but was hoping some1 might know of an easier solution.
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,602 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,991
    Usually, with BFBC2 it's video driver related. I know some drivers will make the game load faster than others. Are you using the latest drivers from Nvidia?
  5. Flak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    402 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    I went from a 4850cf setup to a gtx 460 and noticed the map loading is twice as long as it was when I had the 4850cf setup.

    No help here, just saying I'm seeing it too...
  6. WldKatZ{MEOW}

    WldKatZ{MEOW} New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas

    yes i update regularly.
  7. WldKatZ{MEOW}

    WldKatZ{MEOW} New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    btw, i misspelled my name lol! should read 'WildKatZ{MEOW}' ;)
  8. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,177 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Force bfbc2 to dx 9 /10
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    Make sure your video settings are the same as you left them. It's possible the game detected a new video card and changed them by itself.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,150 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,474
    its a problem with the game loading slow in DX10, ATI fixed it in drivers - either nvidia didnt, or you're running older ones.
  11. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,177 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    They did. But I still notice a little bit faster with 9/10 (averaging about maybe 4-5 seconds)
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,150 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,474
    my load times are <5 seconds most of the time now, <10S if its feeling slow.
  13. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    force DX11 if it doesnt change try DX10. its the game forcing the card to load more intense graphics then before. as mussels stated ati fixed it in drivers nvidia has for the GTX480/70 but not the 460 yet
  14. WldKatZ{MEOW}

    WldKatZ{MEOW} New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    thanx, i'll try too force 10&11. :rockout:
  15. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,177 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    wow thats faxt. What I meant btw was, 4-5 seconds faster on dx9/10 vs 11.. but before the driver patch, loading times on dx11 on nv was blatantly slow on dx11 vs dx9/dx10.. like 15 seconds difference or so..
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,150 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,474
    before the driver fixes, took me about a minute :S

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page