1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Small gamer rig

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by ArabTanksta, Aug 24, 2007.

  1. ArabTanksta New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    72 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Egypt/London
    Hi, I'm selling a small gaming rig to a friend for £350.. This is what i'm buying.. Post what you think ;).

    MotherBoard: Gigabyte motherboard GA-945GM
    RAM: ValueRam DDR-667
    CPU: Intel E2160
    Hard drive: 120GB Seagate Barracuda® 8MB Hard Disk Drive ATA-100
    Graphics card: ATi Radeon X1950 PRO 512MB
    Optical drive/s: Asus 18x DVD-RW
    Case: Colors IT Black Midi case

    I don't know what kind of cooling to get yet, If someone could help me out i'd appreciate it alot :rolleyes:
     
  2. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    you could get cooler master. they're one of the best :)
     
  3. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Get an Arctic Freezer Pro 7, for cheap cooling u can't beat em :)
     
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
  5. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    noctua NF-u9F:respect::respect: best cooler out there
     
  6. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Agreed ;)
     
  7. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Just out of interest, what is wrong with the stock cooler? I am running an E2160 @ 2.4Ghz on stock cooling, see below:

    [​IMG]
     
  8. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie

    Hi mate. If you are buying an x1950pro then I would suggest another mb as that one has on board video which you don't want... Where are you buying from?? if you post a link we might be able to help you out.
    Another thing, what size is your monitor going to be, if its below 20in then I don't think you will need the 512mb version of that card, the 256mb will suffice.

    If it is only going to be for light gaming, you may be able to ditch the x1950pro and get a better mb with DDR800 and better ram and just grab a 8600gt/2600xt.... they are a little cheaper and will be fine for light gaming... :)
     
  9. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    It's a stock fan :p

    I'm the type of person who replaces stock cooling almost immediately regardless of how good it is.

    The Freezer Pro 7 is very good for the price, and if he upgrades to a hotter running chip later on he won't have to change cooler.
     
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,056 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,646
    @ alexp999, thats a mighty fine 12V+ rail you got youself!!!!!! 11.4 WOW I hope it was at least under the heaviest load you could apply to it, like possibly an elephant.

    @ OP(arab) Agreed with the AC cooler, bought a Zalman 9500 for myself and wasn't really impressed for the cost (was pretty tho)
     
  11. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
  12. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Fair enough bout getting the cooler if fututre upgrade down the line, and FYI, speedfan incorrectly measures the 12v rail on my PC, BIOS reports it as fine, and even under heavy load, i.e 3dmark06, Vista test, TAT, anything, the voltage never budges, I posted before about this thinking I had a problem and it was mentioned then, that software detection is never 100% accurate for all sensors. Anyway, before I had the PSU I have now, I had a cheap 400w single rail psu rated at something like 12A, and speedfan read 11.4v then, so i just ignore that value. Just posted a screenie to show the temps with the OC I had on stock cooling thats all.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page