1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SMBus Drivers not installed, DMA Controller and an unknown device.HELP :)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by LifeOnMars, Sep 29, 2008.

  1. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    As the thread title states. In my device manager its showing ATI SmBus has no drivers installed, also the same for the Direct Memory Access Controller. Also an unknown PCI device is showing for PCI slot 1. Help me sort this please as I have no experience with this sort of thing :)
     
  2. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    You've got crucial drivers missing most probably chipset drivers.

    Abit A-S78H requires the following:

    Marvell Gigabit Lan driver
    ftp://ftp.abitshop.com/pub/driver2/marvell_lan/v105133.zip

    AMD-7 Series Chipset Drivers
    http://download.amd.com/Desktop/RAIDXpert2.4.1540.11.exe

    ATI Catalyst™ 8.9 Display Driver for Windows Vista
    http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_catalyst.aspx?p=vista32/common-vista32
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  3. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Installed all of those (already had 8.9 catalyst installed) but no change. Anybody else have any help on the matter please?
     
  4. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    It's best to ask the motherboard manufacture. They will tell you what you need to do. Have you tried inserting the CD that came with the motherboard into the cd drive? They have a tendency of installing drivers like that just by inserting them (usually the 1st time you run your OS).

    Here is another idea if for any reason they don't install:
    Find the setup.exe file (or whatever is called) for your chipset drivers. Usually your SMBus drivers, etc may have their own directory so check 1st. Find the install file (usually setup.exe) then right click on it. Choose the option "run as" then choose Administrator. See if that helps...
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2008
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  5. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Yeh installed everything on the CD when I first booted up into windows. Will try getting in touch with Abit and let you know in A Bit :)
     
  6. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    I dont have SMBus installed either on my p5k epu in vista 64, doesn't seem to affect anything.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page