1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SMOOTHVISION HD:Anti-aliasing

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Jaffakeik, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,587 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Ok i got question about this option in ati catalyst menu.
    When this option is set to <use application settings> and all other settings in catalyst is set to max than for example game dead space 2 i got over 100fps but when i use manual settings on HD:anti-aliasing than my frames drop to 20 and below even when i set lowest possible option level 2x and samples 2x. why is that so.I got good system build up. But with this option turned on i get horrible lags in games.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2011
  2. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    its because forced AA have masive performance pinalty, i think you should use MLAA instead because its nearly doesn't have performance impact
     
  3. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,587 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i dont have such option in catalyst.
     
  4. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,528 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    What drivers suite are you using? 10.10e and 11.1a have MLAA options for me.
     
  5. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,587 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Downloading em now.i had 11.1
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2011
  6. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Can Dead Space 2 even use forced AA? Dead Space 1 uses deferred shading meaning you cant have AA on it cept for MLAA.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page