1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SMP2 And Core A3 Released

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by LCB001, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. LCB001 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Canuckland
    Stanford has released the new A3 core out into the wild for testing under -advmethods with new SMP2 WU's to got with it. Announcement by Kasson; http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=13038

    They have also redone the points system and developed a new benchmark system to go with it. Posted here; http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=13039.

    Like the -bigadv WU's you need a passkey and to have completed 10 WU's with an 80% success ratio to qualify for the Bonus.

    Reports on other forums are looking good with ppd equal or better than running a VM on quads with a decent OC, as an example a Q9550 @3.8 ~8000ppd...

    :toast:
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2010
    bogmali, hertz9753, [Ion] and 2 others say thanks.
  2. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,455 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    LOL figures I set up a new VM yesterday and now the Windows client is up to par.

    Oh well, will let it finish this A3 unit it just grabbed and will work on it in the morning...
     
  3. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,206 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,781
    This is pretty big news, no?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,113 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,238
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yea, its pretty big. If I'm reading this right, this client makes VM's obsolete as of today if it proves faster and more efficient. In theory it should be faster because there isn't extra overhead of the VM. The VM's will likely update their image if they haven't already, and then we'll have to wait for benchmarks on which is faster to know for certain. I can't see why the VM's would be though if everyone has access to the same cores now. Also, all CPU folding now can get bonuses with this release, regular CPU and -bigadv folding alike.
     
  6. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,506 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    is this available for download yet?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    That was answered above.:)
    High Performance Clients

    Go down to the 'Windows: V6 Beta SMP/CPU clients'.

    I believe that we should use the Windows XP/2003/Vista/2008 SMP client console version 6.29 beta for MPICH (32-bit or 64-bit) or the Drop-in binary for current Windows SMP console client (6.29) if we just want to replace v5.92.

    The question I have is can I use -smp 8 on a Core i7 rig or do I need two clients using -smp 4?
     
    Easy Rhino says thanks.
  8. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,506 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    i thought i was looking at the older clients. anyway, this works out of the box for me. should i use any special flag for my q9650 ?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,595 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,942
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    El, early this morning I switched over a Phenom II quad @ 3.2Ghz to the new A3 core. Did a clean install I entered my passkey and started my run of 10 WU's. I have the -smp and -advmethods flags set. I am only getting 1000ppd with cpu fully loaded. Have you seen any feedback from others on the ppd of the first 10 WU's?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,506 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    hrm, one of the links said q9550 were getting 8000 ppd. ive got a faster and meaner q9650 and im barely pulling 1000ppd. btw, using the -smp flag produces an error. something about cant connect on a certain port and an error running mpiexec.

    edit: nvm i didnt follow the directions! f mondays!
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,506 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    nope, still working very slowly with mpich installed and the -smp flag added to the executable. it works but it is crawling. maybe i am missing something.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,455 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    P6012 / 470 point unit, getting about 450ppd from a C2D @ 2.8Ghz.
     
  13. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,506 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    ok so im prolly pulling a tad bit more. oh well, i was hoping to boost production by 5000 ppd. i hope they put out another beta version soon!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,595 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,942
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I'm guessing after the initial 10 WU run, we will get the work unit that has the early return bonus. It will take me 4.5 days to finish the required 10 WU's.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,113 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,238
    From the foldingforum.org : The base point values for SMP2 work units will appear low; the benchmarked points values **include bonuses.**

    To get the good stuff (the bonus):

    Again from foldingforum.org -

    1. Must use a passkey to receive bonus points
    2. Must successfully return >=10 A2 or SMP2 work units with their passkey to receive bonus points
    3. Must successfully return >80% of A2 or SMP2 work units to receive bonus points

    Edit: Buck beat me to this post. See above.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    From what I've seen on foldingforum.org, that's to be expected. The low PPD will apparently be corrected by the bonus points.

    I'm not certain if this allows for -bigadv folding yet, I've yet to see anything about it. I can't see why it wouldn't, as I could've sworn it was only an additional drop-in required to get -bigadv working.
     
  17. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,240 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    I'm seeing MUCH lower than expected PPD from my S939 4400+. Was used to 800-1100 on my FX60, so I was expecting 80% of that. So far, at 2% it's at 308PPD!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU
  18. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,206 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,781
    This is a an easy question, can someone tell me how to setup a passkey?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/getpasskey.py

    Input your name as F@H would see it (El_Fiendo in my case) and your e-mail. They will send it to you, and then you enter it at client setup.
     
    theonedub says thanks.
  20. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,206 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,781
    Will I have to delete and resinstall my current GPU Folding clients to input the passkey?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,506 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    ok so i ran configonly and put in the passkey. now do i execute with the -smp flag and -bigadv ?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I switched over my Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R @ 2.66Ghz to the new A3 core. Someday I hope to get this rig in shape to switch to the -bigadv WUs.

    I first removed the v5.92 files and did a clean install of the new v6.29 client.

    Then using Buck's How to set up Windows SMP CPU Client I started from Step 2b.

    I then set these switches in my shortcut...
    -configonly -local -advmethods -smp 8

    I then started the client and after entering my user name and team number I entered my passkey. I continued with the options in step 6.

    I then removed -configonly and started the client. The smp client loaded all 8 cores and I haven't got any problems yet.:toast:

    In fact I just completed 2%

    18:37:41 Competed 0 out of 500000 steps (0%)
    18:42:33 Completed 5000 out of 500000 steps (1%)
    18:47:21 Complete 10000 out of 500000 steps (2%)

    I have an ETA of 7h 50min running P6014 484 points and 1452 PPD.
     
    mstenholm says thanks.
  23. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,506 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    if you set advanced methods to yes in the configonly i dont think you have to set the flag. i could be wrong tho.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I don't think the GPU side is affected by the bonus point system, so adding in a passkey to them wouldn't gain anything. So far as I can tell this is CPU and CPU only.


    Apparently the reason these aren't bigadv capable is because Windows still only has access to A1 and A3 coress, while Linux has A1-A3 capability. This is supposed to change over the coming weeks, along with the phasing out of the A1 cores. I'm currently strip mining and trolling around a few forums trying to piece together the puzzle, but apparently if your rig is bigadv capable you should keep the VMs but update their image (in a few weeks time they will no longer get work units on the outdated client version). If your CPU is not -bigadv capable but still folds, then you can switch to this one to try it out. You have a chance to get A1 cores if no A3 cores are available which would mean a hit in your PPD, but A3 should yield about the same as you were getting before due to the bonus system.
     
  25. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,506 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    alright so let me get this straight, according to the instructions after entering the passkey i need to complete 10 work units with an equal to or greater than 80% success rate. then i get the advanced units or something which get points bonus? do i have to have -bigadv set for this to occur?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page