1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

So sad and at a loss

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Ultra Taco, Apr 25, 2013.

  1. Ultra Taco New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    15 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ohla.

    Yesterday I finished building my new computer. It is a brand new custom Vishera system... and my first.

    I I plugged everything in where it it supposed to go, checked and re-checked.

    It would not turn on.

    I replaced the cable from the corsair tx750 power supply, I bought another xfx 650 ps thinking it could be that... It also does not work.

    My new monitor from the same power outlet and cord works fine.

    I haven't tried short circuting the mother board yet, before asking the community. I've spent all my money on this computer, and don't have enough for anything:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry:


    I want to die... Any advice would be sooooooooooooo appreciated... I don't have the cash to take it to a pc repair place... Such a noob

    I haven't plugged things back in since the second power supply didn't work either, just in case you might point that out in the photos.

    Thank you

    Attached Files:

  2. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,477 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Um, does your motherboard have the 8-pin connector that is required for the system to work?

    If it does have that connector on the motherboard, plug in the 8-pin connector from the power supply.

    just from looking at the pictures its not connected
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    Flip the connector for your power button on the motherboard. (lower right side) Also, make sure your CMOS jumper isn't in the reset position.
  4. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,490 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,149
    Doesn't matter.
  5. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,855 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,918
    Location:
    Oregon
    Stick to the basics. Bench test time. This happens all the time to new builders. Its probably a short on the case or something is install wrong
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    Huh? If you're actually refering to what I said, you're wrong.
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,174 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,023
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The last time I heard someone have this problem, it was actually a bad switch on the case. Try shorting the power pins.
  8. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Yeah it appears he doesn't have that 8 pin connected.
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,174 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,023
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I think someone needs to read the first post again.

  10. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,855 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,918
    Location:
    Oregon
    First step in building a PC. Set the motherboard on a non conductive surface. Install the CPU, stock heat sink and one stick of mem. Plug in PSU 24 pin and CPU power. Plug in monitor and short the two front panel power pins see if it starts a post power on system test
    Law-II says thanks.
  11. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,613 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,232
    rebuild it and take your time, and like the others said make sure nothing is shorting.

    if nothing then, process of elimitation

    psu you can tick off the list.
  12. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    DOH! :eek:
  13. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,855 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,918
    Location:
    Oregon
    List all the parts also.
  14. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,025 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    669
    Location:
    Rochester area
    is the switch on the back of the power supply on and is the voltage switch set to 110/115(assuming you are in america )
    also are your outlets properly grounded ? and have you tested the psu by its self ?
    and no erocker unless its a 3 pin switch OR a relay style switch the orientation of the power switch lead won't matter all it does is complete a Circuit
  15. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,490 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,149
    Either I'm drunk (which I'm not) or I have misunderstood something. Power buttons (modern ones, not the old AT ones) shorts the pins. Unless there is a mechanical problem. Or do they have diodes or something now? :confused:
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    They're different. On my Lian Li case and another generic case I have, the connector only works one way. With my Corsair case (which I just tried) it will work either way. So, I guess we're both half wrong. :D

    @OneMoar. No. It makes sense but it doesn't seem to be the case with some switches.
  17. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,025 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    669
    Location:
    Rochester area
    sooo Li lan defies the laws of electricity this is interesting
    I want a video of this can you test it with a meter .
    I wonder if the switch is connected to some IC or something does the case have a display or fan controler ?
    EDIT: OOOO nm I know why
    if the power button has a LED that draws power right from the switch pins and they used a DIODE or something that would explain it
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    I'm going to say it's magic and non-believers be damned. Sorry if my response doesn't satisfy you. :toast:
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.
  19. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,025 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    669
    Location:
    Rochester area
    see my reply
    erocker says thanks.
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    DIODE, magic... Yes!


    Seriously though, good call.
  21. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    240 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    New York
    I know the feeling when a newly built computer does not power on... When I built my first computer at 13 I didn't use standoffs in the case and fried the motherboard :banghead::roll:
  22. Ultra Taco New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    15 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Omg

    Wow... Thank you so incredibly much for your replies. I stepped away for an hour and you guys... Thank you.

    Here are the system components

    MSI 99fx gd65 v2.0
    NZXT KRAKEN X40
    8gb Corsair Vengence
    7870 myst powercolor
    samsung ssd pro 128
    Vishera 8350
    Corsair tx750
    Sentey optimus 6000 case


    What power connecter are you saying is on the bottom right side of the motherboard? Do you mean the jumpers you guys said to short?

    In the post pictures the cables were disconnected but everything was previously connected with two different expensive power supplies when I tried with them.

    What could be shorting if that is the issue? I used everything the mobo came with, used a static grounding braclet and almost didn't breathe when I installed everything because I was so nervous...

    There is no power at all. No beeping, no power supply sound, just silence.

    I will attach some "more better" pictures

    Thank you guys so much.

    Attached Files:

  23. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    562 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    You might need an updated BIOS to support that processor.
  24. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,470 (8.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,964
    One item I saw in the pic:

    Your cpu cooler lead should be attached to the 4 pin header (top of board near the memory slots). The board may require feedback from the cpu fan in order to POST.

    your FX cpu may not be supported by your BIOS revision but we'll check some more of the basics first
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Missing the 8 pin CPU plug

    [​IMG]
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page